We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend Chilkoot trail outpost”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilkoot Trail Outpost
Ranked #1 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Recommend Chilkoot trail outpost”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Highly recommend the cabins at Chilkoot trail outpost. We stayed there 3 weeks ago and the owners Fred and Cathie could not have been more helpful or friendly. The cabins are comfortable, warm, cosy and in a wonderful location near the Chilkoot Trail and Lynne Inlet. Would stay there again.

Pauline jeffery

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Pauline J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    271
    17
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
102
110
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Central Florida
Level 6 Contributor
239 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

We just finished a stay at the Chilkoot Outpost and only knew about it via Tripadvisor. I feel compelled to detail some things I believe people should know before making a decision.

POSITIVES: Nice surroundings. Back to nature with large evergreen trees throughout the property. More secluded and away from the tourist crowds in Skagway. Close to the Chilkoot Trail. Before you read the negatives below, I have to say that the hosts are genuinely nice and kind people. The city of Dyea is in their heart and soul and you can tell not only from what they say but how they act.

NEGATIVES:
* Nothing going on in Dyea. This historic town does not have one restaurant or place to visit. The old city is gone and they advertise a historic walk which is through a flat grass plane in the valley (oh yeah and a grave site).

* Mosquitoes everywhere. We visited in late June and early July and it was so bad you had to run into your cabin door and close it quick in order to not be followed by the critters. Plan on bringing heavy duty mosquito repellent and wearing it any time you are around their outpost or anywhere in Dyea for that matter. In comparison the 4 times we went into Skagway we were not impacted at all by mosquitoes. If I knew this I honestly would of booked a place in Skagway.

* Accommodations: We were in Cabin # 1 and it claimed a separate room with a door. This is technically true but everyone must know the wall stops halfway up and the entire ceiling portion is exposed to the other room. Therefore if you have kids or a party of 4 and the whole idea of spending more to get an extra room appeals to you then this place does not have that to offer.

* Breakfast: She makes it pretty clear that breakfast is between 7:30-8:30am and even went so far as to ask us the specific time we wanted to come eat. She made comments about people all showing up at one time and making it hard on them (I had to laugh inside because if you offer a one hour window for service and everyone normally takes 30 minutes to eat you are the one causing everyone to show up at one time). More importantly the breakfast is simply edible and no more. Scrambled eggs/ham/cheese was made the night before and she microwaves it to warm it up. Gotta’ love rubbery eggs in the morning. Limited “other” items placed on a table with plastic wrap covering them. Coffee is bad and if you do not come in by 8am it has been sitting out for a while and is cold too.

* High Speed Internet Access: The marketing says it on their website and the confirmation email. IT IS 100% false. First off there is no wireless access in any of the rooms and the only place to get it (some times) is near their front office. That is their home and you feel weird even going to it. We where there the first night trying to plan our next day and she let us know that she pays for the internet by the mega-bite of usage so she really does not want people to use it. Some teenage boy came in (boy from another family staying at the resort) and she pointed him out and said he was using the internet too much. She then realized that she must have been coming across as rude and tried to tell me that past generation of kids did not even have internet and electronics. I find all of this ironic since the only reason anyone knows about her place is because of the internet/tripadvisor and she obviously knows how important it is because they list tripadvisor on their website and seem to monitor it all the time (notice the review below that simply tries to bring up the fact the resort does not have the view of the Lynn Canal it claims on their website). So as I/we were struggling to use their very limited and low strength wifi to make plans, She would come in and glance at us every few minutes while we were on the internet. It was a very weird experience. I/we would of gone outside if the mosquitoes were not invading the resort and/or if internet was available in the rooms. The speed of the internet was always horrible and everyone we spoke to said the same thing. I had to convert my email back to basic html just to be able to pull up anything and try to respond to basic emails. For the 3 days/2 nights we were there, I could not get on even one regular web page.

The bottom line is I wish places would be properly marketed and if they need people to help them pay for things they advertise like the internet then market it that way and we will gladly give her money for usage. I would still recommend this place but people need to know the internet access is horrible to non-existent, the breakfast is only worth going to because you are 20 minutes from Skagway and there is ZERO restaurants or other things going on in Dyea, the rooms are not divided and finally the mosquitoes will eat you alive unless you want to constantly be coated in bug spray.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank G8RED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We loved the log cabins sitting on the deck enjoying the silence except for the sound of the river in the background. Our hosts were very attentive and we enjoyed the Yukon hospitality offered. It is very close to the dyea historic sites and was a beautiful area.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tdstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chalfont, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Hosts Fred and Kathy made our four night stay a real pleasure. The lodge and cabins were clean and well appointed. Their rustic atmosphere blends well with the Alaskan wilderness. Overall an exceptional experience!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann and Chip B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
1 review
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Upon arriving at the Chilkoot Trail Outpost, we’d already heard about, and figured we could make some pretty good s'mores. But making Great Friends was the best part of our stay! Fred and Kathy Hosford immediately welcomed us, and treated us like family. We feel so blessed to know them, and you should too!! Fred will tell you all about the railroad he worked on, and take you down a walk thru Dyea/Skagway history. Kathy will smile and put you at ease while she mixes you up a “Sunrise” drink. And you can flip thru photo albums of the history of their gorgeous little slice of Dyea, Alaska. The cabin was precious and just what we were expecting, and hoping for. All the accommodations were outstanding and were made all the more special and memorable by the generous hospitality of Fred and Kathy. Do Not Miss the Chilkoot Trail Outpost!! Nothing even comes close!

Room Tip: Next time, I’ll ask to stay at Moe's Frontier Bar! (Fred will elaborate)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael98038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We booked two nights based on the reviews, and were pleased with the first night in two double beds (although there was no water pressure in the shower so we filled the ice bucket to rinse off). The cabin was clean and beds comfortable. Because we were late in booking we were prepared to move to another cabin for the second night as the two doubles were not available. What was disappointing was that the “hiker suite” for the 2nd night turned out to be bunk beds. This should really be stated clearly. Even after searching through the website and talking to the desk on the phone, I was anticipating a loft-like arrangement, not a bunk. We took our business elsewhere for the 2nd night.

Secondly, the promised “refrigerator” in the room was an electric cooler on the floor.

Finally, the website states “…our guests enjoy the most beautiful panoramic views of Face Mountain, Long Bay and the ocean water of the Lynn Fjord…”. As a guest, one cannot view the ocean waters if at the property although it is implied if you write this on your marketing materials.

These are all examples of misleading information, even if slightly so, and a source of disappointment upon arrival. We travel often and spend much time online to find the best accommodations for our needs. Although the Chilkoot is using language common to the hotel industry, they are not completely providing what is promised; all we ask is transparency to know what we are getting.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aklady1, Owner at Chilkoot Trail Outpost, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to respond. We are very sorry that you found your stay compromised. Our description on our website is to the best of our ability and if there is any question, our potential guests usually ask. The town of Skagway was full the weekend of your visit and your request came 2 days before your arrival. At the time of your request, we had availability in an open floor deluxe cabin with queen beds. You opted to take the Hiker's Suite because of the reduced rate. Upon your arrival and inspecting the small suite, you requested an upgrade to a full cabin. We had the upgrade available with two queen beds for only one night. Our normal cancelation policy is 7 days in advance. We allowed you to cancel for your second night without penalty as you were able to find a vacancy in town. We do hope the remainder of your visit was great.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Fred and Kathy went out of their way to assure that we had a 5 star stay. Fred even met our 3:45 AM ferry and made fresh coffee. Hospitality just does not get any better! The cabins were wonderful; fresh, clean and comfortable. A great place to stay that we would not hesitate to recommend. Thanks Kathy for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: As the cabins are slightly out of town and away from the cruise ship flocks you will need transporat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PamelaJCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
2.9 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
206 reviews
18.7 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
123 reviews
2.8 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
18.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilkoot Trail Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilkoot Trail Outpost

Property: Chilkoot Trail Outpost
Address: 7 Mile Dyea Road, Skagway, AK 99840
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Chilkoot Trail, your local Outpost hosts, the Hosford family, pledge a one of-a-kind Alaskan experience in lodging. We will be happy to assist you in planning your stay to maximize you visit. Enjoy the beautiful landscape where the ocean meets the river surrounded by snow-capped mountains. Distinguished in Alaska Business magazine, the Outpost was named among the top 15 high-end accommodations Alaska Style. Comforts include a hearty full Alaskan breakfast, cooking gazebo, bicycles, s'mores by the campfire, wi/fi, satellite TV, in-room coffee/treats, microwave, fridge and private baths. New in 2012, 1800 Sq Ft Retreat and Convention Center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing