We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family owned & great value”
Review of Alaska Fjordlines

Alaska Fjordlines
Ranked #20 of 50 Tours in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fjord Express to Juneau, A scenic all day cruise to Juneau from Haines and Skagway with whale watching on every trip. Skagway Whale Watching! We guarantee whales, sea lions, eagles and waterfalls on every trip or you money back!
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Family owned & great value”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

The entire day felt like we were being cared for personally, and not being dished standard corporate fare.

Captain George and Anna were our hosts on this daytrip down the Lynn Canal to Juneau. The Fjord Express is a beautiful catamaran that covered a very long distance in a reasonable time (about 80 miles (150 kms) within 2 1/4 hours from Haines!). The crew was very personable and went way out of their way to ensure that we maximized our wildlife viewing opportunities on the way to Juneau and back.

I have been on whale and wildlife watching tours elsewhere, and learned to not set my hopes too high. Alaska Fjordlines easily beat any other experience I have ever had.

We had a great lunch at the Flight Deck in Juneau with 3 other couples we met on the Fjord Express, and enjoyed visiting Mendenhall Glacier, but the highlight of the day was the journey to/from Juneau, not Juneau itself.

It is a long day, so prepare yourself mentally accordingly.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hikernaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    213
    11
    3
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Spectacular!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

Captain Glenn and his crew (mid-teen daughter, Libby and younger son) were exceptional - accommodating, knowledgable, and great hosts!

I'll admit to some initial skepticism at first. The Captain was very laid back and his crew was young, but I was wrong!

The cruise down to Juneau and back was one of the top highlights of our 59-day Canadian Rockies/Alaska RV Caravan! The time on the water going and returning was exceptional.

The highlight of the return trip was the opportunity to see whales "bubble net fishing", a rare and quite special opportunity that the Captain allowed us to fully experience by not rushing.

Especially memorable was the sound of the whales communicating - made possible by the use of a hydrophone. We heard the whales bubble net fishing receive the signal to rise to the surface to scoop up the fish corralled in their "net". We were also able to hear a pod of orcas communicating as they cruised past us. A special "chill bump" experience!

Don't miss this

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen0928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grande Prairie, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An Excellent Day”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We really enjoyed the day. Glen and Anna went all out to host and show us the sites. Glen showed us bald eagles, seals, sea lions and went out of his way to so we could see whales. The sites along the way were beautiful and the boat was a pleasure to travel in.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GoldWingers2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge BC
1 review
“A Day of Relaxation”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

My husband and I came to Skagway to hike the Chilkoot Trail. We booked the Fjordland Express the day after the hike so we could relax, get out on the Alaskan waters and see a little bit more of Alaska than Skagway. We had already heard that the trip was a good one and it did not disappoint! The captain was continuously watching the waters with binoculars for humpback whales and even went well out of his way on the way back for us to see some. The service from Colleen and the snacks were well timed and yummy! We've seen lots of glaciers but it was something else to see them from the sunny deck of the boat and all in a row! It was a really nice, relaxing day and we were able to enjoy the day together as a couple taking in animals, glaciers & Juneau. LOVED IT! Very much worth every penny!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Berdie389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent all round package”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

This is an enjoyable full day out on the Alaskan waters, including a visit to Juneau and the nearby glacier. There were a number of opportunities for whale watching (going out of our way at one point for the purpose), with the captain taking the time to slow down at numerous other points along the route to point out eagles, sea lions, glaciers, lighthouses, and other interesting things. Juneau is a great spot to visit, and the only regret we had is not having more time to explore it (had 2.5 hours), as we had to take a visit to the nearby glacier as well, but one would argue that you can't fit anything more into a day!
With snacks provided en route, an engaging crew and plenty of facts to keep you entertained, this was an excellent day out.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank wile1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alaska Fjordlines also viewed

 

Been to Alaska Fjordlines? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing