We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chilkoot Trail Outpost

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chilkoot Trail Outpost
Ranked #1 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

The setting is beautiful, the cabins great. Even the seven mile trip from Skagway was great. We opted for the "basket supper" one night. This was a cook it yourself type meal. They give you a baske twitch all you need and they have a very clean efficient Bar-b-que hut to cook it in. I had the steak and halibut and my wife had the steak and salmon. All we had to do is follow the step by step instructions and it came out perfect.

The cabins are large and well equipped and the whole site is kept very clean.

Fred and Kathy made us feel at home.

You will not be disappointed!

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    17
    9
    2
    0
See reviews for
97
106
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

We arrived in Dyea on a cool, wet afternoon and couldn't have received a more warm welcome from Kathy. The pride of ownership in her business is evident. From the cabins to the grounds, the place is spotless and gleaming. We had been on the road without a place to do laundry for a number of days and Kathy went out of her way to help us get that resolved. When we couldn't find a post box nearby, she quickly volunteered to drop our postcards the next time she took a trip into Skagway (after getting overrun by cruise passengers during our visit the first day, we decided to steer clear for the rest of our stay). She was full of useful information about the area and is clearly a strong advocate for Dyea's history. Breakfast was always delicious and the cookhouse made a perfect place for us to prepare our dinners (again, allowing us to avoid having to go into Skagway!). We will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fraspear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This is a great place to stay in the region. It is comfortable, clean, in a beautiful setting very close to the Chilkoot Trail. There are small trails and interesting places to visit nearby. Kathy and Fred are terrific hosts and make one feel at home.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

After the first visit in 2010, we just had to come back for more! We were not disappointed, Kathy continues to give 110% in looking after her guests - a minor booking quibble with a third-party was efficiently dealt with by Kathy on our behalf - she really does take care of her guests.

This place is ideal to escape the cruise-ship hoards in Skagway, do your usual walkabout in town, and then when you've had enough of the thousands of tourists, drive off to the quiet calm rural sanctuary 7 miles away.

We had the salmon, steak and chicken, seasoned and plain with the delicious home-made coleslaw - they were delicious and cooked just right. A welcome change from the usual fried fish and steak stuff we've had on the way up to Skagway.

We did the nearby Dyea zipline on her recommendation, and thoroughly enjoyed it - it was very convenient to be picked up and dropped off right outside your cabin, though it is really is only a short 5-10mins ride away.

The hosts are born and bred in SEAlaska, Fred is a Dyea native and their local knowledge is outstanding, on topics about the nearby Chilkoot Trail, Dyea history and local wildlife.

Hope to be back again one day for more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KyleSterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay. We stayed for two days and easily could have stayed for more. Fred and Kathy were wonderful hosts and run a great place. Clean, cozy, well maintained, great breakfasts....I could go on. We celebrated our 25th wedding anniversary over an open fire with s'mores after a lovely dinner in Skagway.

If staying in Skagway, stay here and not in town. The location in Dyea is beautiful and has loads of spectacular scenery, hiking and walking opportunities.

Thanks so much, we will be back.

Room Tip: If you want a treat, stay in the wilderness cabin. It looked wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CVC0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came back to Skagway area and stayed another week at Chilcoot Trail Outpost. Kathy takes care of EVERYTHING: car rental, plane reservations, special steam train tickets-- you name it, she knows who does it, has it, sells it or rents it in the whole area.

Breakfasts were generous and great. Campfire at night was special treat meeting travellers from all around US, Canada and the WORLD.

I had business in Skagway, drove in each morning, no problem. My wife enjoyed all the local sights, shops, hiking and people she met. MUCH better than staying in "hotel" or any other place in Skagway. This place let's you actually BE in Alaska, but is close enough to Skagway and its tourist world that you can enjoy as much (or as little) of that part of Alaska as you want, while living in the Great Outdoor Beauty of the Alaska you came to see.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BilltheLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

Amazing location and great service!

Cathy got up at 6am to make sure we had our breakfast before heading out on our chartered fishing trip. Thanks Cathy!

Would recomend to anybody.... Location, location location.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patcat9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
2.9 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
18.7 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
18.6 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
18.2 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chilkoot Trail Outpost? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chilkoot Trail Outpost

Property: Chilkoot Trail Outpost
Address: 7 Mile Dyea Road, Skagway, AK 99840
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the famous Chilkoot Trail, your local Outpost hosts, the Hosford family, pledge a one of-a-kind Alaskan experience in lodging. We will be happy to assist you in planning your stay to maximize you visit. Enjoy the beautiful landscape where the ocean meets the river surrounded by snow-capped mountains. Distinguished in Alaska Business magazine, the Outpost was named among the top 15 high-end accommodations Alaska Style. Comforts include a hearty full Alaskan breakfast, cooking gazebo, bicycles, s'mores by the campfire, wi/fi, satellite TV, in-room coffee/treats, microwave, fridge and private baths. New in 2012, 1800 Sq Ft Retreat and Convention Center. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing