We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room, but over-priced”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #7 of 104 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Staff at the Monaco Seattle were lovely, and most helpful. My very early arrival (due to unexpected change in transportation) was made more comfortable by the front desk staff arranging to have my room made up while I lunched. Lovely room, comfortable bed. Great wine offering in the lobby, where I met up with some folks for an evening of good food and great conversation.

Perhaps I was a bit sensitive what with being in Seattle for a funeral - but the bathrobes were not quite "fresh" they need a deep wash and rinse. Actually, the room was not as fresh as it could be, and should be.

I had booked through central reservations, and was told I could not get the three nights of my stay at the Monaco or the Vintage Park, so had to move over to Vintage the next day. When I checked in at Monaco, I discovered that each hotel did have three nights in a row available. A lot of shuffling about while paying full price for my rooms.

Great location, easy walking to Seattle Art Museum, Pike Place, Macy's and Nordstrom. Main floor restaurant serves a very tasty catfish main.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vancouvermuffy2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,399)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,306 - 1,312 of 2,399 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2013

My son and I stayed at the Monaco for fall holiday, and we could not have asked for more! Great location, beautiful room, and they even had a welcome gift for my son in the room - snacks, drinks and a Seahawks football! We will definitely stay at the Monaco again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maknagai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed for a holiday/girls/birthday weekend. The front desk was friendly as was all the staff, one who saw us entering our room and immeduately asked if we'd like a pet fish-oh yes! We were even surprised with a balloon and wine! We were also able to enjoy hot spiced rum at the lobby happy hour...the decor is upscale funky, we loved our stay!

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank issylh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was a spontaneous trip for us and the Hotel Monaco certainly exceeded our expectations. We were traveling with our 11 month old and they were very accommodating with all our stuff and needs. Both the staff and service are wonderful here! The location was also perfect for us. Close to all the shopping, Pike Place Market and so many great restaurants. We'll definitely be back and hopefully sooner than later!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

I love staying at Kimpton hotels. The value for money is unparalleled. This particular hotel had some of the nicest staff I have experienced. The location is great, in the heart of Seattle and there are good dining options in walkable distance.

The room was a very generous size and very quiet and most importantly very clean. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Go for a higher room. Make sure you ask at checkin as the staff are so very accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

Hotel Monaco is a lovely hotel with a great personality and a warm ambience all around. From the lobby to the restaurant to the rooms, there is a warm and welcome vibe. The staff is very accommodating and capable.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pattyrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Monaco on December 2, 2013 and attended the Seattle Seahawks Monday night football game. It was an easy walk to the stadium - downhill and lots of fun with all the fans making there way to Century Link Field. Great location for sightseeing the next day. We stored our bags at the Hotel while we walked around on the Tuesday and asked the very congenial (and cute) porter outside the Hotel to get them for us when we returned so it was beyond a simple process. But here's the reason this Hotel goes to the top of my list and will be returning and recommending to others - I left a sweater hanging in the closet and they are returning it to me. They've already tried but Canada Post said the address was wrong, so they contacted me to get the correct address and will try again - it's a favorite sweater so I appreciate the extra effort.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 104 in Seattle
2,090 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 104 in Seattle
2,729 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 104 in Seattle
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Paramount Hotel
#3 of 104 in Seattle
1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $182 - $502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Splitty, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing