We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Home away from Home”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilkoot Trail Outpost
Ranked #1 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Fred and Cathy are the best host and hostess of Skagway/Dyea Alaska. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay with exceptional service. What an experience!! A must see on your next Road Trip! The breakfasts that we had were exceptional. Dinners were delicious....We'll have to come back for s'more.......

Room Tip: All cabins are out in the wilderness, very quiet, comfy, just like home!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RedHatCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (312)
There are newer reviews for Chilkoot Trail Outpost
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

133 - 139 of 312 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

I wish that we would have found this place earlier...wonderful location and scenetic and a great history to the area. We did stay in Skagway in a very lovely B&B but our interest was a cabin in the woods and we just found this one on our last day. We would of defenetly stayed for the whole duration of our stay in Skagway. The cabins are cozy and clean and you can tell that a lot of thought went into every detail. The main lodge is just as nice. The hosts were wonderful and very accomidating and approachable. If you require anything, I am sure they will try their best to help you out. There is a BBQ for your use or if you would like the surf and turf, they will prepare for you. Good food and a wonderful breakfast to start your day off right. They are open unil October 2 so hurry and make arrangements to visit this wonderful hideway. Time is running out!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Monique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Kathy and Fred were wonderful hosts and Chilkoot Trail Outpost is definitely the place to go when you are going to Skagway. There were 4 cruise ships in town and it was a zoo. 7 miles out at the foot of the Chilkoot Trail you are in a different world. We had a delightful cabin and delicious breakfasts. Saw a grizzly bear fishing in the river nearby and wandered through the Dyea ruins. The history of Dyea is simply mind boggling. Kathy knew more of the history than we could find at the museum in Skagway. We did not hike the Chilkoot Trail since we are far to old for that, but the history of those who did will never be forgotten.

Room Tip: I suspect they are all good. We had cabin #6 and it was great.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mr_Del
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

A most enjoyable retreat lodge just outside Skagway in a most historical part of the country! Owned and operated by a couple who definitely 'go the extra mile' to accommodate!
Excellent location away from the mega cruise boat 'tourists', quiet, clean and comfortable cabins - small and large - depending upon requirement, a filling breakfast and an evening meal if you do not want to drive to the town.
Picturesque drive to the area not to be missed and enjoyable rain or shine!

Room Tip: All cabins are comfortable but a double queen provides a little extra space :)
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The site is serene, pristine and with separate cabins that are roomy and spotless. The hosts are welcoming and offer a wonderful spread for breakfast and dinner. There is also a large barbecue pit for S'mores! It was a real Alaskan experience.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mary Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This is certainly the best place to stay if you are around Skagway. I came here with several friends and all of us were really happy here. I also would like to thank Kathy for her great service. I also greatly apreciete her flexibility and helpfulnnes especially giving us a "special" deal for larger group. If I will be ever around, I would definitelly stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in one of the deluxe cabins in this beautiful peaceful setting about 7 miles out of Skagway. Our little cabin was immaculate and very comfortable. What really sets this place above many others is the hospitality of the hosts. Kathy did so many things for us: arranging a rental car to be left waiting for us in the airport parking lot, getting us on a sold out ferry to Haines, cooking breakfast at a ridiculously early hour when we had to catch another early ferry (and would have been happy with a cold bagel!) She and Fred are such lovely people. This was one of my favorite places in a 3 week trip to Alaska. I would love to come back and stay longer.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zingerinBonn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
3.8 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
227 reviews
19.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
137 reviews
3.6 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#3 of 5 in Skagway
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
19.1 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
19.0 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilkoot Trail Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilkoot Trail Outpost

Address: 7 Mile Dyea Road, Skagway, AK 99840
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range: $145 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Chilkoot Trail, your local Outpost hosts, the Hosford family, pledge a one of-a-kind Alaskan experience in lodging. We will be happy to assist you in planning your stay to maximize you visit. Enjoy the beautiful landscape where the ocean meets the river surrounded by snow-capped mountains. Distinguished in Alaska Business magazine, the Outpost was named among the top 15 high-end accommodations Alaska Style. Comforts include a hearty full Alaskan breakfast, cooking gazebo, bicycles, s'mores by the campfire, wi/fi, satellite TV, in-room coffee/treats, microwave, fridge and private baths. New in 2012, 1800 Sq Ft Retreat and Convention Center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing