We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exciting and informative day trip!”
Review of Alaska Fjordlines

Alaska Fjordlines
Ranked #21 of 52 Tours in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fjord Express to Juneau, A scenic all day cruise to Juneau from Haines and Skagway with whale watching on every trip. Skagway Whale Watching! We guarantee whales, sea lions, eagles and waterfalls on every round trip or you money back!
Reviewed August 1, 2017

We took the round trip cruise to Juneau from Haines, Alaska and enjoyed every minute of it. By boat the views were breath taking, the food enjoyable and the Captain very alert to chances of wildlife viewing. The bus driver, Whitney, was amazingly funny and knowledgeable. Both the Captain and Whitney were well able to keep us entertained and provided great information about the areas we were in.
We lucked out and were able to see a black bear fishing for salmon and then eating her dinner in the bushes near the glacier. On the way we saw humpback whales, bald eagles, porpoise and seals.
Over all a huge thumbs up for the Alaska Fjordlines!! Highly recommend booking a trip.

Date of experience: August 2017
1  Thank 3amigoswpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (280)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"humpback whales"
in 42 reviews
"mendenhall glacier"
in 67 reviews
"chowder"
in 20 reviews
"captain glen"
in 17 reviews
"day trip"
in 34 reviews
"fjord express"
in 14 reviews
"whale watching"
in 15 reviews
"continental breakfast"
in 8 reviews
"auke bay"
in 7 reviews
"deck hand"
in 7 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 19 reviews
"blueberry muffins"
in 4 reviews
"the bus"
in 34 reviews
"wildlife viewing"
in 9 reviews
"salmon hatchery"
in 4 reviews
"nugget falls"
in 3 reviews
"fast ferry"
in 8 reviews
Filter

41 - 45 of 280 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2017

Both in Skagway and in Haines we heard the most glowing reports about the fjord cruise to Juneau. I was not impressed. The cruise is basically a 2 hour boat ride to the outskirts of Juneau, followed by a one hour bus ride into the city of Juneau. Why the boat doesn’t sail into Juneau is beyond me. I asked this at the ticket office and of the boat captain, and got double speak both times. My guess – the docking fees are higher in Juneau than way out in Yankee Cove. Once in Juneau you have 3 hours to explore the city, and then it is on to Mendenhall glacier for 1 hour. The boat ride back began by heading closer to Juneau in search of whales. Again, if they docked in Juneau, the chances of seeing whales is doubled. A delicious muffin is served for the continental breakfast, but the small bowl of smoked salmon chowder that was served on the return trip consisted of only corn and undercooked potatoes. When in Juneau, we went to Tracy’s King Cab Shack and had the most delicious crab bisque and crab cakes – that was the highlight of the cruise. This couple will not be repeat customers.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank driftdiver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska F, Front Office Manager at Alaska Fjordlines, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2017

Hello,

Would you mind telling us what day you traveled with us? It will hopefully help shed light on why you were not pleased with your trip. We appreciate your feedback.

Thank you,

Alaska Fjordlines

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2017

The boat trip to Juneau was onw of the highlights of the trip. There was an abundance of wildlife to see, especially in the morning. The crew was very friendly and informative. We had about three hours to tour Juneau once we arrived so prioritize the things you want to do as you will find it very crowded amid the cruise ship passengers there. The meals served on board were very good as well.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2017

We just completed our day cruise from Skagway to Juneau. The boat is small enough you are right there with the crew, and they were excellent -- very knowledgeable of the area and wildlife. We saw dall porpoises, a momma bear with two young, harbor seals, and even a breaching whale on the return trip. Time in Juneau is up to you then a stop at Mendenhall Glacier before catching the boat back to Skagway. Would highly recommend this adventure to anyone that wants an up close and personal cruise.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank allenkarenr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 25, 2017 via mobile

This day trip to Juneau via Haines/Skagway was the highlight of our vacation to AK! Captain Glen and crew were knowledgeable and excited about all we encountered that day-whales, sea lions, eagles, seals and porpoise to name a few of the beautiful things we saw that day.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank NorthStar535338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alaska Fjordlines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing