We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a good neighbor”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Skagway Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2012

During my first two stays at the Historic Skagway Inn, I thoroughly enjoyed the Victorian décor, hot showers, good food, and resting our Chilkoot Trail tired feet while sitting in the garden. My third visit to Skagway Inn was last Sunday and was unplanned. Having completed leg 8 in the Klondike Trail of ’98 International Road Relay which runs from Skagway Alaska to Whitehorse, Yukon Territory, I drove back to Skagway only to learn that the Alaska Ferry was delayed in Juneau due to mechanical problems. Marine Highway personnel advised passengers to line-up overnight accommodations “just in case”. We immediately drove to Skagway Inn and were put in touch with the owner to work out a plan. Wow! The customer service was excellent. While waiting news on whether we would spend the night in Skagway, we went shopping, visited the museum, had late lunch, then came dinner – all during which the Skagway Inn owner called us more than once to relay ferry repair updates. Finally, word came from that the ferry had passed sea trials was officially underway.

No matter how good your accommodations are, if the customer service is poor, you won’t want to return. Skagway Inn has again shown that they are good Southeast Alaska neighbors who put forth the extra effort to ensure you enjoy your stay. My first visit, they stored our belongings while we hiked the Chilkoot Trail. Second visit, they introduced us to shirred eggs and a great variety of greens grown in their garden (what a treat after 5 days trail food). This visit was all about the helpful Alaskan spirit. Thank you Karl and staff for helping make the best of our unplanned stay in Skagway.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SanibelShellingQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (198)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 198 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

We had a 2 twin size beds room, a bit old, but OK, the window did not close properly. The bathroom was a tight squeeze but very clean! In spite of all that we will recommend staying as the service was very friendly, very accommodating. The baked French toast was the best ever!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D_Odessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2012

With a little imagination you could see the ladies escorting their gentlemen friends up the stiars and through the halls of this restored brothel. We stayed in Ida's room. Plenty of room, everything was clean, beds were comfortable, food was good. They also drove us to the ferry when it was time to depart without having to wait at all. I would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1LGM1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The best B&B that I have stayed at. All staff were fun and friendly. We had to catch the White Pass train at 7:10, so they made our breakfast early and even gave us a lift to the station. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellin_Canucks2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Our family was in Alaska for 2 weeks and this was one of the best places we stayed at. We stayed in the Alice room which had its own private bath and plenty of room for 4 people. I slept on the porch, which had a nice breeze with the windows open. The owners were very helpful and went out of their way to help us. They picked us up on time and made sure that we got to the train on time. The garden was beautiful and it was nice that they used some of the herbs in their cooking. It was fun to read the guest book in the room. This book had writings from previous guests and it was amusing to read what people had to say about the "ghost" (not that there was really a ghost). The decor was perfect for the theme the Inn was going for. If I ever go back to Skagway, I will definitely stay at the Inn.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank redhead1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We were very glad with the choice. We just have good things to say about the Inn. The customer service is excellent and everyone is polite and respectful. The service is great, Nana is very welcoming and makes you feel at home. She sure listen to all you have to say. She makes sure you are a happy guest. The room is nice , comfy (Kitty), and sunny. The breakfast give you a good start in the morning. The free shuttle is a plus to go to the harbor. We recommended it to some people in our way down to Kamloops. We would come back if we travel that way in the future. We were treated as human being and not like a number. Thank you and enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: Kitty room is quiet, large and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nanick0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great! Lots of character. Stayed here as a group of six before hiking the Chilkoot Trail. I chose it as they will feed you and drive you to the trail head in the morning. Location is good to explore Skagway. The margaritas in the garden restaurant are fantastic.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
Thank Otherwise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.2 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
227 reviews
16.5 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
137 reviews
16.4 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
15.9 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
16.6 mi away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Skagway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Skagway Inn

Address: 655 Broadway, Seventh & Broadway, Skagway, AK 99840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range: $99 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Skagway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1897 during height of the Klondike Gold Rush. First operated as a brothel, now family oriented country inn. Ten guest rooms, each different range from queen bed private bath to 2-twin beds with on hallway shared bath. Each stay includes a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Skagway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing