We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Amazing location, great service. Lovely room. We were on a couples trip, but would stay here again if we brought our family. Staff was very knowledgeable. Walking distance to so much. Great view. We stayed in a street view room, didn't notice any street noise in our room. They have a great patio with ocean views. It was a great way to unwind after a day out in the city.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,718)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,311 - 1,317 of 2,718 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

We splurged in a room with a water view and it was worth it. Room on 8th floor was great. Great window with chairs looking out on the bay. If you can't splurge on a water view room there is a very nice roof deck for all to use and would be a perfect place to eat breakfast from LaPanier around the corner when the weather is a little warmer than November. You are walking distance to a huge number of restaurants and the staff at the hotel were very nice. No health club, but for $15 can get a day pass to Seattle Athletic club.

Room Tip: 8th floor with water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mannaham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I was spending 8 nights in Seattle for two back-to-back conferences, so did not want to stay in an anodine conference hotel. Last time I visited the city was in 1999, just after the "Battle in Seattle", and knew that the heart of Downtown was near Pike's Market. The light rail from SeaTac airport to Westlake station was $2.75, and it was a short, mainly, downhill walk to the hotel. The walk up to the Conference Center is only about ten minutes, depending on your own pace.
You have loads of stuff to do on your doorstep or a short walk away.The weather was very foggy while I was there so there was little point in doing the main sightseeing trips.
Early morning breakfast overlooking the Sound on the second floor at Lowell's Restaurant in the Market set me up for the meetings. The fresh fruit from the market stalls was great for the room, and there is a little general store opposite the lift/elevator down to Western Avenue, near the "Flying Fish" stall for water, beer and snacks. As a fiscally retentive Scotsman I resent paying $4 for a small pack of Doritos in the hotel room.
Round the corner in Post Ally there are a number of lovely shops and restaurants, but Kells Irish Pub with live music and good food and craic became my "local" by the second night. They even found Scottish soccer for me on the TV! A few doors along is the Tasting Room where you can chill out on a sofa with a hard back book from the book shelves and enjoy a glass of good wine.
The staff in the hotel were friendly and helpful, the bed was very comfortable and the linen sublime. Only problem in a city room, even on the 8th floor, overlooking 1st Avenue was the traffic noise, including fire engines/trucks heading up from their depot on Alaskan Way with sirens blaring. I would stay again if visiting Seattle

Room Tip: Probably better to spend the extra on a seaward room, but the market traders set up very early, so y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

I would highly recommend this place, but 1 night is not enough. We arrived at the crack of dawn the day of the Seahawk game and of course they had been full the night before, so our room wasn't ready yet - but the staff was so courteous & helpful. They valeted my Jeep (yes, he drove stick shift) so that we didn't have to deal with parking (which anyone who has been downtown Seattle knows is a hassle). The desk clerk pre-checked me in, so that I only needed to ask for a key when we returned, took my daughter's cell ph# and called her when the room was ready. The bellboy (same guy that valeted), took all of our bags and put on a cart in the back and once the room was ready he took up & put in our room. They had maps & useful info so that it was a simple 3 block walk to station & for $4 ea. we could ride from Westlake station to the stadiums as many times as we wish.... which we did, because once we got there & found our arms filled with stuff we bought, it was a simple ride back, bellboy took all of our pkgs (which were also in the rm when we returned) and then hop back on to get back to stadium for a REALLY EXCITING game.
It was less than a block to walk to Pike's Place market, the Big Wheel could be seen from our window and the Aquarium was a simple few blocks (with no hills). All in all I would say that this was the best location to be at if you are in Seattle and we have been a quite a few different places over the last few years. The bed was REALLY comfortable and when we returned after the game to freshen up before heading out for dinner - we found that the desk clerk had upgraded us at no charge - WOW! What a view! Even though I had told the valet that we wouldn't need the vehicle again that night (we planned to eat nearby), when our plans chg'd and we were able to go pick up a friend & take her to Fisherman's dock to eat, he gladly ran & retrieved it quickly and got us on our way. Again, I would say that I would HIGHLY recommend this place.

Room Tip: I had picked water view. The upgrade that she gave us included a brkfst counter w/ mini-ref, coffee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Loyce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for visiting us from Bellingham and taking in the sights of Seattle along with a Seahawks Game. We welcome arrivals before 4pm, if your room is not ready then we can park your vehicle and store you belongings as mentioned. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Was here for the weekend. Location is great, just a few steps away from the Fish Market and Farmers Market. Plus the 1st Starbucks store in the world is just half a block away! Rooms are large, lighting good, beds firm. My grouse is they did not have a writing table in Room 302. Front Desk and Concierge service was excellent. If you just want to have a chillout and foodie stay in Seattle, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bbteh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for visiting us all the way from Malaysia, I am pleased to read you enjoyed your visit to Pike Place Market and Seattle. I do apologize that your room did not have a writing desk, for the readers of tripadvisor we do have some rooms with desks so if a desk is a need please make a comment during your reservation process and we will try and honor the request. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

My girlfriend spent last night here, it was wonderful. However one drawback was in our room, number 311, after we were asleep, the furnace kept coming on, and it was VERY noisy. We were awakened and startled by the noise all night. Finally at about 5:30 AM i got up turned on the light and figured out how to turn that thing off (I would have done that earlier but I did not want to wake my GF. As it turned out she was thinking the same :) I hope in the future guests are told about this and how to turn it off before they go to bed. Next time we stay here, and we will, we know what to do.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonybain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I stayed at this location for a quick business trip in early October. The location was spot on and the location of my room was not noisy. The staff was friendly, the rooms were clean, but most of all the bed was so comfortable! From the mattress to the pillows to the linen!!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laurie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Dear Guest:
Thank you for commenting about the comfort of our beds and linens. The beds are HYPNO's warranted by the Queen of England and our Linens are custom by Sferra. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best
David Watkins

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 103 in Seattle
2,077 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 103 in Seattle
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 103 in Seattle
1,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $255 - $461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing