We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Rooftop lounge is the best!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Rooftop lounge is the best!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect. We were just steps away from the Pikes Peak Market. We loved the rooftop lounge and ended up getting croissants from the market for breakfast and eating up on the rooftop while enjoying the amazing view. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,960
    336
    63
    22
    5
See reviews for
352
1,410
103
187
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (886)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had a one night stay in Seattle and based on Trip Advisor reviews we picked this hotel as the most recommended.

Overall experience was not great...

Pros:
Good location
Doormen are helpful and professional
(Yep, the list is that short....)

Cons:
Strange layout with restaurants offsite and no linkage with billing (ie you can't charge breakfast to your room)
Overpriced especially compared to the Kimpton in Seattle where we have also stayed
Inefficient staff, overly laid back and slow to answer phones
Had to ask twice to get our luggage brought down and we nearly missed our train as a result

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FraHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking a moment to share a few shortfalls regarding your recent visit to the Inn at The Market, I do apologize for the delay in responding to you. You are well traveled and your feedback is very important to the team. In regards to charging to your room from one of our Restaurants, Bacco we are in the process of getting this taken care, I do apologize this was not in place during your visit, Café Campagne and Marche do having a room charge systems in place. The level of service provided is not what we are known for and I am sorry you did not experience us at our normal level of service, I do agree that Kimpton Hotels do a great job. If you are ever visiting Seattle in the near future please feel free to contact me directly and I will be happy to assist with arrangements here, dwatkins@innatthemarket.com
Best
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We did a mid-week stay and it was perfect! Accomodations were wonderful! The sheets soft and the bed cozy. No noise what-so-ever and yet the hotel was near capacity. What a great view out over the sound and the market! All the nearby restaurants were great both in food and service. The market in the morning is a perfect place to visit. The staff at the hotel helped in every way from valet parking to the restaurant reservations. What a great place!

Room Tip: The rooms on the market side are wonderful with their view of the port and the market. If you stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keithwine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for selecting the Inn at The Market for your urban "Stay-Cation", I am glad to read that you had nice time and enjoyed the area. If I can ever be of assistance in the near future for return arrangements, please contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com
Best
Davd Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britt, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed at the Inn for a week in June/July over the 4th as tourist and could not have been more pleased!! From the second our car pulled up the service was impeccable - bellman were there immediately to open doors and grab our luggage. The front desk staff was incredible friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome and at home. They continually helped us book excursions and gave great restaurant recommendations. The housekeeping staff was excellent as well - our rooms were attended too multiple times a day, they even brought us fresh ice each evening.

The best perk of the hotel is its location and the view of the harbor. The hotel is located literally across the street from the Pikes Place Market and we were able to head over each morning and get fresh fruit and pastries before the crowd arrived. The hotel is also just minutes from the waterfront and probably a 10 minute walk to some of the cruise ship piers as well as the clipper. To enjoy the incredible view of the harbor and the city, the Inn has a wonderful rooftop patio with tons of great furniture to lounge in - on clear days you can see the Olympic Mountains and Mount Ranier.

The hotel also has multiple restaurants on site and many many more in walking distance. I couldn't even imagine staying anywhere else in Seattle! Absolutely perfect stay!

Room Tip: All the rooms are great - but if you can get harbor view, they are gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ryanarndorfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family just returned form 2 nights in Seattle following an Alaskan cruise. Beecher's Loft at the Inn at the Market was wonderful. It's modern sleek beauty hovers over Pike's Market. The photo's on the web are beautiful but even they don't do it justice.
Loved:
Modern décor, supper comfy bed-even the pull-out sofa was wonderful. There was plenty of space for our 11 guests-also on the cruise with us to relax and have dinner before their :"red-eye" home. The best parts of the Market are 50-100 feet from your door. All the best brand new appliances-Sub Zero, Bosch...Delicious Welcome Basket filled with gourmet cheeses (Beecher's is named after the Gourmet Cheese store below-I believe the Beecher's may own the loft), the best views in Seattle.
Minor Faults:
We had troubles with the wifi and the surround sound not working-a few light bulbs were burnt out and the bathroom door is almost impossible to lock-awkward as the bathroom opens to the kitchen's main seating area. Also the entrance is an unmarked metal door on an ally/extention of Post Ally,-a bit drab. There is no elevator-so people with strollers or wheel chairs would find it difficult. The door only open's with traditional metal keys-difficult since we had teenagers who wanted to go off on their own.
Hopefully the wonderful people at the Inn at the Market will iron out these minor issues. The place is WONDERFUL!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherWilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking a moment to share your experience about the Beecher's Loft here at The Inn at The Market. Thank you for your feedback and we are addressing a the points you mention, I do apologize. The Beecher' Loft can be viewed on the Inn at The Markets Web Site and bookable by calling the hotel direct.
Best
David Watkins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed at Inn at the Market with King Room (7th floor) with view of Puget Sound and Pike's Market. The view was awesome. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Great location with access to many Seattle restaurants and activities. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful.

The bathroom is spacious but there is not much counter space and the inner shower curtain was bothersome as it would continually flow into the shower area (maybe a curved shower pole would help?). Loved the used towel basket in the bathroom, I wish all hotels had this feature.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 50States
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Outstanding service and accomodations. Will be back. The staff is so welcoming and helpful. Located across from Pikes and with an in room mini refrig buy all the fresh fruits you want. Beds are so comfortable and hotel is quiet. Guaranteed a good night sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank momkoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hotel 1000
#10 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,820 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Belltown
Hotel Andra
Hotel Andra
#14 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, TravelClick, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing