We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice!”
Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #2 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
NY
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very nice!”
Reviewed August 13, 2006

I enjoyed a very nice night here, small B&B, very homey. They had a very tasty breakfast in the morning, I really enjoyed the homemade muffins that I was smelling from my room.

The room was nice and clean, as well as the bathroom. They had nice amenities available, and more if needed provided you called the front desk.

It is located a few blocks off of the main tourist area of Skagway, but nothing more then a few minutes walk; Skagway is VERY small anyway.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
Thank KBNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
Dear KBNY,
Thank you for your nice write up. With nine rooms, most folks think we are a big B&B, but the rooms are generally more of a bedroom size. It's all jargon, eh? Come and see us again some day. John and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    24
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
31
60
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montville, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2006

The B&B is at the edge of downtown. You'll still be extremely close to downtown and can easily avoid the cruise ship tourists if you need to. The whole town is tiny - there is no drug store or theatre in town. The rooms are clean and spacious. There is usually no one in the lobby, but the staff can easily be reached by phone. The continental breakfast is OK - not great or fresh selection. They don't provide any type of shuttle service to and from the airport/ferry, but if you can take the SMART shuttle for a few bucks in the summer if you don't have too much luggage. The shuttle drops you off ~3 blocks from the B&B. Don't bother with the taxi unless you have a lot of luggage.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandasfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
Dear C T,
Thank you for your comments. Skagway is pretty small, so walking is certainly an option. For those with bags or that don't get around too easily, the SMART shuttle is a very convenient option for a couple dollars. It is available to bring folks to our front door on request or pick folks up from our place, from 7am to 9pm, all summer long. Someone is always on the property, only a few steps away, but no, we don't stand at the front desk like you would see in a typical hotel. As far as fresh goes, the muffins are fresh baked every morning and we always have fresh fruit and hard boiled eggs. There is an entire page on our website that details our breakfast offerings, and I am contemplating some new items for this coming season that I am excited about. Thanks again for the write up. Keep on traveling, Jan and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 28, 2003

We had a wonderful time and loved the owners. They had new private bathrooms. The hand made Quilts, decorations, and Antiques made it very homey. They had an extensive selection of books on the local history of Skagway and the White House. The food was good. I would definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
We are still here and would love to have you back again. We have added a nice collection of Rie Munoz artwork this last year and John did a beautiful job with the dining room ceiling a couple years back. If you are in the area again, please stop by. Kind regards, Jan and John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock, Il.
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2003

The White house is located in a quiet neighborhood that is within 8-10 blocks of the harbor. "downtown" begins 3 blocks from the B & B. From the outside it appears to be simple, but when you enter the front foyer with the highly polished wood floors and the beautiful antiques you begin to see what a delightful place it is! The breakfast room is to your left where a generous cookie jar holds homemade favorites and any left over muffins from breakfast sit tempting you. Tea, coffee, and hot cocoa are offered anytime while you sit on a couch reading the vast array of gold rush titles the owners have collected. This is a place with a vision on the past! Breakfast is cold items, but plenty of them.
Homemade muffins ( Pineapple cream!) cold cereal, fresh and canned fruit, yogurt, bagels and English muffins with jam. Upstairs each room is decorated in a different theme. We had the patriotic red,white, and blue room with a vaulted ceiling. The queen sized bed was covered in a quilt made by the owner. The room was very clean and comfortable. The bath was modern and very clean as well.

Helpful?
10 Thank dawnp53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
WOW. Thank you for the detailed review. We are still baking our ever popular muffins and cookies. And we have added to the Gold Rush titles on the lobby. The history is so much fun. If you are ever in the area again, please stop in. John and I are still here. Happy travels, Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
206 reviews
16.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
16.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Eighth & Main Sts, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840-0041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfy little inn, bringing together modern conveniences and Skagway history, for a restful night's sleep. Rooms vary in size, but they all feature cable TV, handcrafted quilts, wireless Internet, mini refrigerators, screened windows and ceiling fans. The Continental breakfast has lots of choices. Warm, welcoming, and open year round. Afternoon tea and the cookie jar are always a treat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing