We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Skagway Classic”
Review of Sweet Tooth Cafe

Sweet Tooth Cafe
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Skagway, Alaska
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A Skagway Classic”
Reviewed August 15, 2012

The Sweet Tooth Cafe is a long-time Skagway landmark, right on Broadway near 3rd, and one of the few year-around restaurants here. Expect to find eating out a bit more expensive in Alaska than elsewhere, obviously, but you can still get good basic food at a reasonable price. The 'Tooth,' as the locals call it, features their own homemade bread (best toast EVER), hand-cut french fries with the skins on, and the best fountain Coke I've had anywhere. Their specialties are the halibut burger, Reuben sandwich, patty melt and chicken sandwich. Daily specials. Caesar salad. Good soups. Milkshakes, doughnuts, etc. Open for breakfast and lunch only. Really packed on the busy cruise ship days.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank jeepingjeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    76
    32
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Skagway, Alaska
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Saturday Must”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

As a group of locals, we eat here every Saturday morning and we love it. The staff is attentive, fun, and always have something to add to the conversation. We have eaten here now for over 3 years, every single Saturday and we love it. It's like coming home every week. We love it. The food is great and we are never disappointed. The owner is a hoot.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Local99840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Eat where the locals eat.”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Want a delicious and filling breakfast in one of the few restaurants that stays open year round and has been in operation for years? The breakfast was so good, I went back twice. Great hash browns, eggs over medium, bacon. Delicious. Pancakes are very big--even the short stack was too much for one person. Service is excellent and staff very friendly. Felt good to be in a cafe that catered to the local regulars and wasn't inundated by cruise passengers.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JanSUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good place for breakfast”
Reviewed July 18, 2012

It seems most of the town sleeps late. This may be the only place to get breakfast before 10:00!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MichiganCindie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wenatchee, Washington
Level Contributor
114 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Highly recommended Cafe”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

The food was fine and the service good. It serves well for a luncheon spot.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank T P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sweet Tooth Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Sweet Tooth Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing