We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb location”
Review of Inn at the Market

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Inn at the Market
Ranked #1 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Duluth, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Superb location”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

What a great location for this little Inn. Arrived early on Saturday from the east coast, but our room was ready. We hadn't reserved a room with a view since this was supposed to be a cheap and cheerful trip (me tagging along on a business trip with my husband). As it turns out they gave us room 411, which over looked the side street, however the window seat had a wonderful view of the Sound and the Olympians beyond. Every single member of staff we met was delightful, especially the adorable Trevor who drove us to dinner at Canlis on Sunday evening and then came to pick us up again afterwards. The only little fault I have is that the furnishings were starting to look just the tiniest bit tired, and the decor could be refreshed, but there was absolutely no question about the cleanliness - everything was immaculately clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandarina65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,185
    370
    66
    22
    5
See reviews for
399
1,550
113
216
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (959)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Providence, Rhode Island
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect! It's literally on the market! There is also a Target just one block away in case you're need of some "left at home" toiletries. But location is not all this hotel has to offer... the staff is friendly, the rooms are beautiful AND clean, and it offers wonderful views. Upon arrival, I was greeted immediately and told that I had received a complimentary upgrade. I was upgraded to the 7th floor suite which included a separate living area, two TVs, and a mini kitchen. But the most stunning part of this room was the view. I had a beautiful view overlooking the water and the Market. Best of all, the view came with a chaise positioned right in front of the balcony doors which allowed me to enjoy not only the view but the crisp Spring weather. I stayed here during a conference at the convention center and found the walk everyone morning to the convention center to be a pleasant one with many shopping temptations along the way. I was seriously so pleased with this hotel that I'm already looking forward to my next conference in Seattle just so I can stay here again. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynnhdz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

We arrived before check in time but that wasnt a problem as room wasnt ready however we were offered another room but given ours was going to be on the top floor we decided to have a look around while we waited for our room to be ready. The staff have been really friendly and we loved coming home late at night to find our bed turned down for us, it just added that little something else. The hotel is clean and there is a little bit of traffic noise but you dont really notice it or should I say it doesnt effect your ability to sleep etc. The view from the roof top is amazing and if it was a clear day would be lovely to sit out there and enjoy the view.

Room Tip: We stayed on the 8th floor with a city view but if you wanted to spend a bit more go for the sea vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

What a wonderful stay in a wonderful place. Our rooms were perfect, everyone was friendly and helpful. The deck was an amazing place to spend a sunny afternoon, have a glass of wine and snack and watch the water activity. Close to the Public Market and a short walk to 'downtown' and the wonderful art museum. As a former Seattleite, I appreciate all this great city has to offer and look forward to return trips.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwatkinsgm, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for visiting Seattle and staying with us in Pike Place Market, I am glad that you enjoyed our restaurants here at the hotel as well as others nearby. We look forward to your visiting in the near future, if I can ever be of assistance with reservations please feel free to contact me at dwatkins@innatthemarket.com
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed there 5 days and absolutely loved the hotel. You can't beat the location, you are right across from Pike Market and walking distance to many great places to eat. Just 4 blocks away is the Tram that takes you to the Space Needle, Chihuly Museum and EMP museum. A 5 minute walk to the Aquarium, Ferris Wheel and the Water Cruises.
The Service is great and staff friendly and very helpful. Very clean and very well decorated boutique hotel. Our room was a 7th floor Water view suite, one of the only 2 rooms that share a large terrace with absolutely breathtaking views of the bay, market, Mount Rainer and the city. We enjoyed breakfast and watched the sunset on the terrace. The room had floor to ceiling windows and a small kitchenette with microwave and fridge. There is a rooftop terrace on the 5th floor for all the other guest in the hotel, Our room was a little pricey, but when I compared it to the other hotels in the area it was a bargain. The 4 Seasons charges a lot more for a Water view without a terrace and the Inn is in a better location. The city view rooms are cheaper and you can always go to the rooftop terrace for the views. There isn't any fitness center in the hotel, but they allow the guest to go to a fitness club, for a fee, just about a block away that has a large pool, you do so much walking around that we really didn't need to go there. We would definately go back and hopefully get the same room.

Room Tip: Room 708, Water view suite is 1 of 2 rooms that have the large terrace. You share it with the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mimi and P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is the perfect location for a stay in Seattle. So much to see in easy walking distance. The market area is full of wonderful fresh market food surrounded by cafes, restaurants and boutique shops. Stroll up town, and you are soon in the high street hub. We stayed around the Inn which has a European touch to the rooms which I have missed. Huge room, and bathroom. Lovely beds and pillows. We dined at the Bistro in evening, which was perfect if you like European food, and had a great breakfast just around the corner. I will be back to Seattle for shopping next time, and would not book elsewhere, as when you have found the best why look elsewhere?

Room Tip: We had city view, on the corner , had no intention of spending much time looking out the window, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelhound213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I took a mid-week trip to Seattle; we wanted to stay at The Inn at the Market because of the great reviews, and also because of it's location, location, location. We were a bit disappointed when the Inn was completely booked except for a city-view room, but decided to stay there, anyway. When we arrived, my husband asked whether they'd had any water-view cancellations we could book, since it was a bit of a special occasion for us; they not only upgraded us to a water-view, but to a suite, free of additional charge!

The suite was beautifully-appointed with lovely furnishings and all the comforts of home (including a microwave kitchenette), but the VIEW was amazing! We had views of the water from two sides of the suite, including a floor-to-ceiling set of windows in the living room.

The service continued to be top notch - always available, professional, yet subtle and unobtrusive. There was a fire in the lobby, which was perfect on the morning that it rained, and a steady flow of complimentary coffee and tea, as well. The entrance is in a secluded, delightful little patio, but the Inn itself is smack in hte heart of the Public Market and walking distance from the best of downtown. In three days, we walked everywhere except when we rode the monorail to the space needle, just for fun.

We will never stay anywhere else in Seattle, and recommend The inn at the Market highly.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosivdapirt1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketcaptain, General Manager at Inn at the Market, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Dear Guest:
I am glad to read you left Seattle with fond memories of the Inn at The Market and that our team was in a position to offer you an upgrade. Thank you for staying with us and we hope to see you return in the near future.
Best
David Watkins
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,020 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Market

Property: Inn at the Market
Address: 86 Pine St., Seattle, WA 98101-1571
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#1 Family Hotel in Seattle
#1 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#9 Business Hotel in Seattle
#14 Green Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Inn at the Market 4*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inn at the Market is the only downtown Seattle hotel located directly in the famous Pike Place Market. Inn at the Market's ivy-covered courtyard is a tranquil hideaway, just steps away from the vibrant atmosphere of Pike Place Market and the Seattle waterfront. Inn at the Market offers Pacific Northwest style and comfort surrounded by downtown Seattle's most acclaimed restaurants and iconic landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Market reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Market Hotel Seattle
Hotel At The Market
At The Market Seattle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing