We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #10 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very comfortable stay”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After having to wait more than 10 minutes at check in near 6:00pm to make sure the room I had reserved for a 3:00pm check in was indeed ready, the rest of the stay was quite pleasant. Friendly staff, the doorman is kind and has a sense of humor! What a treat, most just stay straight faced and stodgy but these guys had character. :)

Room Tip: Try not to be near the elevators.
See more room tips
Green Features: Who doesn't do this nowadays? I believe it is difficult to find good cleaning help these days, and the effort to eliminate multiple loads of laundry is something nearly every household in America does, it saves time and money.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,583
    535
    135
    36
    21
See reviews for
437
857
136
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Stayed here for two nights.. As an Inner Circle member was upgraded to a very nice suite.. We found the hotel to be clean and everything comfortable.. Although we found some small problems in our room (sink was slow draining) once they were reported they were quickly remedied. Staff was all very friendly and knowledgable about the city. Happy hour was, as always, great. Can't complain about this hotel. Pretty good value for a downtown hotel..

My only complaint is I asked specifically for a Kuerig coffee maker but failed to get one.. A minor issue in the big picture of things..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelersK&W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Thanks Kimberly, we were just making sure that room was perfect for you as we know how particular you are! Thanks for the note on the guys at the door, yep a bunch of characters, you will find those same guys often work in our Sazerac restaurant where the staff have the same crazy aspects as the food! hope you made it in there as well.
Appreciate the note, come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed September 13, 2013

My best friend and I recently spent a weekend in Seattle following a "wow, friends for 20 years we should do something cool" cruise to Alaska. And the Monaco went a long way to making it a most perfect ending to a gorgeous trip. All the staff was wonderful. My friend spoke to Peter several times before our arrival and he was always friendly and helpful.
We were able to check-in several hours early and refresh before hitting the hills of Seattle. The room was beautiful and the beds almost too comfy (we were trying to keep momentum -though we were very glad for them later, as well as the shower you could dance in). Took advantage of the free wi-fi (sign up for InTouch rewards!). After our day of wanders, we were greeted by our goldfish, Chester. This really made our day. We'd mentioned at check-in that we'd been calling our future goldy roommate, Chester McFancypants. Seeing Chester on the name sign was a truly special and appreciated touch. Thank you, Kevin!
Sunday brunch at Sazerac was delicious. I'm still thinking about that goat cheese omelet (it was especially appreciated after the dearth of tasty vegetarian options on the cruise). Loved seeing people's dogs, as was definitely missing my pets.
Just can't say enough about the sense of warmth and relaxation experienced here! I would definitely stay here again. I may just move into the Hotel Monaco in Philly in the meantime. Definitely a Kimpton Hotel fan after this experience.
I will also note that my friend received a personal response from the regional ops director after completing the customer satisfaction survey. I've never seen that before and is just another example of the pride Kimpton takes in managing customer relationships.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessyca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

If there is a Monaco Hotel in a city I am going to I always like to stay there. The staff is always lovely and so accomodating. The hotels are always in great shape and it is a pleasure to look forward to arriving there after a long trip.

Seattle is no exception. Lovely greeting when I arrived, helpful with information about the area. The room was great, small-ish, but fine for a solo traveller.

Location is great. Up the hill from the airport train (be aware if you are arriving with a lot of luggage and are walking up the hill from the station!). A quick cab ride to Amtrak. Walking distance to shopping, restaurants, Pike Place, Pioneer Square and major bus routes.

I asked for a wake up call very early in the morning and when I had a problem with the phone in the room and it seemed like I didn't answer, they came right upstairs and knocked on my door to make sure I was awake!

Love this place.

Green Features: They reward you for not having your room cleaned daily. If you hang a sign on the door foregoing room service, they give you a $5.00 voucher to use for room service or at the hotel restaurant.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meliberk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

My BF and I stayed there in a Monte Carlo Suite for 5 nights. We loved our room in addition to our fish companion they provided with their compliments. The room was very comfortable and the bedroom area had a truly relaxing ambiance. We enjoyed riding around the city on the complimentary bicycles they provided us(too many hills to climb however). Complimentary Starbucks and tea in the a.m. were an absolute bonus(BF has major caffeine addiction). The concierge, Dan, was very knowledgeable and patient when I called him numerous times prior to
arriving at the hotel trying to figure what activites we'd partake in. Also, Shanie at the front desk was an absolute delight. Very helpful and always was effervescent when we interacted with her. Sheer delight she was!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAL-SMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Sorry for the delay in getting back to you, based on your comments everything was great except for the hills of Seattle so I was out trying to smooth them down! Thanks for the great notes, you certainly connected with two of our greatest! Shanie and Dan are quite a pair and much fun for guests and other employees alike. Hope you had time during your 5 day stay to wander into Sazerac for a cocktail or great lunch? if not there is another reason to come back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2013

My fiance and i and stay here every time we need a city getaway. Everything from checkin to check out is always top notch. Staff is beyond personable and accommodations are always above par! Concierge is great too...very knowledgable of local attractions and restaurants, even though we prefer to dine at Sazerac in the hotel lobby. We have stayed (at least once) at practically every hotel in the downtown area and seem too always be drawn the Monaco and, we'll definitely be back soon!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Kelli - me too ! I always prefer Sazerac! the catfish alone will change anyone's outlook on the day! the food has an easy way which seems to make any meal a delight. There is a celary Apple salad on the lunch menu I dream of from time to time. So glad to read that you have ventured out to other hotels (we call this the dark side) and you keep coming back to us! That makes my day.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I recently had tickets to a Seahawks pre-season game and decided to go all out and stay in a hotel downtown. I've stayed at this hotel for work before, had a great experience and thought I would give it a go again.

I'm so very glad that I did! The staff was amazing (and so was the sweet golden retriever I met!)and indulged me in all of my football excitement pre and post game. Even though I have lived in this city for years - they had some great suggestions for pre and post game hangouts that were new to me and it made my experience even better.

I love this place and the staff - it is my new favorite in-town getaway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Ingrid, you have no idea how often I hear from guests who say that they forgot about ths or that portion of our beautiful city. Great to read that the concierge is re introcing you to some of those spots. my favorites (thanks for asking) - Tulio up the street for Italian and the Bookstore Bar down on 1st for a good Scotch and some snacks. The staff are hand picked to make the hotel even more special, glad you connected with them, come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
2,003 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing