We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seattle to Alaska 2012”
Review of Dyea Dave Tours

Dyea Dave Tours
Ranked #22 of 50 Tours in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rhome, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Seattle to Alaska 2012”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We took the Dyea Dave tour down after riding the train up to Canada. I had researched them on Trip Adviser and felt like this would be fun. We booked this off the internet instead of the Cruise ship and took a chance. We had rode the train up and down in 1998 and I wanted to try something different this trip.We only had one nervous time when the train dropped up off in Canada and the bus was not there to pick us up. They were only about 5 minutes late.
I recommend that you meet them at the dock when you get off the cruise ship so they know they're going to be picking you up in Canada since there is no papers we got stating we would be with them. That is the only thing I think they could improve their trips so you and they are holding something to show you will be touring with them and being picked up in Canada.
We had Jeanine as our driver and guide, and we loved her! She picked us up at the Cruise dock and took us to the cemetery before she took us to the train station to pick up our train tickets for the trip up that I had also bought online.
She stopped at several places that the tour going up got to see so we could see it too after picking us up in Canada. She knew a lot of Alaskan history that she had learned since she is not from Alaska. We didn't see any wildlife but the views were great and we got some great pics!
The buses are small and we enjoyed meeting and talking to other people on the tour.
My only dissapointment is silly. When we crossed from Canada into Alaska we didn't get our passports stamped. Since the driver knew the agent at the stop and she goes through there everyday we didn't have to show our passports that we had to buy to use to go into Canada. That is one thing I wanted and didn't get the whole cruise!
last tip be sure and use the bathroom at the train station in Canada as there are no bathrooms on the way down.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    37
    12
    11
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Adventure in Yukon Territory”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We took the DYEA Dave tour in August. Jeanine was our driver/guide, and we loved her! She stopped whenever there was exceptional scenery or a historic site, or if someone wanted to take a picture. She shared a lot of Alaskan info with us. Jeanine was a willing photographer for couples/groups who wanted their picture taken. The cinnamon rolls at the bakery in Carcross were TO DIE FOR -- wish they did mail order! We also loved the soup, scones, etc. The view of Emerald Lake was gorgeous, even though the weather wasn't totally cooperative. We also enjoyed a quick walk thru the Gold Rush cemetery where we learned about Soapy Smith -- interesting Alaskan Gold Rush history. There were 15 people on the bus; I think there was room for one more. The bus was comfortable, with large windows. We saw a bear, and Jeanine made a u-turn so we could go back and take pictures. It felt like being on a road trip with friends and family -- very laid back, casual, and fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank travelover25Texas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful adventure”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

We just came back from our Alaskan cruise where we spent the day in Skagway with Ruth of Dyea Dave tours. Ruth was a wealth of information and really good company. She made our tour interesting and fun stopping whenever there was something interesting to see. Our lunch in Carcross was delicious.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing Tour- Personalized and Professional!”
Reviewed August 25, 2012

This tour is very worth while- Dave has a great personality that makes the 8 hours you spend with him very enjoyable. He is knowledgable and will stop wherever the passangers ask. Our tour was personal as he did stop wherever we wanted and our tour ended up being more than 9 hours. For a tour price of only $79 USD for the entire day, you get WAY more than what you pay for. This company could easily charge a lot more for this tour and I would have paid more to take this tour. Dave also stops at all the stops when there are no other tour buses there. When there were tour buses, he would skip the stop and we would come back to it on the way back to Skagway. This allows for the best photos to be taken, as there aren't any tourists in the background of any of my photos. Such a personalized experience!

The fact that he asks you to pay at the end of trip because he does not expect you to pay for something you didn't thoroughly enjoy, is just good business and the best business for tours in Skagway is Dyea Dave! I will definitely do this again if ever in Skagway!

I highly recommend this tour for all visitors to Skagway, Alaska. We did and saw so much more than those who took the White Pass Railway Tour and paid much less.

Dave does a beyond amazing job!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Ottawa2012_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable afternoon”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Cathy took 4 of us in the van out to see Dyea and Chilkoot pass, then on to the cemetery in town. What a great afternoon. We enjoyed it so much. Very knowledgable and fun.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thebandteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dyea Dave Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing