We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sgt. Preston's Lodge”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sgt. Preston's Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
Mansfield, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Sgt. Preston's Lodge”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent two nights in Skagway at Sgt. Preston's Lodge. Our room was lovely. It is obvious that the owners take great pride in their establishment. transportation was provided to and from the airport and the ferry. We were able to store our luggage until time for our departure. The owners also provided information regarding Skagway that only a local could provide. There is no wifi but that was true of most of Skagway. the owners have provided Internet in the lobby. Our stay was very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tzehe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    73
    33
    7
    4
See reviews for
33
61
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Stayed in small deluxe room. Comfortable, but no air conditioning. Friendly staff. An easy walk to main street, numerous restaurants and railroad station. Courtesy shuttle to/from the Alaska ferry terminal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank The_walkers21209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2013

While it was conveniently located, the room was not what we had expected to see compared to the motel's website. Disappointed but we were only there one night. Our room faced the common patio and, with the windows open for air, we ended up getting all the cigarette smoke coming into our room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank travelingmom-dad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granger, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed two nights. Our room was decent size and the beds were comfortable. The hotel was very conveniently located just a few steps from Skagway's main street. We felt it was an average hotel and the price was reasonable. Our complaint is that the room did not have air conditioning and our first day there was probably the hottest day of the year. There was a fan in the room but it really couldn't handle the extreme temperature. A small window unit would have been wonderful. There is no wifi in the room and that was a big disappointment.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ann K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phillip Island, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed overnight in a standard delux room.Very clean and comfortable,excellent value ,easy walking distance to Main St in Skagway.Staff great,free shuttle to and from ferry or train.It was no problem to store our luggage for a short time.No wifi, but again still great value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicki551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

If we were not so tired from all of our adventures, I would have more to complain about, but in a pinch this place is fine. Skagway is small, so everything is centrally located.

The rooms are not particularly attractive, the staff was not friendly, and the 'free coffee' is horrible, but the rooms are clean, and the bed was comfortable (I like mine soft).

On the positive side, the room had a fridge and microwave, and about a dozen TV channels. No WIFI.

Room Tip: Don't bother paying for the delux room; the difference between the rooms is just a few feet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiniShepard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Pole, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The room was clean, tiny(I booked a small room for sleeping only, and that is what I got). The bathroom was as small as a 24ft travel trailer bathroom, but like I said it was clean. The staff were indifferent but not rude. The problem was the noise...you could actually hear the man in the room next to ours using the bathroom not just flushing either. We could understand the entire conversation he was having with someone in his room! YIKES! On another note a tour for the brothels started right outside our bathroom window so at least we had a history lesson while getting ready for our day! I guess the other upside was it was within walking distance to everything in town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.2 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
203 reviews
16.5 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
123 reviews
0.0 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
102 reviews
15.9 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
16.0 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sgt. Preston's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sgt. Preston's Lodge

Property: Sgt. Preston's Lodge
Address: 370 6th Avenue, Skagway, AK 99840
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Skagway
Number of rooms: 40
Also Known As:
Sgt Prestons Hotel
Sgt Prestons Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing