We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Is this for real?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #12 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Is this for real?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014 via mobile

We are from Seattle but currently live in Jackson, Wyoming. This weekend we had to come back for a funeral and at the last minute, decided we could make it back early to watch the first ever Seahawks Super Bowl parade. We drove overnight without a real plan on what we were gonna do when we got to Seattle before the parade as it would be about 4am. We ended up sleeping in the car for a few hours before driving downtown to find a spot to observe from. We are traveling with our baby boy who is just over 2 months old. When we finally got all set up and on the streets, our first mission became to find a spot to change our son as he had made quite a poop already this morning. Starbucks had closed off their bathrooms to the public and it's 20 degrees outside which is warm in Jackson but always cold to a baby. I asked the doorman at Hotel Monaco if we could take him inside to change him. He very kindly obliged and told us where to go. Once we changed him it became feeding time. This is when we ran into the most amazing lady at the hotel. Michelle (banquet manager for the hotel) was down stairs and I asked her if there was a pump we could use to fill our tires on the stroller as Marisa fed the baby on the couch. She found us one and as I pumped we talked about how much we love Kimpton hotels, especially Hotel Monaco. We had a nice brief convo and she went on her way to make sure her stuff was getting taken care of work wise. As we started to get ready to leave, Michelle came back and told us that if we wanted some privacy to rest with the baby before the parade (still three hours away) we could use the Tokyo room and feed him more in there where it's warmer and private. She then offered to bring us some pastries which we tried to pass up but it was too kind of an offering so we accepted. She brought us a few scones and muffins as well as orange juice and a banana. She had no reason to do any of this other than the apparent overwhelming kindness in her heart. If we didn't already love Hotel Monaco, we really do now. If you ever come to Seattle, stay here. We have always been treated like family when we stay at one and this just solidifies that. Michelle deserves a raise and promotion. If that's not possible, maybe employee of the month all year. Thank you Michelle and Hotel Monaco Seattle for making our last minute decision so much easier to pull off than it could have been!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,530
    521
    131
    36
    20
See reviews for
427
832
134
494
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Half Moon Bay, California
Level Contributor
163 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

"Sunshine" the goldfish kept me company once she warmed up to someone in the room, at first I was a little concerned as she did not move for the first hour. Loved the animal print robes, the room decor, the comfy bed. The whole place is what I expect from a Kimpton property. Staff "owns" the experience the guests have. That's the best kind of hotel. Great decor and little quirky touches like "Sunshine" only go so far. The staff has to support it. At this property they do.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinGal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014 via mobile

Having always stayed at one of the big chain hotels whenever in Seattle on business, after a recommendation for the Monaco I thought I'd take a leap of faith and book into this one. So glad I did!
With all of the facilities and usual accoutrements of a large hotel, the Monaco also lends a wealth of personal touches from the free-to-use bicycles to the amazing staff whose friendliness and attentiveness is matched only by their knowledge of the city, so recommendations from where to get a haircut to where to eat the finest seafood is only a question away.
Heartily recommended for business travellers and tourist alike. I'll be back!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank multiply
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I have stayed in a few Kimpton hotel properties and this is so far my favorite. It is a beautiful, quaint hotel. The staff are amazing and treat you with such respect, especially if you join their loyalty program which has been wonderful. I will not stay anywhere else in Seattle or Portland (haven't been to the other cities, but I am sure i would feel the same). I recommend it for anyone business or family travelers. The workout facility is clean and all equipment is actually in working order (which I can't say for all hotels). They are "green" which is also a nice touch!!

Room Tip: The 9th floor is great and quiet!
See more room tips
Green Features: They are super green!~!! No little shampoo bottles here, you simply use nice shampoo in containers on the wall - something I have wanted in hotels for such a long time!
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacey_hook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Hotel Monaco was conveniently located in the downtown area. We found it an easy walk to Pike Place and easy to get to the Space Needle. We had a lovely surprise when we were given an upgrade to King Premium rooms. These were spotlessly clean and spacious. The staff; everyone, from the doormen and Concierge to the cleaners were friendly, caring and professional. They gave us great advice about things to see and do in Seattle. The hosted happy hour from 5-6pm each night was a lovely bonus. Dan was a wine expert, and was able to tell us more about the local wines, and also their special hot spiced cider. They even had a magician on Wednesday night who circulated among the guests and performed card tricks for us. For four Kiwis so far from home, the welcoming manner of the staff made our 4 night stay at the Monaco one of the highlights of our USA vacation. I would definitely recommend this hotel to others.
I have nothing negative to say about Hotel Monaco in Seattle.

Room Tip: We were not bothered or disturbed by traffic noise, and our room looked out onto busy Fourth Avenue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed 4 nights and from moment we walked and were welcomed into the gorgeous lounge/lobby with fireplace and wine tastings, we knew we had made the right decision. we had a monarco king suite which was huge and beautiful. bed was super big and comfy, décor and bathroom were first class, room was quiet (we were floor 6) with lovely sitting area, 2 TV's etc. we got free wifi after check in staff advised us to join the reward program. hotel is located within walking distance of everywhere, we never got taxis and could easily walk to the waterfront, ferries, pike st markets, tower, shopping, restaurant, bars etc. they made you feel welcome and all the staff always said hello, offered advice etc. happy hour in the bar/rest is great value and the food and service is brilliant. we often drank at the bar which is quite popular and had lunch or dinner as the ambience and staff were so good. recommend going to the waterfront and on the sky wheel and drinks, food etc. tower for views, and exploring the markets and all the areas around pike and pine sts. we also went to the museum of flight which was excellent also. taking a ferry to Bainbridge island is also worth a half day, beautiful views and clean/lovely ferries. we will be back, and would not hesitate to recommend the monarco, 1st class everything without the price tag!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brissietravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Great hotels ALWAYS. These hotels aim to please, so if its not right, just ask. This one in Seattle has a great location and fun bar. It may be more $$ then other hotels, but its worth it. I actually feel like the places are really clean.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are very nice…pay the upgrade from your email they send, its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tracisam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,528 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#11 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,939 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing