We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Seattle
Ranked #98 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Olympia, Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a disappointment!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2010

Water that went from cold to scalding throughout my fearful shower experience, a broken phone, and if it did work, absolutely no info on how to reach the front desk ( I had to call on my cell from the room!), poorly informed staff and an unresponsive manager, no AC and no clock anywhere in the room.

I would advise anyone to stay anywhere but at the Hotel Seattle!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank thehavens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    16
    40
    42
    107
See reviews for
25
64
25
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
NorCal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2009

Downtown was pretty full for Penny Arcade Expo, so we spent three nights here. Every facet of our experience was so comically bad I was waiting for the cameras. The bathroon vanity was falling apart. The bathroom crown moulding WAS mold. There was no water pressure in the morning! I mean, how is that possible? I kept my socks on whenever I was on the carpet. The "restaurant" in the basement took almost an hour to serve scrambled eggs and pancakes to us in an empty room. Why go on? If you can't find a room downtown for your trip, convention, what have you, you're better off staying at the airport or uptown and catching an express bus (or soon the Link light rail).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank IamTooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Seattle hotels

Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2009

The location was great but that's about it. The whole hotel basically looks like every piece of furniture and accessory were taken from a trash bin and placed at the Hotel. We even asked the Front desk person about why a Hotel that has the potential to be amazing (The old building alone is reason to want to preserve this place) and he seemed to care less - though in his defense I'm certain he gets that question a lot.
My partner and one of our friends are both 6'5" and the beds were so small that parts of their legs were hanging off the edge of the bed. Bathroom was incredibly small and slightly dirty. Again location was GREAT! It's a shame really...
Luckily we just needed the room for one night as our cruise left the next day. Thankfully.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ErinmarieX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2009

I thought for$130 a night, the room would have to be SOMEWHAT decent, it was TERRIBLE! My friends and I joked it looked as though a crime took place there!!! Stains on the walls, dirty bath tub, NO updates, bedspreads were dirty (didn't fit the bed) I literally felt sick to my stomach! But there were NO other available rooms in Seattle so we stayed there. I would never in a million years go back to that hotel, even if someone PAID ME!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank aspenkmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2008

Hotel Seattle
where the sheets have 3 different colors of hair.
But that is ok
because they were clean on the second day.
The bathroom made my friend cringe.
She asked if I brought flip flops and sanitizer spray.
The dirty shag carpet didn't stop at the wall.
It crawled up at least another three inches.
I'd give it one star,
but I saw The Shining, and that was worse.

  • Liked — location, but really, with a rental car, that's not so much of a plus unless you're lazy.
  • Disliked — it's not the year 1960 anymore.
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank expressoparking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2008

We needed a place to stay in Seattle prior to catching an early morning Amtrak train to Portland. We looked around the train station but there is not much there. We were dropping our Hertz car off at the Hilton downtown and just wanted a place to spend the night. I called the Hotel Seattle based on it's location on tourist map near the Hilton. I didn't have access to internet to research any reviews, so did not see any until after our stay. The location is great, virtually next door to the high end hotels. It was half the price of the Hilton so we thought we would give it a try. When we checked in, I asked about a AAA discount, but the clerk's response was "What's that?". That was the first time I ever heard of a hotel desk clerk (in US) not knowing what AAA was. Our room could have been used for a low budget movie's version of a run down hotel, threadbare carpets, dingy curtains not quite hanging right, minimal lighting (a strange hanging light in the middle of the room), dingy bathroom. Although it was definitely dingy, it did not appear obviously dirty. No a/c but luckily we didn't need it. The bed was not particularly comfortable, a little on the boucy side and with two people you both definitely gravitated to the middle. There was no clock in the room, but we did get the wake up call we requested.

It was ok for spending the one night, I wouldn't want to spend more. On the positive side, it was a great safe location, quick taxi ride to train station, and the shower was great. They have not invested in low flow shower heads so the water pressure was really high. We also really enjoyed the conversation with the desk clerk the next morning. When I mentioned the clerk the previous night had never heard of AAA, he told us that clerk was a moron and that the owner must not have asked him anything but his name in the interview. He went on to say that we should check out the reviews on Trip Advisor, they were listed as one of the worst hotels in Seattle! You gotta love that type of enthusiastic employee!

All in all, it worked for us for one night. But our friend the day clerk did mention that we had one of the nicer rooms! (I definitely don't want to see the not so nice ones!) Recommend you ask to see room before committing.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — The room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank 08NOVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2008

Hotel Seattle is right in the heart of downtown, and is perfect walking distance to anything. The room we stayed in was abominable. It smelled like a thrift store, the pillows and blankets were minute, the bathroom belonged to a truck stop. The tile in the floor was cracked, the vent sounded like a wind tunnel, there was mold in every crease and there was no liner to rank-smelling shower curtain. The staff was unfriendly. The cleaning staff's cart was parked infront of our room's door when we first arrived. The maid watched impassively as we put down our luggage and stuggled to move her cart without offering any assistance as we moved it aside to get into our room.

It was a bed for the night near to Seattle's attractions, but that was it.

  • Liked — It's location
  • Disliked — The lack of cleanliness
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank teamfightingchicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Executive Hotel Pacific
#66 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
Belltown
Ace Hotel
Ace Hotel
#57 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Baroness Hotel
#78 of 100 in Seattle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
W Seattle
#38 of 100 in Seattle
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Property: Hotel Seattle
Address: 315 Seneca Street, Seattle, WA 98101-2999
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Seattle 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing