We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good so far” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not good so far”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014 via mobile

The reviews are obviously biased.
Secret guest here trying to check in at 2:30
But they don't have a room ready.
They "are trying to have something by 3pm" note 3 pm is the official check in time.
So far sitting in the lobby with white leather chairs that need a cleaning. The one in front of me appears to have blood or food dripping down the front.
More to come if and when I get a room.
Oh wireless is not included. So far they need to get with 2014.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fairwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hello Fairwa, nope not biased, but likely based on a guests stay vs. a guest who has been in the hotel for a few minutes. As I have mentioned before, we are delighted to check any guest in at 8 in the morning if the room is ready, but with a generous check out time as well as your very specific room requests, when the previous guest leaves and our delightful housekeeping crew gets into the room, they work darn hard to make sure your room is spotless, so I am very sorry that you had to wait a few minutes for your guest room. Oh, and Wifi is free, just sign into the Kimpton web site and we will tell you how, its pretty basic. Hoping the rest of your stay was delightful! Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,530
    521
    131
    36
    20
See reviews for
427
832
134
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Stayed here for my birthday. I am an InTouch member and had a wonderful experience. I have found all of the Kimpton hotels that I've stayed in to be exceptional. The staff was very friendly, polite and attentive. I appreciated all of their attentiveness to our requests.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sepdxmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Because I was unable to stay at the Alexis, I decided to try out the Monaco just up the street. The property is nice, with it's own personality. It's nice that although it shares a name with other Monacos, it's not a cookie cutter copy at all. The service was great, Melissa at the valet was awesome, why does she stand out? she came in on her day off to have my car detailed which I have not had time to do. How amazing is that? :D All in all, it's a great hotel with a fantastic restaurant. Unfortunately, my heart belongs to the Alexis. But the Monaco is a great backup and definitely one of the better hotels in Seattle.

Definitely make sure you register as a Kimpton In Touch member, because the will surprise you with a free upgrade to a better room without even asking. Thanks Monaco!

Room Tip: registering as a kimpton in touch member is a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

On check in I was upgraded to a larger king room without asking. Good first impression! The room was comfortable and clean, with a Keurig one cup coffee Maker, Minibar with room for personal items. Bathroom Basic Amenities provided - I could have used a shower cap. (I am sure they would have brought be one.) windows do not open which is negative to me. The heating & a/c is quiet and accurate - a big plus.
Beware this is pet friendly hotel. Even though I was on a no pet floor I woke 2 mornings and during the night to a yelping dog in a nearby room.
The complimentary wine 5-6 is a nice touch.
If you decline housekeeping on any day you are provided a $5.00 gift certificate to restaurant.
Small Gym in basement.
The restaurant on site very trendy
and expensive. No Healthy items staff seems to understand that limitation of the menu and will try to find you something to eat. Nightly soup selection excellent!
(FYI Seattle is having a love affair with pork you need to ask because they put it in everything ugh .)
I would stay at the Monaco Seattle again!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Up69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed one night (Sat) for a anniversary get-away. Service was excellent, from valet parking to the front desk. We arrived early and they stored our bags and called when the room was ready. We stayed in a king suite which was spacious and well appointed and the bed comfortable. Lower level fitness area and business center are a cut above. The evening wine free happy hour was a nice touch. The property is walking distance from much of Seattle's downtown attractions and shopping. The price is certainly what you would expect from a high-end downtown metro hotel, but not over the top. The restaurant is also excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bt2058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was our first time at this hotel but we'll definitely be back! From the moment we wheeled our luggage to the door, we were greeted with hotel staff that was friendly, knowledgeable, and helpful...great! (Shout out to Peter!). We loved the daily free happy hour, sitting around the fireplace in the lobby, meeting other guests and listening to them rave about the hotel, sipping our hot drinks, and feeling appreciated by the hotel staff. Several nights there was even entertainment during the happy hour. Our room was spacious and clean. It contained a small refrigerator, coffee maker, and room bar/food (expensive, of course!). This was the most pleasant hotel stay my husband and I can ever remember. (Do join the free Kimpton rewards program for some extras and check their Facebook page for their special phrase.)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2014

I recently stayed at the Monaco for a business trip. The staff is great and the hotel seems to do a great job understanding guest's needs. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Seattle area.

Room Tip: The suites are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Oscar Wilde wrote that consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative, well that doesnt work for hotels when you are on the road. You shouldn t have any surprises unless they are something cool which we love doing here at the Seattle Monaco, I just sent a goldfish up to a guest with the name Russel Wilson after i heard he was a huge Hawks fan. Good to go, come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing