We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great View!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
huntsville, al
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here and will definitely stay at the Inn again. Very close to Pike Place Market, and many other attractions. Would highly recommend spending the extra money for a water view room, especially on with a deck. Staff very friendly.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank rocketyat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,874
    326
    62
    21
    5
See reviews for
337
1,345
97
186
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (843)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

A little pricey, but worth it to be in walking distance to many of Seattle's great attractions! The service is OUTSTANDING but should be for the amount you spend there - valet at $20/day - ouch! I will say though, I'll probably be willing to spend it again because of the great stay I had there. Be sure to check out the outdoor deck on the 5th floor and go with the Free Seattle walking tours! You pay what you feel for the tour and they do a fantastic job!!! Comfortable, clean beds and rooms, great views (even city views) and amazing staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sdgrl619
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

This is a very well run Inn with friendly and efficient staff. The reception area is quiet, with subdued colors. There is iced lemon water and fresh apples in the lobby and the WSJ for those of us who still like the read a newspaper. The room we had was a partial water view. The bed linens were a tasteful white with a gold, Greek key trim. We had a coffee pot with Seattle coffee in our room. I think there could be more art work on the walls and maybe decorative pillows on the couch. We heard very little noise and that was appreciated. Be prepared to walk up and down hills. I lost two pounds all while stuffing myself on scrumptous fish and goodies from the market.

Room Tip: There are eight floors and we were on the fourth on the west side. The best rooms face Elliott Bay...
See more room tips
Green Features: Our room had a card to be placed on the bed when you wanted the linens to be changed. Bathroom towels were placed on the floor for change or rehung if they could be used again. Thicker and larger towels would be nice.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
138 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

This Inn is very conveniently located to Pike Place Market. It's really an ideal location to explore the market and the downtown area. The staff could not have been more friendly and accommodating. It's a LOVELY Inn, with gorgeous rooms and some have incredible views. There are several restaurant options and of course, many more in walking distance. I just don't understand why they had to break rule #1 - no coffee makers in the room. . REALLY? you have to hike to the lobby in the morning to fill your cup - it's free.. but that's ridiculous. I would have PAID to have a coffee maker in the room. (there is no excuse) It would even have been ok for them to ask at check in - if they are that tight on cash. bad bad bad --- otherwise, awesome.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dalcy3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your great review, I am sorry that you did not locate the coffee maker that is in the room, I need to revisit how we display them. We feature Seattle' Best Coffee in all the rooms. We hope to have you visit us again in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at Inn at the Market from July 7 to 10. The location is wonderful even if it is a walk a half block up a steep hill from Pike's Place market. From the market it was an easy walk across and walkway, down the elevator, through the public garage to the waterfront. We had a fifth floor partial ocean corner room with a king bed and lots of space with windows on the north and east. The staff was great. We asked if we could check our luggage a day early on the 6th while we rode the Victoria Clipper to BC. We delivered our bags at 6:30 am that day and they held them secure for us. We were early to check in on the 7th and our room was not ready. The bell hop took our luggage upstairs but brought it back because the maid was not finished. We had to call the desk twice to get it after we received the room. The bell hop apologized many times. He even remembered us when we went down to dinner later. Each night the maid turned down the bed and left two Seattle chocolates. The front desk even stamped and mailed postcards for us. The bath room was huge with a fan and heat lamp as well as a grab bar on the back wall of the tub. On our last day, the staff slipped our express check out bill under the door early for our review. It is expensive but worth it for the location. On our check out, the bell hop carried our bags down and helped to load them in a cab.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Room overlooked Seattle's Pike Place Market and the beautiful, bustling harbor. Ground Zero for a typical Seattle tourist experience. The weather was great so we used the rooftop patio almost every evening to enjoy the sounds of the market and the view over a bottle of wine. Le Panier bakery (one block over to the right) provided us with our breakfast (opens at 7 a.m.). Target grocery store (two blocks over to the left and one block back) opens at 7 a.m. as well. There is a shop in the market (name escapes me) that had great freshly sliced meats, wines and cheeses.
Employees were cheerful and helpful. Can't imagine reason to look for another property for a future Seattle stay other than price consideration.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pokerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We loved the Inn at the Market -- with a couple of exceptions.
First of all, the good, which is most of it. The lobby lovely, with newspapers, fresh apples and urns of fresh lemon water. Staff could not be nicer or more helpful. There is a rooftop deck with lounge chairs for relaxing, watching the sunset. Location is terrific.
Our room was comfortable, with table and chairs, desk and armoire with television. There was also a coffee maker.
The negative: hair dryers were wall-mounted and difficult to use. I have learned by experience to always bring my own. The bathrooms need updating and remodeling. The tub/shower had a scuzzy-looking curtain that I had difficulty pulling across the old and partially corroded rod. In the room, the air conditioner was noisy and inadequate to the job of cooling off the room during a heat wave. When we alerted the staff to the AC problem, they quickly sent someone up to inspect and change the filter. That helped somewhat but I guess the city is not used to the kind of temperatures that challenge their units.
All in all, I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank writegirl18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,745 reviews
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#8 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#12 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing