We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky - Friendly -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Ranked #9 of 100 Hotels in Seattle
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Funky - Friendly -”
Reviewed April 9, 2012

I had happened to get this hotel on Hotwire. I never have used the site, but I am really glad I did.

We arrived at the hotel around 4:30pm. The valet took our keys and we went to check in. We were greeted and helped right away. The lobby was nice and staff was friendly.

They advised us that we came at the right time since they are doing some renovations to the hotel.

After going up to our room, there were men working in the hallway quiet loudly. I could hear their saws and hammers. I really just wanted to take a nap after a long boarder line up. There were empty wine glasses on the floor; I thought that was really odd. We turned the corner and our room was tucked in a little hallway. The hallway to the stairs was unfinished and opened. This being my first impression, I was nervous to open the door to our room. When we did, the room was very nice. It was really clean and up to par with cool technology features. (I could plug in my iPod, charge my iPhone, blackberry and GPS) The bed could have used more blankets. But we turned our heat up to accommodate that. :) The room also did smell like fresh paint, but we got use to it.

The noise outside stopped around 5:15 and we went downstairs to have a glass of wine.

Oh ya, they have happy hour, for free :)

We had some wine and were shown a magic trick or two. It was a very nice extra little touch.

We walked around the hotel and checked out the other amenities. (The work out room is small but had most of the equipment we were looking for)

Then we had a night on the town.

We came back from eating and sightseeing to get a little cozy in our room. The showers are very nice and the products they use are not those nasty shampoos that leave your hair dry and only enough for one person to take a shower. They had ample amount!

We checked out around 9... Their check out is 12! This is really nice if you just want to lounge.

We would stay here again... :)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, April 12, 2012
What a great escape, that is what this hotel is all about, a chance to have a change from all the other 'beige' hotels. Not 100% sure what was happening with the door being open, but as you note we are just finishing that renovation and they could have been putting the last touches in there for your arrival!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    536
    135
    36
    21
See reviews for
438
858
136
511
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
195 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

We stayed at the Monaco Seattle recently and we are already planning another stay at this hotel. You get excellent customer service from the moment you step in to the front desk to the end from every hotel employee. The rooms are lively, spacious and every detail for the well being of the guest has been taken into consideration.

The hotel is centrally located and walking distance to all important attractions, restaurants, coffee shops and shopping.

Parking was expensive, we were lucky enough to find a space by the bar window every night.

Awesome place and customer service!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CitizenoftheAir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2012

Stayed here for a 4 day trip. Great location near the University underground transit stop. Got the lowest total trip price for this hotel (hotel + airfare) through the hotel booking site. Service was excellent: the front desk person went and got our bags as the Bellhop was busy.

Room Tip: As a member of the InTouch rewards program (free) I got free WiFi and a $10 "Raid the Mini Bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keninca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
the new rooms are pictured on our website and a great twist on the colors and designs of the old Monaco. The theme of the rooms is a world traveler who has come back from a journey with his favorite pieces and placed them in his home. (this is the designer version, I just think it looks great). thanks for the note.!
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2012

I could not have asked for better service than what I received at Hotel Monaco. Their hotel was lovely, clean and well taken care of. The staff was caring and made me feel very important. I highly recommend them as the "go to" hotel in Seattle!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaVonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
One of the questions we ask ourselves is how we can make the guest feel important, glad we hit the mark with you, its nice to read.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We did a "name your own price" for a random Sunday night and were assigned the Hotel Monaco in downtown Seattle. We've stayed at various Kimpton hotels throughout the country and this did not disappoint. The hotel is currently being renovated and we were a bit worried we would get one of the "old" rooms but we did not. Our room was updated, clean, modern and (for the most part) quiet.

After looking at the website and reading the reviews on TripAdvisor prior to our arrival, we were expecting a pet goldfish in our room as well as turndown service at night (we've always had turndown service at other Kimptons). We didn't get either and after re-reviewing the website found out that these items are "upon request." That was a little disappointing, especially since it was a quiet Sunday night and the hotel wasn't full by any stretch of the imagination.

Another nit-pick: the hotel's website says their wine reception from 5-6 pm offers "worldly and wise" wines. Eh, not so much. They were pouring Columbia Crest Two Vines Cabernet, a bottle of which can be purchased in the grocery store for $6.99. Not so wordly or wise! Oh well. It's free I guess!

The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was large with good water pressure in the shower and no shortage of hot water for an older building. We could hear our neighbor early on Monday morning on the phone so it could have been a bit quieter but we understood guests on Monday morning may be conducting early business from their rooms. All in all, no major complaints and for the "name your own price" it was a good deal. Be aware, there is only valet parking and it will run you $40+ dollars a night with tax. Yikes!

Room Tip: Be sure and ask for a pet goldfish and turndown service if these things are important to you. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misha22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
Some great tips included here, appreciate you letting folks in on the inside scoop. Like many hotels we add on request to some of our amenities, believe it or not, we did at one time put goldfish in every room, all 189 of them and had our own Fish Friend handling them, but so many guests disliked them and the logistics of the program were slightly more complicated than loading a plane. Turndown is another item which many guests just find as an intrusion into their stay, but hey, you want it, you will get it. Our wines of the world program features a different wine every month and they are specifically chosen to be enviromentally friendly, organic based and earthwise, this month happens to come from our own backyard in Washington, next month - you never know. Parking here in the downtown core is expensive but the price you pay for a secure, patrolled, no limit in and out priv. and less than most busy downtown centers. We monitor all the other hotels in the area and are right in the pack with all of them. Thanks for all the insight.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

Husband and I have stayed at the Seattle Hotel Monaco on several occasions over the past 15 years. We have always thoroughly enjoyed the colorful and eclecticly fun decor, the wine hour, the convenient downtown location, and the sincerely hospitable service. The rooms are quiet - our most recent stay we were located on the 3rd floor facing the street, and our room was next to the elevators. In another hotel I might have asked to be higher to avoid street noise, or further from the elevators, but here there were no concerns about noise and I am sensitive about this. We have never traveled with a pet before so this visit was a bit of a test to see if our 6 month old springer spaniel would be okay on an overnight in a big city. A couple of calls to the hotel prior to our visit allayed most of my concerns - the hotel is truly pet friendly - no added cost for a pet, and they will puppysit for free for the first two hours, if the guest is going out, and $10 per hour after that. (They will keep the pet behind the front reception desk). There is a patch of green across the street in front of the library for the dogs convenience, and this did work for us, but alas, there were no other patches of green in the immediate neighborhood. But, this is a downtown hotel and that is to be expected. Everybody was indeed very accommodating to us and to our puppy, they delivered puppy treats and toy and cleanup bag to the room. Also, we enjoyed a very lovely complimentary wine hour downstairs (main lobby is currently under renovation, looks to be completed soon, can't wait to go back and see how it looks!) and our dog was loving all that socialization. There were some kids at the social hour, and a guy did some magic tricks to entertain them, that was new to us! Also, we got parking at the hotel at half price because we drive a fuel efficient car, nice perk, thank you. We belong to the Kimpton loyalty program which is free and a great idea, we got free internet, and also a $10 coupon to "raid the mini bar". We were very very happy with the fresh new look in the rooms and as always we love the staff - we will keep this hotel as our #1 choice in Seattle. Our puppy also gives four paws up!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbnstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, April 9, 2012
4 paws! thats as good as it gets. We all loved seeing your beautiful pup at the hotel, and appreciate you noting that being a downtown its a little challenging to find a big green pasture to let Rover run. The lobby is done, and you know, it is beautiful! Come back soon.
Tom.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oliver, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2012

My husband and I just spent the weekend at the Hotel Monaco in Seattle and even though they were "undergoing renovations", we still received the same great Kimpton service. Our room was one of the newly renovated rooms and it was nicely appointed with a super comfy bed.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jillian07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatthehotel, Manager at Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle, responded to this review, April 3, 2012
the renovations, remodel, refresh or whatever it was called are done! new lobby, new rooms and all new meeting space, its so great that the pain was worth all the gain, come back and see it soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Seattle hotels
Downtown
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
Kimpton Alexis Hotel
#5 of 100 in Seattle
2,006 reviews
Grand Hyatt Seattle
#7 of 100 in Seattle
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Inn at the Market
#1 of 100 in Seattle
2,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle

Property: Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle
Address: 1101 Fourth Avenue, Seattle, WA 98101-3003 (Formerly Hotel Monaco Seattle - a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Washington > Seattle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Seattle
#3 Spa Hotel in Seattle
#5 Luxury Hotel in Seattle
#6 Business Hotel in Seattle
#7 Romantic Hotel in Seattle
#17 Family Hotel in Seattle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle 4.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kimpton Hotel Monaco in Seattle is a 4-diamond luxurious, yet playful property that embraces the spirit of international travel in sophisticated style. Walk through the doors and escape into a world of sensory indulgence. Kimpton Hotel Monaco, with its warm welcome and exceptional service, is within walking distance of Westlake Center, Pacific Place, Pike Place Market, Benaroya Hall and many other iconic attractions. Guests can enjoy hosted wine hour featuring local Washington wineries every night in our lobby between 5-6pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Hotel Monaco Seattle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco Seattle Kimpton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing