We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for a sleepover before cruising to Alaska”
Review of Hotel Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Seattle
Ranked #98 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Reviewed September 24, 2008

We arrived late evening and were only staying overnight before boarding our ship to Alaska. It was modest accommodations and worth the $115 price. Our room was on the 8th floor and had no air conditioning; however, the windows were open to allow for the cool night air. Note that the window have no screens! And, because downtown is very noisy at night, we heard the nighlife from the local clubs and delivery trucks well into the wee hours. Unfortunately, it was not a wonderful location for a restful night's sleep. The restaurant on the lower level offered a WONDERFUL breakfast and allowed us plenty of time to walk to Pike Place Market and enjoy some sightseeing before checking out.

  • Stayed: August 2005, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrandmotherMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 222 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2008

Do not stay here unless you want to go home with bug bites all over the body!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank IleF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2008

Hotel Seattle is a seedy, overpriced dump. My wife and I spent three nights there in August 2008. The only real amenity was a color television. The bathroom exhaust vent was so loud we could barely hear the television when the bathroom door was open. The carpet was worn bare. The room had no air-conditioner. Although the first two nights there were pleasant with the windows open for a breeze in the room, the last night was extremely hot and uncomfortable due to a heat wave in Seattle. The hotel had no small fans available for use in our room. In addition, the hotel provided no ice. In fact, the front desk clerk told us we could have all the ice we wanted if we went down the street and bought it at a local convenience store. No hairdryer was provided either. Overall, our experience at this hotel was much less than desirable, especially since the room rate was higher than we usually pay for the usual amenities, i.e., air-conditioning, hair dryer, ice machine, mirror near beds, etc.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank fiftee7chevy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

While tempting because of a nice, central location and price, unless you don't mind a hotel that has had no updating in over 30 years, including the disgusting orange 70's (used to be shag) carpet in the rooms - stay away!

They did a fair job of keeping it clean, they only have so much to work with when the ownership obviously could care less about investing one penny in the property.

The room smelled of things not to mention.

If you keep the lights off, don't look in the corners, and wear your shoes while in your room at all times, you might be OK.

No network available, so impossible for a business traveler. TV doesn't really work.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank GTSDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2008

We stayed in Hotel Seattle for 2 nights and it was fine. It reminded me of the funky less expensive hotel rooms I found in Europe.

There was some street parking available (the desk clerk pointed that out to us) during the week (don't know about how crowded it can be on the weekends). And there is a garage right up the street if there isn't any street parking.

We were in Seattle for a wedding and wanted an inexpensive hotel downtown that was close to Pike Market, restaurants and other attractions and this fit the bill. The front desk staff was very very friendly helping us find restaurants and directions back to the airport. If you just want a place to sleep (because you'll mostly be out touristing, if you aren't looking for luxury, don't care about matching furniture, or city noises, this hotel is perfect. The beds were clean and comfy and I really liked the pillows. The room was cleaned both days and fresh towels delivered. I read all the previous reviews and was concerned but decided it would be an adventure and if nothing else we would have a good story. But after staying there I realized that expectations really vary amongst guests. We felt safe, slept well, had nice staff encounters. If you want luxury, and newer accommodations, then by all means stay at the "mocking" W hotel. But if you were reamed liked we were on the airfare and don't have the money, stay here. Its funky, old, centrally located and has a nice staff.

ps. The photographer who shot the lovely photo of the room did and amazing job, and possibly knows a lot about photoshop. Our room paled by comparison. But that's OK

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank malarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2008

My family and I were traveling to Seattle for the graduation of our niece. This was a special time for us. A member of the family looked on the web for a hotel close to the graduation facility. All looked well on the internet for moderate priced accomodations for three nights. We called them directly and booked the stay. The staff was very nice and none of this review is meant to reflect on the them in any way. We understood that this was a moderate priced placed to stay but did not expect the what we found.
The rooms are dark and dank and look like something that comes out of film noir. The bathroom had paper rolling off of the walls; it took two to three flushes for the toilet to flush. it was the most depressing place I have ever stayed in. We knew immediately upon arrival in the room that we could not stay there for 3 nights, so we took steps to find other acommodations and were fortunate to find them. We had to stay one night and I spent that entire time awake. We were at the nearest coffee shop at 5:30 a.m. and left in a taxi by 8:30 a.m.
I write this review out of concern for others who plan to stay there. It was not a pleasant experience. Beware.

Stayed: May 2008
5  Thank RiderCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2008

Faced with a completely sold out Seattle on a recent trip, I booked one night at The Hotel Seattle as a last resort. You should do the same, though you may first want to consider the more pleasant surroundings of a bus station. This is a truly awful, depressing hotel. I imagine most of the stains in the 30-year old carpet are the remnants of past guests who, when faced with the prospect of spending a night in this hotel, took their own lives. I myself managed to survive, wisely spending very little time in my room, which was on a high floor, overlooking a proud, mocking W Hotel. I stayed out as late as possible and checked out by 5:00 am, my escape somewhat delayed by a desk clerk who was having trouble lining up the little holes in the paper of a relic of a dot matrix printer.

Stayed: March 2008
5  Thank LoiusSullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Executive Hotel Pacific
#65 of 103 in Seattle
326 reviews
Downtown
Panama Hotel
Panama Hotel
#87 of 103 in Seattle
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belltown
Belltown Inn
Belltown Inn
#48 of 103 in Seattle
1,067 reviews
Motif Seattle
#43 of 103 in Seattle
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Seattle

Address: 315 Seneca Street, Seattle, WA 98101-2999
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 103 Hotels in Seattle
Price Range: $89 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Seattle 2*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelsforEveryone so you can book your Hotel Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing