We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful little hotel!”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cleveland, OH
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful little hotel!”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

My first time in Seattle and the Inn at the Market. The whole experience was wonderful. There were five family members staying in four rooms. Not one person had a complaint. The staff was helpful and very friendly! The free coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning and cookies with cider in the afternoon were nice perks. The location was great we were steps away from plenty of restaurants, shopping, tours, and within a mile of the Space Needle. Will gladly stay here again. (Two members of our party have stayed here in the past and highly recommended we do so. They made a great recommendation.)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank opsimathclevelandhts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    370
    66
    22
    5
See reviews for
399
1,550
113
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Just finished celebrating a birthday with friends at the Inn at the Market and playing tourist 60 miles from where we live. The location cannot be beat and our room had a great view of Pike Market and the Big Wheel. We cabbed to dinner one night (Staple and Fancy and a separate review) and the other nights, just walked to where we wanted to go. Service was excellent at the hotel and my only negative is that the hotel is due for a facelift. Woodwork is chipped, tiles in the bathroom were scroungy, furniture was starting to show wear and tear, and for what should be a five star hotel, everything is just a little worn around the edges. This is our third stay in 20 years and I would hope there are plans to update as would like to continue to recommend this hotel to our out-of-town guests. Soundproofing in any city hotel is an issue and request a room without a connecting door and on a top floor to get a quieter room.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roadwarrior98516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Guest:
Thank you for continuing to select the Inn at The Market as your hotel of choice. We are beginning our guest room upgrades late February, I am sorry that where not completed for your most recent visit. Last year we updated the guest room hallways and carpeting with the completion of the guest rooms this year. Thank you for writing in to tripadvisor.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stay here whenever we're in town on business.
We're always well looked after and the location is great for a wander round the market at weekends.

Also, one of the comfiest beds we've slept in!

There's even a great Guinness pub just around the corner for those of us who miss a stout when travelling!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VANCES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
326 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Inn at the Market for three nights, and we absolutely loved our stay. From the minute we walked in, we were blown away by the exemplary customer service and fantastic location.

Again and again, the hotel went above and beyond to make us happy. For example, within five minutes of checking in, the front desk clerk called and said he had found us a room with a king size bed per our request. My husband asked if the hotel had any electric tea kettles, and a kettle was placed in our room within five minutes. We asked for a dinner recommendation, and the front desk clerk suggested Etta's and made dinner reservations for us on the spot. This was one of our favorite meals of the trip. We left our luggage and shopping bags at the valet desk after checking out, and they took wonderful care of our belongings and helped us hail a cab to the airport in the rain. We accidentally left my husband's passport in the safe, and the hotel tracked me down so we could retrieve it. I could continue typing and typing about the superb customer service we received.

Our room was located on a lower floor facing the street, but we did not have any noise issues. The bed and bedding were extremely comfortable, and I loved the Seattle chocolates placed on our nightstands each night. My only critique would be to update the bathrooms a little. The old school shower curtain was a bit irritating, and a few bathroom tiles were chipped. Minor issues though.

The hotel is perfectly located in Seattle. Pike's Place Market is right outside, and one of the main shopping areas starts only three blocks away. We walked everywhere except the airport, including the Space Needle, Olympic Sculptures Park, and to the ferry terminal for Bainbridge area. If you have limited baggage, I highly suggest taking the train from the airport. It's under $6 for two people, and the last stop is only a few blocks away from the hotel. We shopped a little too much to take the train when we departed, but the train was perfect for our arrival (we had one large suitcase at that point, which was easy to travel with).

I would return to the Inn at the Market in a heartbeat. This was one of my favorite hotel experiences ever. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank B.G._Chicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2013

Everything about this place was perfect. The location, the staff, the beds (oh so comfy!), the views (especially from the rooftop patio), the service, the valet staff, did I mention everything? Too bad we had only one night!

Room Tip: We had a room with two queens and it was huge! I was really surprised with the size. Not sure if thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LDLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

This is a very nice and well run hotel within steps from the Pike Fish Market. It's beautifully appointed, the staff are friendly and helpful, and the rooms are large and comfortable. The only drawback is that the large windows in the rooms also tend to face windows in other buildings, so you need to be mindful when changing clothes. The views are nice from many of the rooms and you can't beat the location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where2GoWhere2go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

What makes the IATM such a terrific stay is how in keeping with Seattle it is: nice, understated and as much part of the city (location) as it is part of nature (the view).

The experience begins with very friendly staff all knowledgeable and efficient. True to themselves and not an overly scripted team. Facilities that are typical of a certain era of hotel design - neutral color/modern-ish furniture/velvety fabrics - and very comfortable. And rooms that, like the rest of the experience, are understated and comfortable.

That said, the beds were extremely comfortable with wonderfully soft bedding.

But what makes the Inn at the Market so stand out is in its name. The market. It is right at your doorstep and one of Seattle's most iconic experiences. With so much to enjoy at the market and its surrounding restaurants and shops, the Inn delivers Seattle in spades, especially if you have a view of the water.

That said, we were in what was billed a city view room, that had a bay window overhanging Pine Street. What that delivered was a terrific perch from which to experience the foot traffic, views of the market's iconic sign and, yes, spectacular water views.

Don't be led astray by Hotel 1000 sitting atop the Seattle hotel's list. Inn at the Market is decidedly the place to enjoy Seattle.

Room Tip: 310 was a terrific city view room with the bay window seat with a view of the market and water beyon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eduardo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing