We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Away From Home”

Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had an absolutely wonderful stay at Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast! I came to town with my sister's family and her friend for my dad's wedding very recently. Our stay was for about a week and Tara and her family took such good care of us. Everyone was very warm and friendly, our rooms were spacious, with very comfortable beds.

The continental breakfast was wonderful to wake up to in the morning including a varied choice of fuits, homemade baked goods, cereal etc...Did I mention Tara really did treat us like family.

The location is perfect to be able to walk to the stores, restaurants, and bars. I highly recommend staying at Mile Zero if you find yourself staying in the town of Skagway!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carlee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    23
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
16
34
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you're the literal type, Mile Zero isn't actually a Bed & Breakfast. Purpose-built as an inn about 16 years ago, the rooms at Mile Zero each have their own bathrooms, TVs, and private entrances, and the breakfast is a serve-yourself style continental breakfast. The only thing that makes it feel like a B&B is the entry. You walk in the front door into a living room area; there is no front desk per se. But from then on the experience is more private than the typical B&B. The service is friendly and the room I was in was spacious, bright, and comfortable. Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jjnboise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The room was clean and I enjoyed the recliner but we had hardly any hot water. When I told the host the first thing he said was "well I'm not a plumber" Really!! It was very chilly weather and I did not like not having hot water. I also didn't like not having kitchen priviledges. We could use a microwave and refrigerator out on the porch! The buffet breakfast is all cold food. I have never stayed in a B&B that didn't have a hot breakfast. I would not stay here again. The hosts seemed very unconcerned over the basic necessities. I do not usually give bad reviews but I expect hot water at a B&B or any hotel in which we stay.t

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Our group of two fathers with their sons stayed here for two nights, Aug 1 & 2nd. The local proprietor is both welcoming and helpful and we had several fun talks with her. Our room, Atlin, was perfect for our sized group with two large beds, spacious room size with both large flatscreen tv for Olympic viewing--when we were there. If you want to cut your own local caught fish, there is a refrigerator and barbecue for guests to use.

The breakfasts make getting up easier with hot coffee, juices, home baked muffins and breads. As a staging area, the location was ideal--off the noisy central streets of State and Broadway. It was quiet there. Still, in a less than 5 minutes walk, you can be with thousands of other travelers--perusing Broadway with its multitude of shops and historic buildings.

I have stayed here twice and know Skagway well. There are few places of similar quality. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snydersonthego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
466 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

I'm not sure why this is ranked so low on TripAdvisor because we had a great experience here. The service was great, the place was nice and the hosts were extremely friendly. We really enjoyed the continental breakfast B&B style they served. There were plenty of good choices to eat. The place is a little off the main drag, but when the town is only 10 blocks long and 4 block wide how far away can you really be? We plan on returning to Skagway in the next year or two to hike the Chilkoot Trail and if wee need to overnight we'll definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheSpeis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2012

A house converted into several large bedrooms, comfortably furnished. A few blocks from "downtown" Skagway, 9 blocks from ferry and cruise docks and White Pass and Yukon RR.
Breakfast is basic. Owner, Tara, is extremely helpful. Recommended.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outsider33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
96 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

There are very few places to stay in Skagway so choice is limited. The MIle Zero B&B is in a pretty good location, a couple of roads back from the main street and we had a view of the mountains from the verandah around the house outside our room. The room was very big with a small en-suite and you can use the french doors on to the verandah as an entrance to avoid going through the house. But, the room felt very basic with cheap bed linen and towels, vertical blinds on the french doors and rather worn mismatched furniture. The room was not especially clean and the drawers in the chest were broken and very dusty. The room had a TV and a hairdryer. Breakfast is help yourself in the family kitchen and was somewhat chaotic when we were there as there were not enough chairs at the table for all the guests and family members took their breakfast at the same time. One night was disturbed by the sounds of noisy plumbing - discovered the next evening to be the garden sprinkler that had been left on overnight. Tara is a welcoming host but this was not the best B&B experience

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Retmanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.4 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
16.7 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
16.5 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
16.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
0.2 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#3 of 5 in Skagway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast
Address: 901 Main St., Skagway, AK 99840
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Mile Zero Bed and Breakfast 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mile Zero was planned, designed, and built to be a B&B. It incorporates all the most desirable features and amenities of motel/hotel with the comfort of home. Mile Zero features mountian views, private baths, queen beds, separate entrances, centrally location, sound proofing, handicap access, Wi-fi, breakfast buffet, flat screen tv, ihomes, and local hosts. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing