We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small, but lots of info! Great for your friends who hate museums” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Corrington's Museum of Alaskan History

Corrington's Museum of Alaskan History
Ranked #32 of 59 things to do in Skagway
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Combination museum/gift shop contains detailed account of Alaska's history.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
76 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Small, but lots of info! Great for your friends who hate museums”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

...Not a whole lot to say about this place, and that's not necessarily a bad thing. I learned a lot of Alaskan history within two and a half small rooms- a lot of it information I didn't get anywhere else. There were displays about Native myths, and details about how they carved and weaved many of their cultural items (most of which you can purchase in the much-larger store portion of the building). One neat thing was a talking mannequin that was supposed to be Captain James Waddell. He told the story of how the final shots of the Civil War were actually fired in what we now know as Alaska. THAT is an interesting fact I didn't know about and even though he looked a little worn and dumpy, I was impressed they even had that level of display to begin with...read more at my blog: www.fiftystates5years.blogspot.com

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank 50states5years
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Georgia
Level Contributor
237 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful store!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

While on an Alaskan Cruise recently I saw an article in an onboard magazine about Corrington's. I was intrigued with the history of the store and the combination store/museum aspect.
I was pleasantly surprised with the wonderful quality of the items on display and the outstanding merchandise for sale! I had wanted to bring home a piece of authentic Alaskan jewelry and I purchased it here. I chose a lovely pendant composed of silver, fossil ivory and alaskan turquoise. I love it and am glad to have something handmade in Alaska. Dennis and his wife were both lovely to talk with and shared their wealth of knowledge.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bookwoman44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“very unique”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

museum area was under renovation, but store was amazing - so much intricacy in the carvings! true Alaskan craftsmanship. very knowledgable staff. other stores sell similar items, but corringtons goes a step above with the museum. right in town on main street with all the shops

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank kris0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Ms
Level Contributor
42 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good historical museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Conveniently located on Broadway, this small museum is packed with historical artifacts and relevant storyboards. Very enjoyable. No fee for admission.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gwyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
118 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great quick to see in the midst of tshirt shops!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

This is a small museum attached to a gift shop with nicer than average goods. It is nice and quick to see the photos and ivories. Very nice that it is FREE.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank krykie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corrington's Museum of Alaskan History also viewed

 

Been to Corrington's Museum of Alaskan History? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing