We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel for people and dogs, too”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel for people and dogs, too”
Reviewed November 29, 2010

I've stayed in some very expensive hotels around the world, but I was especially impressed with the Monaco. We lost power at home in a big storm and wanted to find a pet friendly hideout for our family for a couple days. First, there was no extra charge for the dogs! When we arrived their names were on a "welcome" chalkboard behind the desk. In the room was a water dish and treats.

Attitude of the staff was excellent. Friendly, helpful, relaxed. The room was perfect with attention to the little things that matter: HVAC with a thermostat! A rare thing these days. Nice shower head. Good lighting. Strong wifi. Good 24-hour room service PLUS a great restaurant in the lobby. Cordless phone. Robe in the closet. All at a price you'd expect to pay for a far lesser experience.

This is now my official Favorite Hotel in Seattle and I will be back.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r0cket_j_squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,611
    545
    138
    37
    22
See reviews for
446
877
136
517
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (457)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2010

First impressions:
The bellman and the front desk people both immediately demonstrated they were well trained and paying attention to their guests. The front desk lady provided great information (at a pace that was energetic but not rushed), helpful leading questions about the area, and major positive energy without bubbling or being insincere.

The bellman was busy with another car when we arrived, but noticed the car in front right away and within a very short period met up with me at the reception desk to get the key from me.

We stayed in one of the Monte Carlo suites -- great energizing decor. Comfortable living room area, seperated from bedroom by large drapes, which was great for reading the morning papers or sipping the wine from the lobby before heading out to dinner. The bath had plenty of counter space for both of us (though one sink).

The bed was comfortable with a range of pillows, as well as seating arrangements including a nice, comfortable chair and a small, two person bench seat for shoes, dressing, etc.

Our maid service did a great job with meticulous neatening up.

We also had dinner one night in Sazarac, a New Orleans style restaurant where we encountered more of the same: normal people, working hard, to provide thoughtful, positive service. This included our host, who conscientiously got us a table and our waitress who was busy, friendly, informative and attentive.

Monaco is a tremendous location: next door to Starbucks (though there is free coffee in the lobby in the mornings); a block from the Capitol Grill; and easy walking to the retail core.

The room was very reasonably priced and we like service, but service at a bargain is even better!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NopictureMr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2010

Although I work in Seattle and rarely spend money there, I really enjoyed our stay at Monaco Seattle. It all started with knowing our Kimpton rewards gave us a voucher for the in-room mini-bar. Once at the room we were pleasantly surprised by the wonderful fragrance and the fantastic decor. The room (solo King bed) was well laid out and kept very clean. I would, and have, recommended this hotel to many people already and look forward to the next time I spend a night in Seattle. The location was great and I was able to find a better alternative (cost-wise) to the valet parking provided by Monaco.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2010

This was our second visit to the georgous Hotel Monaco and we are looking forward to our third! Perfect location for S.A.M., shopping and Pike Place Market. Ten out of ten for WOW factor - just walking through the lobby makes you feel special. Eclectic decor - part art deco, part circus - mainly WOW. Luxurious bedrooms and bathrooms. First class service. Best part is the wine tasting from 5-6pm every night which makes for lots of socialising and intermingling between the guests - makes you feel very welcome and indulged. Morning coffee and tea in the same lounge starts the day off nicely. It's the sort of place you would expect to see Hercule Pirot relaxing in a chair, thinking.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tazotea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for a late 1 yr anniversary. It was by far the best hotel we've ever been to. The staff were very friendly and go out of their way to furnish your requests. We stayed in the Mediterranean Suite. They rooms was absolutely beautiful and very spacious. We had massages while there as well. The girls were very professional and easy to talk to. They didn't make us feel uncomfortable at all. It's within walking distance to Pike's Market, so you get to see the city as well on your way there. We got the Harry Potter pkg. At check-in we received our round trip tickets for the monorail and tickets to the Harry Potter exhibition and the Pacific Science Center. There were no hidden costs or fees. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hgale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I have now stayed at two Kimpton Hotels, the most recent in Seattle, WA. Based on prior and this experience, Kimpton is now my favorite choice of hotel. I'll always check to see if a Kimpton is available in the area of my travel. From the greeting at the door to the goodby upon leaving, the customer service is excellent. Not your cookie-hotel, every Kimpton is unique and wonderful. Keep up the great work, Kimpton!!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eugene H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, IL
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

I picked the Monaco because of the favorable reviews from Trip Advisor and I must say they were right. We celebrated our 42nd anniversary in Seattle with a 4 night stay at the Monaco. From check in to check out our experience was like a home away from home. The Front Desk was very friendly - the concierage, Jesse Peterson went out of his way by sending us a bottle of champagne and giving us a 2 for 1 dinner coupon at one of the area's restaurants. We had already eaten at the Sazarac which was excellent and were looking for a new place to eat. He booked our excursions and gave us advice about the area. We loved the free wine from 5 to 6 and got to mingle with a lot of interesting people. The hotel is in a great location - able to walk to Pike Market and the Mono-rail. The Seattle Library is across the street and an architectural wonder - we did our own tour. We loved Seattle and have now found a good boutique hotel chain that gives great service. I am looking forward to staying at their other hotels. We have four in Chicago - all with great restaurants. Our next stay we will order a gold fish. I also liked the idea of pet friendly even though we don't travel with a pet - it's a good thing.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phyllis_pat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#3 of 101 in Seattle
2,041 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing