We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy experience overall”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Westmark Inn Skagway
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“happy experience overall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2008

Wasn't expecting to stay in Skagway but ferry broke down so found the first hotel I could.
Reception was not overwelming but to there credit let me check in at 11am ( out of season )The room was small but adequate with all essentials and I could park the car outside. This was across the road from the main building.
The restaurant was closed until June.
Wireless internet has to be paid for! There are computers available free in the main hotel, but these are likely to be heavily used in the main season.

  • Liked — patio area in middle of accommation where you could sit, car cloae to room
  • Disliked — small room, no free wirless internet
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    68
    34
    14
See reviews for
32
90
12
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2007

After reading all the terrible reviews about this place, I knew I didn't want to stay there during my trip. As it turned out, other places were sold out, and we ended up there for one night. I expected the worst, and it really wasn't half bad. The worst thing I can say is that the room smelled a bit musty like smoke and the bed was rather boxey, but overall was just fine. The location was great, as we were able to stumble back from the Red Onion. Although I probably woudn't stay here again if I had the choice, my experience was just fine. A mediocre, nonromantic average room for an average rate.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — the boring room
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SkagwayLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2006

We thoroughly enjoyed Skagway and the Westmark Inn. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The food in the Hotel's Chilkoot Dinning room was outstanding for dinner. We ate a wonderful breakfast across the street from the hotel at a local cafe. Our guest rooms resided in a heavily flowered courtyard area with a picturesque whale fountain. The room itself was comfortable, clean, and provided a pleasant experience for my wife and I. The Hotel is conveniently located downtown adjacent to much of what this quaint little town has to offer (shopping, sightseeing tours). A great experience with this hotel and this wonderful little town that I hope we can repeat someday.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temple Terrace, Florida
Level Contributor
342 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2005

I agree with the reviewer who reminded other travelers that Skagway is a small town with a seasonal tourist trade. It would be nice if the town boasted better hotels, but it does not. The Westmark chain needs to update and freshen up this property, but our room, on the second floor of the original building, was clean and adequate. It was dark; another lamp or two would have been appreciated. Friends who stayed in the newer building had tiny rooms. Our room was large enough for a one night stay.

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank simonthecellar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 350 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2005

Oh Beware of your stay at the Westmark Inn at Skagway. There are 2 parts to this hotel. The newer wing, across the street, or the original hotel. If you get a room on the 2nd floor of the original hotel, (like we did) then hopefully it will face the street and not the roof of the restaurant. The interior rooms on the 2nd floor face this roof and on top of this roof are VERY LARGE vent fans for the kitchen. Since the rooms are not air-conditioned, your only option on a sunny day is to open the window. I want to tell you the sound was so loud it was like a jet taking off. Then the fumes from the grill blew right in our room. Even with the window closed we couldn't stand it. Of course when we requested a room change they were booked. We left our room and stayed out as late as possible. The fans finally shut off sometime between 10:30-11, only to kick back on at 5:30am. I'm telling you, if you get one of these rooms facing the roof on the 2nd floor, DEMAND a room change. Don't wait until the fans kick on. Even with the windows closed the fumes came in and we both had massive headaches. This really sucked the next day on the tour as we were both feeling so awful. And I give the hotel staff a "poor" rating because they didn't give a (-), didn't even attempt to move our room or offer any type of compensation for our crappy nite. If there was a manager, we never saw him or her.
Those people on our tour that stayed in the newer wing of the hotel didn't have any problems, other than the hotel was not air conditioned. Many hotels in Alaska are not and if you can open your window it will cool down in the evening.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mpls, MN
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2004

The main purpose for this hotel is for guest spending the night from a cruise line. It is only open for a few months out of the year. A portion of the hotel is reserved for students who come to Skagway for the summer for employment. The rooms are adequate both in size and cleanliness.

The complaints listed here are correct that the hotel is a little run down. FYI, you're in a run down small town! It’s supposed to be rustic. It would take away the charm of the town if they were to put in an upscale hotel just for clients who want to be pampered.

The town has a population of about 70 people during the winter months and as many visitors as 8,000/day in the summer. It's hard to keep a hotel up to date and shinny new when it's only in operation for 4-5 months of the year. Most accommodations in these smaller towns are going to be similar to that of the Westmark in Skagway.

Enjoy it for what it is; you're on vacation in Alaska.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Hotdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2004

Highly overrated!!! Room was noisy and rundown. TV poor. Staff was friendly but had cancelled my reservation themselves that morning.(They admitted this to us, no explanation as to why). Was given a room without any problems though.
Dining room was slow. I think they thought we were a cruise ship person that just had a voucher for a meal and was really slow to take our order or even notice we had be seated.
Was just there to ride the train and see the town but will stay somewhere else next time.

  • Stayed July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rainbow7711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
16.3 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
16.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
15.7 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
0.2 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Westmark Inn Skagway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Westmark Inn Skagway

Property: Westmark Inn Skagway
Address: Third & Spring Street, Skagway, AK 99840-0515
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Westmark Inn Skagway 2*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The popular Westmark Inn Skagway captures the spirit of the Klondike Trail with its Victorian decor, rustic setting and warm Alaskan hospitality. The Inn's 151 guest rooms accommodate travelers in turn-of-the-century style, while guests looking for a special dining experience will enjoy the Chilkoot Dining Room where you can find friendly service and fine food. The mere mention of Skagway brings to mind those rough and ready days of Jack London and miners scrambling over the Chilkoot Trail in search of golden dreams and elusive riches. Skagway and the Westmark Inn today continue to reflect the charm and personality of those days gone by. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Westmark Inn Skagway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westmark Inn Skagway Hotel Skagway
Westmark Hotel Skagway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing