We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a classy way to enjoy Skagway” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Historic Skagway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Historic Skagway Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a classy way to enjoy Skagway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This was our second stay there and it was as enjoyable as the first one. The Skagway Inn is in our top 10 list. It would be hart to find a more fun place to stay - history with convenience.

The Inn is not a modern place - that's what is so much fun. Historically it was a bordello during the Gold Rush days and retains the ambiance today..

Caution: One room has 2 single beds - not expected in a bordello motif. And don't be surprised at the room sizes - when it was a bordello, room size wasn't important.

The breakfasts were unusual but well prepared, delicious and varied. The owner and his wife went out of their way to make our stay delightful.

Room Tip: They are all "historically" nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WCErdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HistoricSkagwayInn, Owner at Historic Skagway Inn, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Thanks for your comments, hope to see you on another visit. - Karl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    61
    18
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
69
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ahmednagar, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

I recommend the Historic Skagway Inn highly. We found the staff friendly and the beds very comfortable. Our room was clean but stuff in it needed dusting. The heat had been cranked up on high when we got to the room, and although we turned it off and opened the window, the residual warmth overnight interfered with our sleep. The hotel was quiet and the bordello decor amusing. As with everywhere else we stay when we are three to a room, there were only towels, etc. for two, which was remedied promptly when we asked. I was pleased to see that there is a large stack of board games in the lobby, which is where the TV is. The wifi was good in our room. We did not try the restaurant but our included breakfast was fine if you don't count the hard-cooked shirred eggs, and I thought the huge organic garden was a great bonus. We were there in mid-September, which is a great time for the drive to Whitehorse in spectacular scenery, but as the last cruise ship had left, most businesses, bars, etc. in Skagway were closed most of the time, limiting choices for meals and shopping. We had the best dinner of our trip at the Stowaway, near the cruise ship docks, but we understand it is closing.

Room Tip: Our party stayed in "Lil" which has its own bathroom, and we had the use of the very clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank _kathill777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanibel, Florida & Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

During my first two stays at the Historic Skagway Inn, I thoroughly enjoyed the Victorian décor, hot showers, good food, and resting our Chilkoot Trail tired feet while sitting in the garden. My third visit to Skagway Inn was last Sunday and was unplanned. Having completed leg 8 in the Klondike Trail of ’98 International Road Relay which runs from Skagway Alaska to Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, I drove back to Skagway only to learn that the Alaska Ferry was delayed in Juneau due to mechanical problems. Marine Highway personnel advised passengers to line-up overnight accommodations “just in case”. We immediately drove to Skagway Inn and were put in touch with the owner to work out a plan. Wow! The customer service was excellent. While waiting news on whether we would spend the night in Skagway, we went shopping, visited the museum, had late lunch, then came dinner – all during which the Skagway Inn owner called us more than once to relay ferry repair updates. Finally, word came from that the ferry had passed sea trials was officially underway.

No matter how good your accommodations are, if the customer service is poor, you won’t want to return. Skagway Inn has again shown that they are good Southeast Alaska neighbors who put forth the extra effort to ensure you enjoy your stay. My first visit, they stored our belongings while we hiked the Chilkoot Trail. Second visit, they introduced us to shirred eggs and a great variety of greens grown in their garden (what a treat after 5 days trail food). This visit was all about the helpful Alaskan spirit. Thank you Karl and staff for helping make the best of our unplanned stay in Skagway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SanibelShellingQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa, TX
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a 2 twin size beds room, a bit old, but OK, the window did not close properly. The bathroom was a tight squeeze but very clean! In spite of all that we will recommend staying as the service was very friendly, very accommodating. The baked French toast was the best ever!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
83 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

With a little imagination you could see the ladies escorting their gentlemen friends up the stiars and through the halls of this restored brothel. We stayed in Ida's room. Plenty of room, everything was clean, beds were comfortable, food was good. They also drove us to the ferry when it was time to depart without having to wait at all. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best B&B that I have stayed at. All staff were fun and friendly. We had to catch the White Pass train at 7:10, so they made our breakfast early and even gave us a lift to the station. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellin_Canucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Island, Illinois
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family was in Alaska for 2 weeks and this was one of the best places we stayed at. We stayed in the Alice room which had its own private bath and plenty of room for 4 people. I slept on the porch, which had a nice breeze with the windows open. The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to help us. They picked us up on time and made sure that we got to the train on time. The garden was beautiful and it was nice that they used some of the herbs in their cooking. It was fun to read the guest book in the room. This book had writings from previous guests and it was amusing to read what people had to say about the "ghost" (not that there was really a ghost). The decor was perfect for the theme the Inn was going for. If I ever go back to Skagway, I will definitely stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank redhead1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.2 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
16.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices

Been to Historic Skagway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Skagway Inn

Property: Historic Skagway Inn
Address: 655 Broadway, Seventh & Broadway, Skagway, AK 99840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1897 during height of the Klondike Gold Rush. First operated as a brothel, now family oriented country inn. Ten guest rooms, each different range from queen bed private bath to 2-twin beds with on hallway shared bath. Each stay includes a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Historic Skagway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing