We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic for Pets and People”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #7 of 105 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 21, 2006

My husband and I and our 45 pound dog stayed at the Monaco from May 12th to the 20th, 2006. We got a fantastic last minute rate (staying with the family didn't exactly work out!) and we were overwhelmed by the level of service we received from all areas of the hotel.

Every person we encountered, from the very busy front desk and valet personnel to the chamber maids doing turn down service greeted us and our dog warmly on every occasion. Our dog was treated like a queen instead of being shooed away and given the evil eye like what happens at most pet "friendly" hotels.

The front desk and bell/valet staff dog sat for us on several occasions and our dog had her very own leopard print chaise lounge to rest on behind the front desk. She was walked and played with and felt so at home she was distressed when we packed up the car to go to our next destination.

The room was very comfortable and though it was close to the elevator, we heard no noise from it or from people walking by. The bed was dreamy, the linens divine and the water pressure in the shower was more than adequate.

Room service breakfast was on time every morning, very tasty, and the tray was always removed no more than ten minutes after we put it in the hall. We had dinner at the restaurant one evening and were disappointed in the food, but the service was perfect.

The Monaco is on Spring and 4th, across from the fabulous modern Library, and there are loads of restaurants within walking distance or a short free bus ride. We were able to take the dog for walks to the federal courthouse two blocks away which has a huge grassy hill and another great view of the library.

Overall, this was the best hotel stay I have had in a major city. The Monaco has a customer for life in me and I would recommend it to anyone visiting Seattle - with or without a dog.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wineknow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,442)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,346 - 2,352 of 2,442 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2006

We stayed in a suite at the Hotel Monaco which was just a few $ more than the quoted room.

The valet met us and arranged for a bellman to get our bags and bring them to our room which was on the 9th floor tucked into the corner around from the elevator. It was amazingly quiet.

We at at Tulio's at the Hotel Vintage Park. The chicken was scrumptious and the risotto was heaven with a hint of orange.

It was roomy and included a 2-person jacuzzi tub in the bathroom in addition to shower stall, marble vanity and AVEDA products. After our roadtrip of 9-1/2 hours, the jacuzzi was welcome relief!

We didn't order a goldfish pet but they were in the lobby downstairs, referred to as the living room and also in our elevator lobby.

The king-size bed with soft, luxurious linens and comforter lulled me to sleep.

I wouldn't miss dinner at The Georgian Room at the Fairmount around the corner. It too was amazing and costs almost the same as Tulio's. Food, service and atmosphere were outstanding!

It's about 3 blocks downhill (ie up hill when you return) and 2 blocks over to Pike Place Market. You can walk to the Space Needle but allow 30-45 minutes and buses are free within the downtown area. So if you do hop a bus to the Space Needle, it costs $1.25.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Midnite13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2006

Hotel location, decor, service and comfort level were all excellent. Great quality was consistent with other Kimpton properties.

Typical of Kimpton, they had lots of unique special touches – giraffe and leopard print bath robes, funky room decor, and even a live goldfish in our room (ours came with a little sign that informed us that his name was "Matt"). They seemed to have a bit of a goldfish theme going on throughout the hotel, which was kind of cute.

The room and bed were very comfortable and it had remarkably soft sheets. Ours was a "King Deluxe" room and it was bigger than your average hotel room. We had a gloomy view of an office building directly next door, but we didn't pay for a view room, so I can't hold it against them.

Sound seemed to travel between the rooms quite easily. We had the misfortune of having a room full of kids next door, but the front desk responded very well by moving the kids to a different part of the hotel, rather than moving us.

The only thing that I didn't like about the Hotel Monaco was the $27 per day valet parking charge, which is the highest I can remember paying anywhere.

Overall, it's the best boutique hotel that we've stayed at yet in Seattle. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tjk1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2006

We stayed for 3 nights in April 06. The location was great, we walked all over the city from here including the sports grounds (approx 20 mins stroll) and the space needle. Breakfast in the restaurant was good although not big portions like some restaurants. The first room we had was on the top floor and there was a loud vibrating noise, they switiched our room to a lower floor no problem. Both rooms were nice, colourful decoration and really comfy beds. Staff were helpful. No safes in the rooms so you have to get a safety deposit box which is free. Turndown service left a small chocolate each.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sam39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2006

Great location, walking distance to everything (except the sports fields and the Space Needle but this is a nicer area of town anyway), across street from Seattle's new library. Unique room decor - funky, colorful, assorted patterns, but fun and very comfortable. Aveda toiletries, spacious bathroom counter with room for all your personal stuff. Friendly staff. Parking expensive at $27/day + tips. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was excellent at $8-$11, nearly 1/2 what the W Hotel's restaurant across the street was charging. Room 420 was not a suite but was quite roomy and had everything you'd need. Fitness room has Precor bikes, a treadmill, stair stepper, and free weights - ask for headphones at the front desk before you go down there if you want to hear the TVs mounted at each station. Tulio, a Seattle favorite restaurant, is one block away --try the sweet potato gnocchi for an appetizer and the risotto - both excellent, as was the grilled lamb. Not cheap though - about $100 for 2 with 1/2 bottle wine. This was my first experience booking through Hotwire so was worried we'd get one of the worst rooms, but it was as nice as any I think, except maybe the suites. We paid $130 (Hotwire 4-star rating). If you don't like the big chain hotels, this is an excellent alternative.

Stayed: April 2006
7  Thank SeattleTrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2006

We arrived in Seattle from Florida and had made reservations at a sister hotel Vintage Park. The guest services at Vintage Park had much to be desired. Ex-no help with luggage. So we walked around the corner to the Hotel Monaco and immediately we were treated with a warm welcome and hospitality. We decided to switch hotels, and they had our luggage moved for us, upgraded our room, delivered a fish to keep us company-(I was missing my cats)and it was completely delightful. From the restaurant downstairs, to room service, to concierage guidance, & the very comfortable room. My husband is a nightowl, I'm a morning person....so the room worked perfectly. It had a sitting area with computer access and a seperate bedroom area with a curtain seperating the rooms. Two TV's--so no problem with varied intresets, and quiet time. The hotel is centrally located. All together a gem. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank magellancat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2006

My husband and I splurged on a suite for our anniversary. The room was huge and as with all the Hotel Monaco's, the bed was very comfortable with a big comforter and lots of pillows. The bathroom was great with a nice sized shower and a separate jacuzzi tub, all stocked with Aveda products (yeah!). The food at the restaurant downstairs was good being in the middle of downtown Seattle was great. It was a bit of a walk to the baseball stadium and the Space Needle, but most other sites and shopping were within walking distance (take a cab to REI).

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Monkeywrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 105 in Seattle
2,131 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 105 in Seattle
2,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 105 in Seattle
1,881 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 105 in Seattle
3,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#16 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $198 - $542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing