We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best parts of our Alaska trip!”
Review of Dyea Dave Tours

Dyea Dave Tours
Ranked #22 of 50 Tours in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best parts of our Alaska trip!”
Reviewed November 25, 2012

OMG! What an amazing experience you get for your money! We traveled to Alaska on the Disney Wonder in early June and a friend of mine recommended this tour. We were skeptical but for the price we figured we would give it a go. Dave was not feeling great in the morning, so we were greeted by Jeanine who was wonderful. Right off the bat she told us that this was OUR tour, and so whatever we wanted to do/bypass would be fine with her. Because this was a privately owned tour, there was no set schedule. This meant that Jeanine could show us things that other tour companies don't stop for.

We stopped at one of the glacier falls and jokingly asked if we could drink the water coming down the waterfall. Jeanine whipped out a glass and told us to just clean it in the water. Well, we filled up the glass and had some of the cleanest, best tasting, pure, glacier water ever. Each stop was for as long or short as we wanted, and Jeanine was patient and knowledgeable.

We opted to take the train back from Fraser to town, which in the future I would skip and remain with the tour. When we got back to the train station, there was Dyea Dave waiting to take us for a tour around town before returning us to our ship. We spent a full day on this tour for a minimal price per person...and was a day filled with fun, jokes, laughter, and knowledge.

We still babble on to all our friends about this excellent tour and I would HIGHLY recommend it to anyone that is laid-back, likes to learn about the surroundings, and be able to experience a tour that is pretty much custom-made to what the group wants. My 12 year old son who is usually hard to please and hard to pull away from his video games, put his game back in his pocket for the entire tour, and was interested in everything that was going on. At the end of the tour he said "THAT WAS AWESOME!"

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank batgirlnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    37
    12
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Felton, California
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
71 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“Wonderful day with Dave!”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Our family of fourteen (ten adults and four boys under the age of 10) arrived in Skagway aboard the Golden Princess and met up with Dave for our prearranged, day-long tour. I had arranged this tour many months before and had contacted Dave several times in between to make sure everything was "set". I always received a prompt (and usually comical) reply so was confident that everything would be fine. I was a little concerned that our grandsons would be bored on this rather long tour, but I needn't have worried.

We met Dave on a cool, rainy September morning, boarded his nice, warm, spacious van ... and off we went. Dave explained everything along the way and enthralled the boys with stories and questions. We were headed to the Yukon, 70 miles away and traveled through rain, snow and (finally) sun. (BTW, Dave is a great driver.) The Yukon was breathtaking and the stories Dave told really gave us an appreciation for what we were seeing and what it took to settle this majestic country. We visited Carcross which wasn't that exciting since it was post-season, but it was worth the visit. Then Dave set out to entertain the boys and ended up entertaining the adults as well. We visited a museum of sorts which housed some of the most magnificent animals (stuffed, of course) that I've ever seen (the owner was a former taxidermist). Then we visited the sled dog area and saw goats, horses, etc., which wandered freely and who LOVED to be fed. After that, a very nice ol' prospector helped the boys pan for gold. He made sure that each one went away with a little vial filled with their gold flecks (the boys were thrilled).

After the museum visit, we traveled to Emerald Lake, the Carcross Desert and then to a fascinating area where travelers leave cairns as they pass through. Of course we were all on the lookout for animals but it was not to be ... even though Dave had us laughing when he swerved the van and yelled "Squirrel! Now you've seen wildlife." Then, during our drive back, Dave commented on how much he appreciated the fact we weren't whining about the lack of animals. Just as we were about to thank him, I noticed a big black 'dog' in the road -- and thus we saw our Yukon bear!!! (I"m still wondering how much Dave paid him to sit in the middle of that road .... )

We all had such a good time and are so glad we went with Dave rather than any of the ship's tours. Dave was personable, informative, responsible, and entertained everyone both young and old. And he managed to keep us ahead of the pack of tour buses which was in itself, quite a feat. I would not hesitate to recommend Dave to anyone ... except someone without a sense of humor or someone who has entitlement issues. The Yukon is gorgeous and should not be missed by anyone visiting the area. In fact, make a special trip ... it's worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CADreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
230 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Best value for money for Yukon Tour”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

On our August tour with Dyea Dave, we ended up with Dave himself. What a character he is! Never a dull moment with Dave around. And he makes sure you have a full day. Although we never saw any wildlife, the weather was perfect for photography. We stopped for a mid-morning snack at the Sourdough Bakery in Carcross - absolutely yummy. We didn't opt to take the train back and were glad we didn't because it gave us a chance to stop and take a few more pictures at spots on the return trip. Absolute highlights of the day were the reflection of Caribou Mountain in Nares Lake, something that's apparently not often visible due to the winds, and the sheer beauty of Emerald Lake. Even without pictures I'll never forget those views. When we got back to Skagway, Dave picked up four lost-looking tourists wandering around and drove them back to their ship. That's the kind of guy he is. We'd definitely recommend Dyea Dave's tour!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bluewater_2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun in the Yukon!”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We arrived in Skagway via the golden Princess on the last cruise of the season. My first recommendation is to avoid booking through the cruise ships. You get a much more personalized experience! We met our guide at our mini bus and headed out to our day exploring what the Yukon had to offer. At our first stop someone in the group had complained about window access so they sent a 12 passenger van to us to lighten the load. In their defense, there was some last minute shuffling of people due to delays in cruise ships etc. Anyway, the group of us (5 ppl) had asked about where to purchase train tickets and realized we were suppose to purchase them back in town. We ended up piling into the van which drove us back into town for our tickets. This worked out perfectly for us because we got our own personal tour! Our guide, Kathy, drove us around and stopped at a lot of the highlights along the trip as well as stops that we requested. She was pretty informative and was always willing to take group pictures for us. She had a great sense of humor and really made the trip that much better! We stopped at Carcross for lunch and couldn't resist their freshly baked cookies! On the way back to Fraser, we hit up the stops that we had previous avoided due to the huge tour buses stopped there. At almost all the stops we had the whole place to ourselves. Kathy left us in the Yukon...so we could catch the train back into Skagway. Honestly, I think driving back with Kathy would have been a better choice for us. The scenery on the train was amazing but the route we took was almost parallel to the train. For the price, I would skip the train when I visit again in the future. Overall, Dyea Dave's tour was one of the highlights of our trip! Thanks Kathy!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank alyyvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhome, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seattle to Alaska 2012”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We took the Dyea Dave tour down after riding the train up to Canada. I had researched them on Trip Adviser and felt like this would be fun. We booked this off the internet instead of the Cruise ship and took a chance. We had rode the train up and down in 1998 and I wanted to try something different this trip.We only had one nervous time when the train dropped up off in Canada and the bus was not there to pick us up. They were only about 5 minutes late.
I recommend that you meet them at the dock when you get off the cruise ship so they know they're going to be picking you up in Canada since there is no papers we got stating we would be with them. That is the only thing I think they could improve their trips so you and they are holding something to show you will be touring with them and being picked up in Canada.
We had Jeanine as our driver and guide, and we loved her! She picked us up at the Cruise dock and took us to the cemetery before she took us to the train station to pick up our train tickets for the trip up that I had also bought online.
She stopped at several places that the tour going up got to see so we could see it too after picking us up in Canada. She knew a lot of Alaskan history that she had learned since she is not from Alaska. We didn't see any wildlife but the views were great and we got some great pics!
The buses are small and we enjoyed meeting and talking to other people on the tour.
My only dissapointment is silly. When we crossed from Canada into Alaska we didn't get our passports stamped. Since the driver knew the agent at the stop and she goes through there everyday we didn't have to show our passports that we had to buy to use to go into Canada. That is one thing I wanted and didn't get the whole cruise!
last tip be sure and use the bathroom at the train station in Canada as there are no bathrooms on the way down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dyea Dave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing