We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Really good service from the staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #10 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Really good service from the staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

I stayed there during our conference organized at Seattle Conventional Center. The hotel is in walkable distance to the conference, about 15 minutes walking in a cool weather. The hotel is in the center of the downtown. The room is clean and the staffs are really friendly and helpful. I bought a few stuffs from Amazon and they notified me once they are delivered. The IT guy aslo helped me to connect the wifi quickly when my Ipad could not connect. The private transfer in a comfort limousine gave me a good feeling aslo. One suggestion there should have a water boiler in the room. I likely will return this hotel if I come back Seattle in the future.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,433
    503
    125
    35
    17
See reviews for
402
786
126
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

It was my first time staying at a Kimpton hotel, and definitely will not be my last! From the genuine welcoming greeting at the hotel lobby, throughout out our stay to checkout- the team at the Hotel Monaco went above and beyond our expectations! My travel partner and I were exhausted from a long drive to Seattle from Northern California, and frankly, I was a little apprehensive at first bringing my 65 (+or- a few lbs) :) golden retriever into a downtown boutique hotel. The website for the hotel, had a pet registration, and extended services to my best friend (which put me at ease about our check in) and the reservation desk was more than happy to accommodate. The room was immaculate, quiet, nicely appointed, and everything was in it's place- Obviously the housekeeping staff pay great attention to detail as (I did inspect as I welcomed my first impression.) No more than ten minutes later, doggy bowls and a plush doggy lounge were brought to the room for Kylie... Nice touch!
I just wanted to sit in the huge tub and melt down for a while, but had to get a bite to eat so after I made sure Kylie was comfortable,I changed out of my driving comfies, and went down to the restaurant Sazarac. The menu had just about something for everyone, service was friendly, and the price-points were surprisingly reasonable for a hotel restaurant of this caliber. All in all, l have to say The Hotel Monaco was a pleasant surprise- You can even ask Aquanetta my temporary pet goldfish!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travis Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Aquanetta misses you and sends her best regards! This is so great to hear from a first time Kimpton guest. As someone who has stayed at 30 of our beautiful hotels, I assure you that from Miami to Los Angeles you get the same smiling faces and focus on the details coast to coast. As you noted, each Kimpton hotel has an independant restaurant attached to the hotel, run by Kimpton but never like any hotel restaurant we all know an loath! Glad you took the time, tell your friends and come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

Tom Waithe the Regional Director of Operations has definitely done a great job with the Hotel Monoco. From check-in to Check-out the staff was very accommodating and helpful. The kids loved Ben, my little 2 year old could not get enough of him. The staff add the little touches that made our stay a great experience. I will definitely coming back to the Hotel Monaco!
The hotel was 4 blocks from Nordstroms Rack, Nordstroms, PfChangs and Cheescake Factory.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daryl240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Well we offer 60 hotels coast to coast and to be labeled your favorite just makes my day. Here in Seattle you will also find the Vintage Park - up the street and the Alexis - down the street, both are stunning additions to the city. Tulio up at the Park, will change your opinion of Italian food and Sazerac here at the Monaco - well I have said it before, the catfish will change your perspective on American cuisine with a Southern flare. Appreciate you taking the time, tell your friends (oh thats right, you just did) come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My mom and I had a great four day stay at the Hotel Monaco recently. There was a bit of a hiccup when we first checked in, as the first room they put us was smaller than a postage stamp with a teeny tiny queen bed. If I'd been travelling alone, it would have been perfect, but for two people, it was not going to work. However, a quick call to the front desk fixed the room situation & we were immediately moved to a suite. While it was a little annoying, I certainly appreciated how understanding the front desk was and how quickly they rectified the situation.

The hotel is gorgeously decorated (I even took snapshots of some of the design elements for inspiration in my own home), the service is incredible in both the hotel & their restaurant, and the location is central to lots of "must-see" Seattle attractions. I'd definitely recommend the hotel to anyone paying a visit to the Seattle area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgirl53015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

When I travel I prefer to stay at Kimpton hotels and I must say - the Seattle location far and away my favorite! The rooms are incredible and for me - the staff (at all levels) were simply amazing. There outgoing, and unbelievable helpful and beyond thoughtful. My stay here was AWESOME and I can't wait until I can stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ingrid L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
You know we hand pick those staff from all the folks that apply we look not only at their qualifications but whether they like I love Lucy episodes and can smile at the sight of a child marveling at a goldfish in their room, its a pretty impressive interview process but it helps us get it right everytime. The hotel was just recently remodeled and yep, those rooms are incredible, no beige hotel here! Thanks for the note, come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I stayed here on a whim during a recent weekend lark. The decor is lively and fun, while still exuding warmth. The front desk people are professional, efficient, and best of all fun. My room was called a Monte Carlo, and was far more spacious than expected...loved the 2 flat screens. Best of all, and one of the primary reasons I'll definately return, is that my cherished Golden Retriever was made to feel as welcomed as I was. Wine hour was a delightful surprise, and I really enjoyed chatting with the staff and other guests. I'll definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
I remember seeing your dog in the hotel, stunning and well behaved! thanks for the note, we are perfect for a weekend lark as you note or your next business meeting or wedding! Thanks for the note, hope to meet you at wine hour soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We enjoyed our recent three-night stay at this hotel, located downtown within walking distance to many attractions such as the waterfront, Pike Place Market, and Pioneer Square. It's also near the light rail and the monorail. Our room, with a king size bed, was spacious, clean, and comfortable. But a minor problem was a lack of clothing storage space. However, I noted this on my customer survey, and the Regional Director of Operations sent me email to say they plan to address this! The rest of the hotel staff was also very helpful, friendly and provided excellent service. Additionally we liked the food at the Sazerac restaurant; we ate there for breakfast and happy hour once during our visit. Since I joined the Kimpton InTouch guest loyalty program, we received free wifi, and a $10 mini-bar certificate. We also took advantage of the AAA room rate discount and a $20 per day restaurant credit. We'd consider staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Look! its the Regional Director responding to your TripAdvisor review here as well! He is everywhere. Thanks for this nice note, I am so glad you made it into Sazerac, the food and happy hour in there is a hot spot for the city. There are a great number of deals out there and you can often find them at our Kimpton hotels website which is surprisingly Kimptonhotels.com
Appreciate hearing from you or any guest on suggestions on how we might make a great hotel even better!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,391 reviews
Hotel 1000
#11 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Seattle
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#6 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing