We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sgt. Preston's Lodge
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Skagway
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (179)
Filter reviews
179 results
Traveler rating
54
79
34
8
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
54
79
34
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsin townlarge roomfridge and microwavedvd playerground floorferry terminalfree shuttlewalking distance to everythingcomfortable bedmotel stylecotton budsfriend's housenight's sleepstone's throwtv showclean roomsmain street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 179 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2008

Now remember what town we're talking about. Skagway sees close to 1 million tourists from May through September. Then the town shrinks to maintenance mode: only a few hundred hard core residents stick around for the other 8 months. Given that situation, one might expect a hotel to turn its rooms over at the rate McDonalds turns tables.

Sgt. Preston's, mercifully, does not try to. It is relaxed. The lobby is quaint. The staff are colorful and friendly locals. The rooms are clean, most being freshly painted. It is centrally located (though how could it not be in a town covering 20 blocks!). I got a very good price just by calling them.

Sgt. Preston's is funkier than a Marriot Courtyard, for sure. But since you're going this far into the wilds, you should consider your stay as a pleasant adventure typical of the neighborhood. I enjoyed it as such. And I much prefer it to the competition, particularly since there is only one other hotel in town to choose!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Cheechako2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2008

An excellent room at a great price. If you can stand some clutter in the lobby and a bit of a homey atmosphere, this is super. The rooms are not spectacular, but they are clean, spacious and comfortable. The location is perfect for Skagway and the people are very nice.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kerryogorman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2008

Supoer value!

Large room. Excellent towells. Very clean. Comfortable bed. Nice people. Conveniently located. Intrernet in lobby. Everything perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank dbigfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2007

What a surprise! From the outside, the hotel looked a bit old and tired but the newly remodeled rooms were great -- lots of room, large TV, skylight in the bathroom, plush carpet, comfortable bed, blackout curtains to keep out the midnight sun, lots of towels. . Due to illness we were running late but when we called them, they told us not to worry. They waited up for us past 10:30 (the office closes at 9pm).

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Akoperagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in July 2006, and was pleasantly surprised. Our room was huge--lots of space and a very large bathroom. Our room was very recently remodelled and was very clean and quiet. The location is right in town, walking distance to the shops, etc. Free internet is available in the hotel office, and there is free parking outside. The room was a bit pricey ($135 for a double) but we felt safe and comfortable.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews