We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent facility = excellent stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #8 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent facility = excellent stay!!”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We had such an awesome experience from the moment we walked in! We were greeted by a friendly, helpful staff and were quite impressed with the updated and ecclectic decor.
Our room was unexpectedly large, for a more established hotel, and was extremely well cared for. The king bed was very comfortable and afforded us our best night's sleep from any hotel previously! The restaurant Sazerac served the most amazing cuisine and we'll be back to attend their cooking class in January! We'll definitely be back to the Monaco during our next visit to Seattle!! Dusty and Kelli

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kelli R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We have about 17 different rooms types and sizes some very large some a little smaller, but there is one for every guest. I am delighted that you were happy with yours! The decor is brand new and tells the story of a world traveler picking up material from their world wide travels, you need to see it to believe it or just go to our web site and take a look a some pictures and some great deals!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,573
    527
    134
    36
    21
See reviews for
433
851
136
508
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2012

What a romantic place to stay! I was kindly upgraded to a suite for Valentine's Day and had the most relaxing, quiet, welcoming stay. The staff was so gracious and warm and made us feel very comfortable. The room was very spacious and luxurious and added to the special day.

The hotel in itself is unique and has an upscale feel, the staff is very helpful and welcoming, and the location is PERFECT! I loved staying at Hotel Monaco and I'm excited to stay there again.

Oh and I highly recommend eating/grabbing cocktails at Sazarec in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
Valentines Day? wow that was some time ago, but hey - you liked us then you will love us now! the hotel is fully remodeled and very showy. I always like to hear that the staff qualified as gracious, it is a lost art and not done well in so many hotels!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waltham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

This hotel somehow manages to be family friendly while keeping the high standards of a more adult-oriented hotel. Upon check in, my nephews were given little activity bags with crayons, puzzles, and tourism suggestions. They also were able to request a pet goldfish for the duration of our stay (I'll admit, I would have done that without the kids!). The hotel provided a crib for the littlest one and a free wine hour for the adults. The location was convenient for exploring, and we were able to get a AAA deal to cover some of the parking charges. Overall, the room was very nice, but the service was nicer.

The only negative point was that the "Monte Carlo Suite w/King Bed and Parlor" was not 2 rooms with a door between them, but rather one big room divided by a curtain. I should have checked more carefully, but that did make it more difficult when the baby needed to get to sleep much earlier than the rest of us. Also, the sofa bed was quite uncomfortable (the bed was nice). So, I recommend this hotel for those with or without kids, but don't go for one of the rooms with a sofa bed!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenivtsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
yes those Monte Carlo suites are great for families, I always get one when I am with my wife and kids. The rooms dont have doors separating them because they would make it like a little windowless closet and so the heavy curtains do the trick. The sofa beds are brand new and never had a negative comment on them, sorry it didnt work for you!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Loved my stay here. It is a great location to get around downtown. Coffee shop across the street also which is always a plus for my husband the caffeine addict! Nice cozy beds. The wine hour in the lobby rocks!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
this is actually a great tip. The Seattle Best Coffee shop across the street usually has about a 1 minute wait for a cup of coffee vs. the Starbucks next to the hotel which can have a line up out the door! Then again, there is always a cup available at our own Sazerac and you dont have to go out in the rain!
Tom W.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enumclaw, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I love this hotel! I love the welcome sign for pets at check in, the free wine in the lobby, the goldfish in my room and the HUGE leopard print robe they provide for lounging in. Beds are cozy and the decor is awesome. Frankly I get so tired of seeing the same "hotel" decor everywhere I stay. This place feels like somewhere special, not just another three throw-pillows-on-cream colored-comforter hotel room. Price is reasonable too, and the staff seem really accommodating. I recommend brunch at Sazorac as well.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Julie J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Wow! you hit all the top reasons to stay here and all the reasons I love working here! The sign in the lobby with your pets names and the happy goldfish in your room. Brunch in Sazerac is great or try lunch up the street at Tulio - the chicken will change your life.
I too get tired of the beige hotels, might be just the reason our guests love us so much.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We were in town for a conference headquartered at the Monaco. We chose to arrive a few days early and checked into brand X across the street for the weekend. The night before moving into the Monaco, we checked with the front desk and asked if we could get an early check-in. Since we could see how many rooms had lights on, we knew they were nowhere near even 50% occupancy on the weekend before this conference. We were told that early check-in would probably not be a problem. Guess what, the day shift people have the power and there was no way we were going to check in before 3:00 p.m. What prompted the stonewalling is beyond us. I believe it was because we didn't need to give our bags to the porters and pay to get them back. We simply returned to the competition where we had been granted a 4:00 P.M. check-out. We travel all over the world and it's customary to allow those coming in on flights that arrive before posted check in times to get their rooms if there is one available. Not HERE! The room was acceptable, sort of clean, not immaculate. Instead of individual soaps and shampoos, they have dispensers connected to the shower wall. Lighting was adequate. We would not return to a hotel that treated us the way were treated.

Room Tip: Don't show up early and be prepared for a condescending person at the front desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sanchael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Well there you go.... Honestly, if your room was ready at 8 am you could check into it, why would we or any hotel prevent you from doing so, but if you have any special room type or request, we have to search for a room and get it ready. There is never a challenge at the desk and we check guests in early all day long. I am delighted that your hotel across the street was able to provide you with a 4 pm check out, guessing that they weren't very busy probalby says alot about them. We do offer dispensers in our guest rooms, but that was my decision after we noted that 59,000 little plastic bottles were being thrown out each year into a landfil. There is a note in your room letting you know that you are always welcome to call down and we will send them up. Glad you had a great stay other than not being able to arrive as early as you had wished.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
2 reviews
Reviewed October 9, 2012

The red fish as a pet was the first pet in a hotel experience for me and it was so kind :)
The Service was wonderful as well as the kindness of the acceptance.
The environment and the hall is perfect for any kind of meeting. Very elegant and refined
A nice experience that will remain in my memory :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Raffasolaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, General Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
hmmm. guessing that is a goldfish, but some are slightly red, unless we have a new program putting salmon in the rooms. I am delighted you had a great stay and enjoyed the meeting space we have, all newly renovated and bright and shiny!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,586 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#4 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,901 reviews
Hotel 1000
#12 of 100 in Seattle
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing