We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveler rating
298
19
9
2
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
298
19
9
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews salmon steak pancakes chilkoot trail skagway area great hosts coleslaw place to stay camp fire her husband scenic drive log cabin s mores hearty breakfast awesome place hot shower great dinner
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 328 reviews
Reviewed September 18, 2017 via mobile

My husband wasn't really looking forward to the horseback ride that I had booked in Skagway Alaska but now he can't wait to do a repeat!! Kara and Danielle made it interesting and safe for all!! We highly recommend this when you are in Skagway!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 921steviey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

This is truly a mountain gem. I booked this for my wife and I and was a little afraid because she's used to upscale hotels and is super picky... she LOVED IT !
Everything about this place is great - but most of all Fred and Kathy the gracious hosts.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 65ertagalong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2017 via mobile

This was our first trip to Alaska and the chilkoot trail outpost was the by far the best lodging we had! In addition the hosts Fred and Kathy are the nicest people with a lot of great tips and recommendations. I can't wait to go back next year. The rooms are clean, spacious and very comfortable. This is luxe cabin living!

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Daydream135560
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Fred and Kathy were fantastic hosts! Kathy has a great sense of humor, and besides being great company, she has great tips for getting the most out of your visit in the area. Make sure to talk to her for tips along with some fascinating history of the area.

The lodge is located approximately 20 minutes outside of Skagway near the old townsite of Dyea, making for a very peaceful stay away from the chaos of the cruise ship passengers in town. The cabin was cozy and the food was quite good. With advance notice, you can have a delicious salmon dinner in the dining hall, an offer which I took and by no means regretted!

In short, I'm looking forward to my next stay here!

Room tip: If the cabins are fully booked, hope is not lost! Ask if the overflow rooms in the conference center are available.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2017 via mobile

Awesome cabins...clean and modern...new and up to date...great breakfast included...supper is available if mentioned ahead of time with owner/host Cathy....an absolute gem in the woods..just 7 miles outside of Skagway...in Dyea...worth the very scenic drive...do not pass this up....at the start of the Chilkoot trail.....
Owners very hospitable and helpful..
Activities can be arranged here....Whitepass train...Fjord express boat to Juneau..
Would definitely recommend this wonderful place...

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Nell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews