We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Surprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Lock In A Lower Rate
Ranked #12 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Hotel Monaco is a wonderful hotel in Seattle. Feeling a little guilty for getting such a great price on priceline because it really is a nice place to stay. Great location, excellent service, comfortable bed, huge bathroom and all very new. We will return... would prefer to stay here over the westin or sheraton.... Thank you Hotel Monaco. You are doing a great job.!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank allyouneedislove123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
And sometimes on Priceline you do hit the jackpot, but just in case you end up at one of the hideous alternatives, just check out our web site anytime for great packages or other deals!
The parking is expensive yep, but not when you consider the cost of replacing a broken window or failing to note the crazy parking regulations downtown and a one tow will convince you. I can't believe you know the name Rem Koolhaas and that he was the arch. for the library across the street, never seen it before in a guest comment card. We dont have alot of views but neither do the other 59 hotels in the downtown area, maybe thats why the rooms are so stunning?
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,060 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,397
    490
    122
    34
    17
See reviews for
389
765
123
455
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (401)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The decor of the hotel is very nice from the lobby to the guest rooms. My queen room was a tad on the small side but very well configured.

The shower curtain with the hotel logo was a nice touch as were towels with the Monaco name it on. It felt very customized.

The bed was very nice and the linen was of nice quality, and the pillows seemed new.

The dispensers for the soap, shampoo and conditioner are very "green", you know you are in Seattle.

The Gym could use a little work as the equipment is old and the treadmill shut off after 1 mile.

I ate a few meals in the restaurant, the food was very good and the service was strong. It just seemed to take a long time to get our food. 30 minutes for cereal and yogurt seems like a long time to me.

This is a very nice hotel and would recommend for any occasion.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning-Guest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
This building was a 're use' (after all we are in Seattle) and every floor has a variety of room styles and types and yes there are a few smaller size but alot are on the larger size! The recent renovation did provide us with a huge amount of upgrades, from beds to lamps, everything is new, and soon the health club will be as well! Sazerac is one of the great finds in the city, and I am sorry that you had a little delay on the breakfast side, definately not the norm!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anacortes
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Access was easy, valet was convenient, personnel quick to assist, front desk and other staff very pleasant and accomodating. Centrally located. Very clean. Rooms were effecient, quiet and cozy. Service from all was individualized and made to feel like a special part of the family. Restaurant was more than expected and quick. In room spa was perfect. We really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimee f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Very few people comment on the inroom Spa service, thanks for noting it in your comments. The services provided are fantastic, from massages to facials all in your guest room at great prices. The location of the hotel is always a positive, and we are right in the middle of everything, Seattle is such a great walking city, you can go up the street to another great Kimpton the Vintage Park, or down the street to another great Kimpton the Alexis!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon wa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Once again, the perfect weekend at Hotel Monaco in Seattle...everyone is just amazing there! I cannot say enough good things about this hotel…it’s now the only place we stay when we go to Seattle. Rooms are impeccably clean, hotel is beautiful, location is perfect, restaurant is so yummy from the drinks to the brunch (can you say Bloody Mary bar??). Staff are all helpful and friendly and just to top it off...they put a personalized gold fish in my room, what a fun touch! Thank you everyone at Hotel Monaco for, as always, being simply THE BEST!

Room Tip: There isn't a bad room in the hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Brunch in Sazerac on Sunday morning is a Seattle staple, if you can dont miss it. Yes you too can have a pet fish, just let us know when you are making your reservation. With a herd of friendly staff, how could you go wrong? Thanks for staying with us!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Located in the heart of downtown Seattle, right across the street from the stunning Seattle Public Library designed by Rem Koolhaas, the Hotel Monaco is a friendly and extremely attractive urban refuge for the busy visitor. I found the reception staff friendly and highly responsive, and my room was a joy - modern, well-designed, immaculate, and country-quiet. Some hotels I tolerate; others I delight in. This one definitely falls in the latter category. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
well some hotels I loath, but this one I agree is a delight. I actually lived here for 2 years in a room and while I have done this hotel live in thing a few times, here the staff to the decor made if feel like home. Appreciate your support, it means a great deal to the staff as well as everyone thinking about booking a room.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just stayed here for 2 nights and I really enjoyed it. Hotel Monaco is a solid 4 star boutique hotel and I really liked the extra touches such as the unique decor, boarding pass printing service, yoga/exercise kit delivered to your room and TV channel with yoga and other exercise classes, extensive list of complimentary items if you forgot something (not just toothpaste, but items such as curling irons and straighteners which I've never seen other hotels offer!), and goldfish in your room (too bad they don't have cats!).

The room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and functional. The beds and sheets were ridiculously comfortable, wifi (free for Kimpton members) was simple, no password needed, just had to enter your email registered with Kimpton, and it was fast and never dropped once. Lots of outlets in the room including ones by the bed.

The hotel location was excellent and right across from the W and around the block from the Fairmont. Lots of restuarants and shopping within walking distance. I wasn't familiar with where this hotel was located on a map but when I did see a map it was right where I would have wanted to be. Very central.

The only negatives were that a lot of the rooms probably have no views and there is no pool or hot tub in the hotel. I know nobody comes to Seattle for a pool but it would have been really nice to have a hot tub to unwind in after a long day.

Also I set up a wakeup call with the front desk one night and there was never any call the next morning. Good thing I'm paranoid about this happening and had set a double alarm on my phone, but this is inexcusable. Had I not done this and woken up late, my review would not have been as good.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caesar52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Seattle at Christmas is a magical wonderland. The decorations and lights are amazing. Just as amazing was our stay at the Monaco. The rooms were lovely, the staff was courteous and helpful and everything was clean and fresh. We had a delightful time and are looking forward to doing it again, making it an annual event.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoAnneBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
You know you are right, I was wandering around downtown the other day and downtown Seattle is spectacular at Christmas. What a great idea to get all the family together, maybe take in a play at the 5th Avenue theatre (1/2 block away) or a group dinner at Sazerac (Southern with a Northwest flair, how very Christmassy). Many of the rooms have QQ beds here or the wonderful Monte Carlo Suites allow you to have a little meeting space. If you really dont like your family that much, then note we have 3 Kimpton hotels in Seattle - The Vintage Park, the Alexis and the Monaco, break the group up, they are all within 3 blocks of each other!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel 1000
#4 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,748 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#4 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#8 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing