We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Excellent Trip

This is an excellent trip and much more than just a ride from Skagway to Juneau. Depending on the... read more

Reviewed March 11, 2020
YukonBri
,
Whitehorse, Canada
Beautiful Round Trip Boat Ride from Skagway to Juneau

On our way back from Alaska on the Alaskan Highway, our last stop was Skagway. From there we took... read more

Reviewed December 19, 2019
John L
,
Cleveland, Ohio
Read all 321 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Skagway
DIY Jeep Tour
23 Reviews
from $399.04
More Info
from $106.62
More Info
from $144.94
More Info
from $198.00
More Info
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
293
19
3
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
293
19
3
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews humpback whales mendenhall glacier chowder fjord express captain glen day trip downtown juneau deck hand whale watching ferry ride recommend this trip salmon hatchery wildlife viewing fast ferry stellar sea lions great trip marine life
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 321 reviews
Reviewed July 29, 2017

Both in Skagway and in Haines we heard the most glowing reports about the fjord cruise to Juneau. I was not impressed. The cruise is basically a 2 hour boat ride to the outskirts of Juneau, followed by a one hour bus ride into the city of Juneau. Why the boat doesn’t sail into Juneau is beyond me. I asked this at the ticket office and of the boat captain, and got double speak both times. My guess – the docking fees are higher in Juneau than way out in Yankee Cove. Once in Juneau you have 3 hours to explore the city, and then it is on to Mendenhall glacier for 1 hour. The boat ride back began by heading closer to Juneau in search of whales. Again, if they docked in Juneau, the chances of seeing whales is doubled. A delicious muffin is served for the continental breakfast, but the small bowl of smoked salmon chowder that was served on the return trip consisted of only corn and undercooked potatoes. When in Juneau, we went to Tracy’s King Cab Shack and had the most delicious crab bisque and crab cakes – that was the highlight of the cruise. This couple will not be repeat customers.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska F, Front Office Manager at Alaska Fjordlines, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hello,

Would you mind telling us what day you traveled with us? It will hopefully help shed light on why you were not pleased with your trip. We appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,

Alaska Fjordlines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

The boat trip to Juneau was onw of the highlights of the trip. There was an abundance of wildlife to see, especially in the morning. The crew was very friendly and informative. We had about three hours to tour Juneau once we arrived so prioritize the things you want to do as you will find it very crowded amid the cruise ship passengers there. The meals served on board were very good as well.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

We just completed our day cruise from Skagway to Juneau. The boat is small enough you are right there with the crew, and they were excellent -- very knowledgeable of the area and wildlife. We saw dall porpoises, a momma bear with two young, harbor seals, and even a breaching whale on the return trip. Time in Juneau is up to you then a stop at Mendenhall Glacier before catching the boat back to Skagway. Would highly recommend this adventure to anyone that wants an up close and personal cruise.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank allenkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

This day trip to Juneau via Haines/Skagway was the highlight of our vacation to AK! Captain Glen and crew were knowledgeable and excited about all we encountered that day-whales, sea lions, eagles, seals and porpoise to name a few of the beautiful things we saw that day.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank NorthStar535338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2017

The wildlife sightseeing on the boat was wonderful including a pod of orca whales. Time spent in Juneau was only enough time for souvenir shopping. Time allocated for Mendenhall Glacier was enough for the two shorter hikes. Food onboard the ship was delicious with generous portions !!! Ed the bus driver in Juneau was also professional and funny.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Rosalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews