We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumps up on this solid downtown Seattle hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 102 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I stayed at the Hotel Monaco (a Kimpton property) in mid-October. We showed up at 9am and were able to leave our luggage in storage while we saw the sights in beautiful Seattle. At 2pm, we received a call that our room was ready. We promptly returned to the Monaco and got keys to our suite which was very nicely appointed, very large, and comfy bed. We even had a goldfish to keep us company. The wine tasting hour was very nice, unlimited pours and even beer was available. Would definitely stay at the property again due to its comforts and convenient location close to the light rail and all Seattle sights!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank roger a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thumbs or Thumps its all the same. Glad we were able to make your October visit more of a success with having staff who work to get the process right! While you were waiting sometimes we direct you into Sazerac for a bowl of gumbo or a glass of vino, whatever works. Every afternoon we have our hosted wine hour where you can have a glass of wine, sometimes a beer and sometimes a cocktail, we keep it interesting and if that wasnt enough you can sometimes get me hanging out sharing wit and wisdom.
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,376)
There are newer reviews for Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,322 - 1,328 of 2,377 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Monaco, and it was wonderful. Every night there was a happy hour of beer and wine, in the lobby--for free. The room was comfortable and spacious, and I liked how you could skip housekeeping and get a $5 voucher to be used in their restaurant/bar. I can make my own bed, and use my towel more than once. A big highlight was that the hotel was right off the light rail line. Only 2.75 to/from the airport. Can't beat that. Also, we were central to lots of sights including Pike Market and the Space Needle (a few blocks away from the monorail to the space needle). Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jo_Ann000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2013

Thanks JoAnn, apprecaite those travel tips. Fair warning, the light rail which is excellent is about a block from the hotel but up a mighty steep hill. For most people likely no issue, I just always think about my family who have a travel mantra of 'pack heavy' when i see people coming up that hill. We do have a great location and easy access to so much the Emerald City has to offer. Its a great base for the city and even if you dont want to venture too far, Sazerac in the hotel, has brilliant food and a great bar for the perfect evening. Come back soon or we will come to San Diego and visit one of the great Kimpton Hotels in the sunshine!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Had a great long weekend stay at Hotel Monaco in downtown Seattle. Hotel is about 4 blocks from Pike Place and 4 blocks in another direction to Pioneer Square, so great if you are planning to walk around. Probably about 8-10 blocks to get to the aquarium and water taxis as well. It is also close to the lightrail if you are planning to take that to and from the airport.
The hotel itself was nice and the restaurant downstairs, Sazerac, was tasty as well. Rooms were cool with fun decor, but not overly big, which is to be expected for a hotel in downtown. Beds were comfy and everything seemed clean. The shower and bathroom left a little to be desired, but all in all not bad. Would definitely recommend this as a great choice if you're looking to be close to things in downtown.

Room Tip: In the heart of downtown, so no views from any of the rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nolan522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

This was our first stay at the Monaco but we have sated at Kimptons many times in the past. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There seems to always be someone at the front door to open it for you. Our room was very large and very quiet. I love the free wifi if you are an InTouch member. One thing about this particular room, there was only one drawer so very limited clothes storage.

The complimentary wine service in the evening is nice and had a selection of 3 wines the first night. The coffee and tea service in the morning has Mighty Leaf tea.

To me you can't beat the value for the service and what you get, plus there is always a top notch restaurant in the building.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank swj1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had just stayed at the Monaco in Portland so were expecting something similar, which is was in some ways as the same Kimpton welcome / styling etc were all there but somehow different at the same time which is what I think Kimpton does so well.
We were allocated a larger than expected King Room that was very nicely decorated and modern which I really liked. The bathroom was also larger than your average Kimpton bathroom, with a window which gave it extra light.
The wine hour was also relaxing with the concierge on hand to help with any questions and sort out reservations.

Room Tip: Try and ask for the larger one of the King Rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gail2803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Monaco has been our hotel of choice for 6 years now. We felt we'd struck gold in finding this boutique-style hotel after trying out quite a few other hotels for our bi-annual visits to Seattle. One of the features we enjoy is the whimsical design --- you walk into a colorful high ceilinged lobby with painted fish circling the upper walls and the guest rooms sport an arty decor with clean lines, rather than frou-frou furnishings or corporate cool. It's a truly friendly hotel where we always feel comfortable and welcome – one of the reasons we keep coming back. This inviting atmosphere is created by staff who seem genuinely happy to be working there and have always been extremely responsive and helpful with any needs we've had….this includes front desk employees, parking valets, restaurant wait staff and housekeepers. It's a hotel with real personality that also offers what many city visitors value – quiet, light filled and well designed rooms, amenities, a terrific central location walkable to many attractions, and a perk we always appreciate – a really good, reliable restaurant, Sazerac, where we have enjoyed many tasty breakfasts, as well as, lunches and dinners with friends. The restaurant's extended happy hour happens to be one of the best in a city that boasts more happy hours than most. Can't imagine staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: We prefer the higher rooms facing 4th Avenue and the Seattle Library for exposure and light.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank romdomsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

This is the third Kimpton Hotel we've had the pleasure of visiting. We moved this hotel after being extremely unhappy at another. Our room was a King Suite and it was gorgeous. A large living area, and then bedroom. A curtain can close to separate them. The location is perfect, as we could walk to every main tourist attraction. And then there is the staff, always helpful and cheerful. In the future if a Kimpton hotel is available that's where we'll be staying.

Room Tip: The King Suite is spacious and beautiful. Though I don't think you can go wrong with any room.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wackywife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Thanks for the great note! We actually have 3 or 4 Kimptons down in San Diego if you are ever interested in a Staycation and some great values out there which you can discover along with all sorts of goodies at kimptonhotels.com Those King Suites are actually called Monte Carlo Suites and they really are a great value for a family, (the two tv set up is a deal sealer for me or Dads anywhere). Appreciate your thoughts on the hotel. Come back soon!
Tom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 102 in Seattle
2,066 reviews
Inn at the Market
#1 of 102 in Seattle
2,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 102 in Seattle
3,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range: $216 - $567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing