We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Burnsville, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, great staff”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We stayed here only once night, but wished we could have stayed longer. Our room was compact but provided all the space we needed. The décor is modern and attractive. The staff was very friendly and competent. We were able to check in early even through the hotel had been full the previous night. The location is convenient – within walking distance to most of Seattle’s downtown attractions.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Barbara, thanks so much for the nice note! this hotel is a building conversion from an old telephone switching station and when the conversion happened some rooms turned out big and some small, but they are all good looking rooms. Delighted you could connect with some of the best hotel staff in the city! We will always check folks into hotel rooms the moment a room is ready, glad it worked for you but for everyone else out there - its always the goal!
Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,338 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    541
    137
    37
    22
See reviews for
446
870
136
514
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (453)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The room itself seems nice enough and the ambience is welcoming as a trendy boutique hotel. However, the purpose of this trip is business. One of the awards for an Area Manager didn't travel well so the front desk was asked if they had any glue. Unfortunately, directions were given to a drug store even though the agenda is jammed packed in their meeting rooms etc. As a Hilton Diamond member who travels some portion of 3 weeks each month, concierge services are priceless and these folks haven't figured that part of the business equation out yet. Perhaps some other lucky person will benefit from bringing this to their attention.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NeverInMyOwnBed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel is very comfortable, very pretty, with friendly employees. The restaurant had delicious food. Our room was very nice, with plush carpeting and very nice décor. The location is great, close to all the spots downtown that you'd want to visit. We didn't rent a car, but took the link from SeaTac airport and it took us to a station close to the hotel and then walked everywhere...it was great. We stayed the first weekend of September in a room with two queen beds for 200 a night, the same as lower quality hotels in the downtown area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aresponder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Based on your comments we will immediately raise our rates! Thanks for the notes. You do bring up a great point that this hotel like all hotels have different rates everyday. like the airlines, we sell rooms based on demand. So happy that you scored a great rate! Always check our website first at Kimptonhotels dot com. We have 3 Kimptons in Seattle (soon four) and you can see the best rates and the best rooms for all three with a few clicks.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great boutique hotel in the heart of Seattle. Loved our lovely room and comfortable bed. Bar and restaurant are not only welcoming but trendy and delicious! Would highly recommend this hotel for your next trip to Seattle. Only about 4 blocks to Pikes' Fish Market, close enough to walk but far from the noise and commotion of that area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BBos23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Ah yes, far from the maddening crowd. Sure that is one of the reasons to stay with us, as the market area attracts everyone and everything.... we are only 4 blocks from the market but they are 4 peaceful blocks and there is just a lot less commotion up this end at all times of the day.
Thanks for the great note.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After having to wait more than 10 minutes at check in near 6:00pm to make sure the room I had reserved for a 3:00pm check in was indeed ready, the rest of the stay was quite pleasant. Friendly staff, the doorman is kind and has a sense of humor! What a treat, most just stay straight faced and stodgy but these guys had character. :)

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: Who doesn't do this nowadays? I believe it is difficult to find good cleaning help these days, and the effort to eliminate multiple loads of laundry is something nearly every household in America does, it saves time and money.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.. As an Inner Circle member was upgraded to a very nice suite.. We found the hotel to be clean and everything comfortable.. Although we found some small problems in our room (sink was slow draining) once they were reported they were quickly remedied. Staff was all very friendly and knowledgable about the city. Happy hour was, as always, great. Can't complain about this hotel. Pretty good value for a downtown hotel..

My only complaint is I asked specifically for a Kuerig coffee maker but failed to get one.. A minor issue in the big picture of things..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks Kimberly, we were just making sure that room was perfect for you as we know how particular you are! Thanks for the note on the guys at the door, yep a bunch of characters, you will find those same guys often work in our Sazerac restaurant where the staff have the same crazy aspects as the food! hope you made it in there as well.
Appreciate the note, come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My best friend and I recently spent a weekend in Seattle following a "wow, friends for 20 years we should do something cool" cruise to Alaska. And the Monaco went a long way to making it a most perfect ending to a gorgeous trip. All the staff was wonderful. My friend spoke to Peter several times before our arrival and he was always friendly and helpful.
We were able to check-in several hours early and refresh before hitting the hills of Seattle. The room was beautiful and the beds almost too comfy (we were trying to keep momentum -though we were very glad for them later, as well as the shower you could dance in). Took advantage of the free wi-fi (sign up for InTouch rewards!). After our day of wanders, we were greeted by our goldfish, Chester. This really made our day. We'd mentioned at check-in that we'd been calling our future goldy roommate, Chester McFancypants. Seeing Chester on the name sign was a truly special and appreciated touch. Thank you, Kevin!
Sunday brunch at Sazerac was delicious. I'm still thinking about that goat cheese omelet (it was especially appreciated after the dearth of tasty vegetarian options on the cruise). Loved seeing people's dogs, as was definitely missing my pets.
Just can't say enough about the sense of warmth and relaxation experienced here! I would definitely stay here again. I may just move into the Hotel Monaco in Philly in the meantime. Definitely a Kimpton Hotel fan after this experience.
I will also note that my friend received a personal response from the regional ops director after completing the customer satisfaction survey. I've never seen that before and is just another example of the pride Kimpton takes in managing customer relationships.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessyca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 101 in Seattle
2,021 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
2,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing