We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chilkoot Trail Outpost
Nearby Hotels
$149
$145
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$165
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Beach Roadhouse(Haines)(Great Value!)
$145
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (315)
Filter reviews
315 results
Traveler rating
287
17
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
287
17
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalmonsteakpancakeschilkoot trailsurf and turffire pitgreat hostsskagway areacoleslawplace to staygravel roadhamlog cabinher husbandscenic driveother gueststhis wonderful place
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 315 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

My husband wasn't really looking forward to the horseback ride that I had booked in Skagway Alaska but now he can't wait to do a repeat!! Kara and Danielle made it interesting and safe for all!! We highly recommend this when you are in Skagway!!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Stevie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

This is truly a mountain gem. I booked this for my wife and I and was a little afraid because she's used to upscale hotels and is super picky... she LOVED IT !
Everything about this place is great - but most of all Fred and Kathy the gracious hosts.

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 65ertagalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
406
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Alaska and the chilkoot trail outpost was the by far the best lodging we had! In addition the hosts Fred and Kathy are the nicest people with a lot of great tips and recommendations. I can't wait to go back next year. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. This is luxe cabin living!

Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Fred and Kathy were fantastic hosts! Kathy has a great sense of humor, and besides being great company, she has great tips for getting the most out of your visit in the area. Make sure to talk to her for tips along with some fascinating history of the area.

The lodge is located approximately 20 minutes outside of Skagway near the old townsite of Dyea, making for a very peaceful stay away from the chaos of the cruise ship passengers in town. The cabin was cozy and the food was quite good. With advance notice, you can have a delicious salmon dinner in the dining hall, an offer which I took and by no means regretted!

In short, I'm looking forward to my next stay here!

Room Tip: If the cabins are fully booked, hope is not lost! Ask if the overflow rooms in the conference center are available.
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Awesome cabins...clean and modern...new and up to date...great breakfast included...supper is available if mentioned ahead of time with owner/host Cathy....an absolute gem in the woods..just 7 miles outside of Skagway...in Dyea...worth the very scenic drive...do not pass this up....at the start of the Chilkoot trail.....
Owners very hospitable and helpful..
Activities can be arranged here....Whitepass train...Fjord express boat to Juneau..
Would definitely recommend this wonderful place...

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Nell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews