We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilkoot Bound”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Historic Skagway Inn
Ranked #4 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Chilkoot Bound”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Great! Lots of character. Stayed here as a group of six before hiking the Chilkoot Trail. I chose it as they will feed you and drive you to the trail head in the morning. Location is good to explore Skagway. The margaritas in the garden restaurant are fantastic.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Otherwise_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    62
    20
    5
    7
See reviews for
34
73
18
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I really really enjoyed staying at the Historic Skagway Inn. My only regret is that we did not stay more than one night! This inn used to be a brothel and it's just brimming with history. The owners are incredibly nice (made no fuss about accommodating us after I messed up the reservation) and there is an adjoining restaurant that uses vegetables from the Inn's own garden. We stayed in the Ida room, which had 2 twin beds and a shared bathroom down the hall. Everything was very clean. My only beef was that there was no shampoo or conditioner (there was a big bottle of shower gel in the shower) so I had to go buy some at the IGA. If you are looking for a place to stay in Skagway I'd highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreyaAriane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eaton, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

This old B & B was originally a brothel and now the rooms are named after the ladies that worked in them. We stayed in Hattie's room. Everything was well decorated, clean, and neat but showing a little wear. The inn is in a good location--at the far end of the main street from the cruise ship docks and railroad depot but close enough to walk to anywhere in town. Breakfast was good and customer service was excellent. From the first phone call to the free shuttle to and from the ferry dock, everyone was helpful and efficient. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

We were lucky to find a last minute availability at the Skagway Inn. Its historic feel, central location, and great food help make the most of our quick trip to Skagway. I would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Alice was great if you like being able to watch all the action on the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NDW-Missoula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

This was my second stay at this inn. The location is great - towards the end of the main street in Skagway. They will pick you up from the ferry or airport. Breakfast was a set menu but very good and enough choices to please most. The rooms are cute. I stayed in Alice which has a lovely enclosed porch that looks out over the main street. There's even a bed on the porch if you wanted to sleep outside. The two twins are a trundle bed, so if you used them both there wouldn't be a lot of space left in the room, but if you don't the room is very spacious and nice. The bathroom is a bit small, but it works. The inn is very quiet. I thought I might hear everything my neighboor said and did in and old house like that but never heard a thing. Free wifi was hit or miss in my room but when I mentioned I couldn't connect one morning they quickly checked into it and found it needed to be reset. Seemed to be able to connect downstairs without problem. There is no TV in the room - just a clock radio. Only place to hang anything up is on the coat stand, the closet has no hanging bar. Was able to borrow and iron and ironing board.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thirty1flvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kindersley, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed overnight in Skagway prior to catching the ferry south, and the Skagway Inn was intriguing. The place shows its age but is clean and well maintained. The authenticity of its past was borne out when we got to listen to a tour guide outside our window describing the prostitution activities in Gold Rush Skagway. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: The shared bathroom was not an issue, and certainly allowed us to save a lot of money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimBug_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Having never stayed in a B & B before, I wasn't sure what to expect esp concerning a shared shower room. After my first stay several years ago, I find myself coming back every summer to stay in Birdie's Room and loving it! I feel surrounded in my room but Birdie's presence.....
The breakfast included was oh so good esp when it was French Toast day very decadent! The restaurant and bar area has great food, with organic vegis grown right out back and good wines. Always have fun with the other travellers and locals. Karl and Rosemary and their family and staff are great definately a must for those heading to Skagway!

Room Tip: just choose your lady of the nite's room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LIN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.2 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
216 reviews
16.5 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
131 reviews
15.9 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
16.6 mi away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Historic Skagway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Historic Skagway Inn

Property: Historic Skagway Inn
Address: 655 Broadway, Seventh & Broadway, Skagway, AK 99840
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Historic Skagway Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1897 during height of the Klondike Gold Rush. First operated as a brothel, now family oriented country inn. Ten guest rooms, each different range from queen bed private bath to 2-twin beds with on hallway shared bath. Each stay includes a full hot breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Historic Skagway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing