We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was average...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Westmark Inn Skagway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Acually our whole trip was great with nice accomadations. If I had to rate, Skagway hotel would be in the bottom three. It was a typical room and could have been a little cleaner but it was okay. Restaruant was okay. We just had breakfast there. Wouldnt go out of the way to recommend but wouldn't say not to stay there either. Location is great. Walk to everything.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aatpct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

139 - 145 of 229 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

Though rooms are good and clean there is lag in service by the service staff. What annoyed me most is since the check in time is 2 PM the gave me the room only @ 2 and not even @ 1.59 though the rooms were available and I was made to wait until 2 from 11 when I did arrived at the Hotel ( my booking is pre booked)

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms since ground floor rooms windows open up in the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chettiyappan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Stayed here while I was with my husband during our visit to Alaska. Rooms were good, bed was comfortable, decor nice, staff was friendly. Price was standard for area. Overall would recommend again to other travellers

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dandellion1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We booked through Booking.com and were seduced by the pictures into thinking that this was a really nice place to stay - handy for the ferry and WP&YR. The reality was two small, dark rooms in an annexe across the street from the main building - our friends' room resembled the black hole of Calcutta as it was dark and the heating was on 'full' all night - in a block where rooms were clearly out of commission as mattresses were propped against windows and looking beyond the neglect was clear. It was early season and the staff, though friendly, were utterly clueless - blame the management for poor training. The hotel's raison d'etre seems to be to serve the Holland America Cruise Liners and as there wasn't one in during our, blessedly, short stay there was no breakfast either. At $129 per night we were ripped off. The hotel is a disgrace - how can anywhere that refuses to serve breakfast call itself an hotel?
My advice would be to sleep a park bench - better value and more honest than this place! In nearly 7 weeks of travel in W. Canada and Alaska this was the worst place we stayed by a country mile! Avoid if possible.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrNoah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

Deb at front desk was awesome. The hotel had opened for the season just a few days before, so there were a few issues still being worked out, but Deb made it all go smooth and easy. She was genuinely friendly and helpful. She made our stay very pleasant.
Another plus was this hotel allowed dogs, so that was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ExplorerAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

I visited Alaska in August 2012 and this was the worst Westmark Inn I stayed at. The room was so small we barely had room to put our suitcases. My boyfriend had to sit on the bed so I could walk by him and I'm only 130 lbs. This hotel is extremely dated and is in dire need of a facelift! The view was looking at the mountains which was the nicest part of this hotel. I think Head office Corporate needs to visit this hotel because they would be disgusted as I was. We booked based on the Westmark name but I can't trust that.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FortuneSeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2012

After getting off the Holland ship (and waiting a few hours to ck in/walked the town) this was a great big change,didn't expect a Hilton or even Comfort but not a Motel 6. Very small,did I say small, how about tiny, room. Knowing it was for tour people coming off a ship w/luggage, some w/6 pcs, we had 4,2 large ,2 carry-on's. The bath was a s-s-s type. There was no place even to set luggage and be able to turn around. Had to walk to lobby for internet and about a block for ice -just inconvenience.Close to main st. but so is everything else.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wataugaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
16.3 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
138 reviews
16.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
15.7 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
0.2 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#3 of 5 in Skagway
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Inn Skagway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Inn Skagway

Address: Third & Spring Street, Skagway, AK 99840-0515
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Price Range: $150 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Westmark Inn Skagway 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular Westmark Inn Skagway captures the spirit of the Klondike Trail with its Victorian decor, rustic setting and warm Alaskan hospitality. The Inn's 151 guest rooms accommodate travelers in turn-of-the-century style, while guests looking for a special dining experience will enjoy the Chilkoot Dining Room where you can find friendly service and fine food. The mere mention of Skagway brings to mind those rough and ready days of Jack London and miners scrambling over the Chilkoot Trail in search of golden dreams and elusive riches. Skagway and the Westmark Inn today continue to reflect the charm and personality of those days gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Westmark Inn Skagway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Inn Skagway Hotel Skagway
Westmark Hotel Skagway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing