We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great hotel!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #11 of 101 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great hotel!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed one night at the Kimpton Monaco Seattle first week of November. Booked the hotel thru Priceline so wasn't sure what this hotel was all about. Arrived around 9pm. Check in was very quick. Front desk staff was very nice. The decor of the hotel is very modern, artistic design. It looks like it was recently renovated. Everything was clean and comfortable.

Overall surprised by how good the hotel was. I normally stay at the Westin and Hyatt's so this was an unknown change for the good. The only thing preventing me from giving a 5 star rating is the high valet parking cost. After taxes, parking cost $47! There is street parking but downtown Seattle doesn't come across as super safe!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Monky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
yep, with Priceline sometimes you hit the jackpot (that would be a stay at a Kimpton) glad you had a positive review of the hotel. We offer alot of the great rates you find at priceline on our website with many extra goodies, so check there next time first. Parking is expensive, but that extra 10 bucks knowing your car is in a secure, locked parking lot vs. out on the street all night and then there are those time constraints, and the tow trucks are a hungry lot. thanks for the note.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,430
    502
    125
    35
    17
See reviews for
402
784
126
463
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (410)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We visit Seattle from time to time and have tried a few hotels. Without a doubt, I have to say that we LOVE the Monaco best of all. Staff are incredibly friendly, helpful and welcoming. Rooms are clean, modern, and spacious. Beds and linen are great too. The hotel is also very central so we walk everywhere. Needless to say, I'm a fan.

My wife and I traveled with our three kids. We stayed in 2 adjoining rooms. A rollaway bed was added to the kids room (also very comfortable).

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Well Adam, we love you too. Not sure if your kids are the ones who sent me the note saying 'i want to live here forever' but if so, tell them that a 4 year degree in hotel mgmt will start them off nicely. 2 adjoining rooms for a family is a great perk, or those Monte Carlo suites with a rollaway are also a great family suite. Enjoy.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paragould, Arkansas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed here and loved it!! Everything was as described or as shown in pictures. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was very clean and well renovated. Very tasteful!! We took advantage of having a rm pet, Barry the goldfish. The location was awesome. A few blocks away from shopping, Pike Market and great restaurants. Would definetly stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Datz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Barry send his best regards. Our fish program is alot of fun and no they dont live in those little bowls all their lives, they have a huge tank downstairs where they swim freely, are fed continously and cared for lavishly with their own 'fish guy' if you would like a fish during your stay, just give the desk a call. Thanks for the nice review, come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

For the price this hotel is fabulous! They offer complimentary coffee/tea, pastries and whole fruit in the lobby until 11am and then have a complimentary wine cocktail hour from 5-6, but actually while we were there they served the wine until almost 7pm.

Rooms are not overly spacious, but perfect for 2 people on a weekend getaway. I will say that the decor was trying to be hip and a throw back to art deco but they didn't quite make it. The decor is a bit fragmented but that didn't distract from the overall stay.

Staff is pleasant but didn't go out of their way to be helpful. They more went through the functions. This is what you expect from a 3-4 star hotel.

Overall it was a great stay and I would go back on my next trip to Seattle.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYC_EM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Thanks for the nice review! appreciate your perspective. This building is a renovated office building from the 60s - very common for Kimpton to do, and as such all the rooms are different sizes and shapes, so your not overly spacious room was next door to one that was huge, but that is part of us not being like all those cookie cutter hotels next door!
come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Monaco exceeded my expectations in every way! They accommodated my every request with a smile on their face. I LOVED having goldfish in my room. It was such a nice and unique touch. The amenities and decor are supreme. LOVED their conservation incentives of $5 credit at restaurant Sazerac for conserving on linens. Peter, the concierge was friendly and helpful. Jesse at Sazerac restaurant was professional, friendly, and accommodating. Sazerac has great food. I ate dinner twice there and breakfast once. Oh! And there is complimentary wine hr every night. So much fun! I will stay here exclusively every time I return to Seattle! This hotel is truly home away from home.

Helpful?
Thank MyAliceinWonderland
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Wow, you hit on all the high points and some of the best staff members! actually all the staff members here are great, they are interviewed about 39 times before we offer them a job, and questions we hit on are 'what is a favorite movie' and ' how you feel about morning coffee runs' its a great amosphere and that connects nicely with the feeling for the guest. Sazerac is one of the cities great eateries, Southern cuisine, mixed wth a Northwest flare - typical Kimpton!
come back soon!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
seattle
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

When travelling we always look for a Kimpton hotel in the town and have stayed at a few over the last 5 years. This was another great Kimpton experience; you always feel welcome in their hotels and the staff here at the Monaco were extremely friendly and courteous, always looking to help. We received a room upgrade to a Monaco King Suite (without asking), which was was large, clean and functional. The King bed was semi-firm and one of the better hotel beds I have slept on. We always travel with our dog and Kimpton's are the best hotels for dogs. From the moment we arrived the staff were extremely friendly to both us and our dog, who we even took to the evening wine hour. The hotel is well situated in the Financial District with a good range of bars and restaurants nearby, and within walking distance of downtown Seattle. We will be back to this Kimpton sometime, we just haven't figured out when. Great service in a great boutique hotel. Very dog friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lostwithadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
With 55 Kimptons now across the nation (Canada soon too we hope) there is a Kimpton close to you where ever you travel. All Kimptons have a dog program, our founder Bill Kimpton stuggled forever to find a place to go with his dog and thus our policy. We are well located to get to everything in town and love to see everyone at wine hour!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Monaco for the first night of a week's touring holiday in the Pacific Northwest. Generally happy overall. Valet parking and reception staff all friendly and efficient; dinner and breakfast at adjoining Sazerac restaurant was good. Our room (twin bed premier on 11th floor) was smallish but very pleasant, with simple but interesting decor - sliding shutter blinds, window cushions, cool wallpaper and snazzy leopard print dressing gowns which look like a Kimpton standard! Not much of a view other than office buildings, but it didn't matter too much because we were out most of the day. The location is great, a short walk to Westlake Center monorail to Space Needle, and just a minute or two from the I-5 expressway, ideal if you're driving. Only negative about our room at the Monaco was the bathroom, which was pretty basic, with a sliding door, an old-fashioned bathtub/shower mixer combination and curtain. Didn't match the quality of the main bedroom (or indeed of other rooms at this hotel judging by user pictures submitted on TripAdvisor). Note to management: the bathroom in 1115 needs an upgrade. We also stayed a night at another Kimpton hotel, the Alexis just a couple of blocks away towards the waterfront, which was superior in several ways for the same cost.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank luckythree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Kimpton at one point had the tagline 'every hotel tells a story' and this hotels story is that it was a building from the 60s which was converted 15 years ago into a hotel. not much can be done with those bathrooms, which are fully equipped but perhaps not the wow factor you were seeking. The wow factor here is the service, the staff and the attitude which I believe you mentioned. Glad you are loyal Kimpton fans and stayed at the Alexis, we also have the Vintage Park up the street with the best Italian restaurant in the city Tulio!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Alexis Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Inn at the Market
#1 of 101 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 stars 2,385 reviews
Hotel 1000
#10 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#6 of 101 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 stars 2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel

Property: Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#4 Green Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#7 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Be among the first to experience the fully renovated Hotel Monaco Seattle. A 4-diamond luxury property, Hotel Monaco embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. The Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. The wildly popular Sazerac restaurant is also conveniently adjacent to the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing