We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The White House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Skagway
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The White House
Ranked #2 of 5 Skagway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We were a party of 5 who spent one night at the White House in early August. We had two rooms and we were all happy with the quality and cleanliness of the rooms. The muffins and cookies were a pleasant surprise on our arrival. Breakfast was satisfying. We loved the decor especially the quilts!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Libby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAndJan1902, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thanks for sharing your kind words. We have a couple terrific ladies working with us this year, helping to maintain the cleanliness you appreciated and spending some time in the kitchen keeping the ever popular cookie jar stocked. It's a team effort and we are thankful for both our staff and our visitors. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    23
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
28
57
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed here by accidentally finding it. It was so friendly, so very clean, and so very comfortable. It's also walking distance to town so the convenience is there. The breakfast was well rounded, healthy and plentiful. I'd stay here again for sure if I ever get the pleasure of visiting Skaway again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneP_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAndJan1902, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much. We appreciate the feedback, especially about breakfast. We don't offer, nor advertise a full breakfast, but do our best to offer a nice variety of breakfast foods, more like one would have at home on a regular basis. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time in Skagway. Come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

Skagway is like a little switzerland in alaska; except with giant cruise ships looming over the small town. The white house, while pleasant, was expensive for the quality. The hotel, in a refurbished old house, is downtown, but not on the main street, and quite quiet at night. The lobby is attractive, and quaint; the rooms are less so, and while very clean, are stuffy and hot; the fan could not cool our rooms off. Bathrooms had a noisy fan, and were very simple. Breakfast was very simple; the kind of cereal and toast your own toast kind, with hardboiled eggs in the fridge you could microwave if you wanted; for the price, i did expect more. The people who run it are nice, and sort of off in their world;

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ayseak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAndJan1902, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments. If it is any consolation, on those few days a year when it is actually hot in Skagway, everyone is hot. I think the only air conditioned building in town is the bank. We do however, have opening/screened windows for each room, a standing fan and ceiling fans, so we are doing our best. The rooms all very is size and furnishings, each with their own character. We aren't licensed for a full service breakfast, so anyone who wants to know what we serve we have dedicated an entire page on our website. It is a rather extensive Continental buffet with five different cereals, fresh and canned fruit, a variety of breads, yogurt, hard boiled eggs and our ever popular fresh baked muffins. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We arrived by ferry for a one nighter. Check in was very simple with our reservations already in place. Our room was ready on our arrival and the staff was very friendly and inviting. The room was basic, but comfortable. My only complaint was the bed, which was one of the old spring type. Breakfast was a simple continental type. On our departure, the ferry was to be leaving much later than check out. The staff/owner accomodated us by letting us store our luggage in a room downstairs until our departure. The history of the building is very interesting as is the history of the whole area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IdahoGottago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, September 4, 2012
Update ... as soon as we came across your review, we inspected each bed in the house. We found two box springs that were squeaking. They are no longer. The mattress/box spring sets are Sealy Posturpedic and we receive compliments on them daily. Sleep on the same beds ourselves. I am just sorry that no one took the time to mention it to us directly, as it is a simple remedy. But since we don't sleep in each bed ourselves during the summer months, we would have no way of knowing. Trip Advisor is a great place to share your opinions especially about service, but I beseech all visitors, if there is something not functioning properly, your innkeeper wants to know and the sooner the better. An anonymous note at the desk if you aren't comfortable mentioning it. People come here to sleep. Clean and comfortable beds are at the top of our priority list. Thanks for bringing it to our attention. The problem has been corrected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our stay at The White House was everything we needed it to be - comfortable, convenient and with good breakfasts. The owners were friendly, helpful and professional, everything ran very smoothly. We were even able to to some laundry without any hassle.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holidaylover052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAndJan1902, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you for going to the effort of sharing your experience on Trip Advisor. We appreciate the endorsement. Safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, IL
Level Contributor
203 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

The location is perfect, within walking distance of anything in Skagway. The breakfast is continental and has everything a person would need. Our room was clean and bright. Jan, the hostess, shared valuable advice for our stay. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara and Dav... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnAndJan1902, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for the glowing endorsement. It's difficult in a rural area to meet everyone expectations. We are shooting for clean and comfortable. Not the Ritz, more like Grandma's house with a few added benefits, like private baths and complimentary wireless Internet. Thank you again, we'll strive to keep the bar high and aiming for it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
133 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Great location, but be aware that the 2nd floor (where the rooms are) was rebuilt with so little sound-proofing that one can hear the neighboring guest brushing their teeth - and everything else they do in the bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlfalfaAnchorageAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnandJanTronrud, Owner at The White House, responded to this review, January 5, 2017
Dear AlfalfaAnchorageAK,
Not exactly sure how to reply to this. We will look into what we can do to improve things in the room you were in. This is not a complaint I have heard with any frequency, but I do take it seriously. While we prefer to get complaints right away and in person so we have an opportunity to improve things, it's good to get the feedback one way or the other. Thank you. Please come back and try us again. Reference you reply here and I'll give you a deal on your rate. Warm regards, John and Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Skagway
0.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
16.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
16.5 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
16.0 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
0.2 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#4 of 5 in Skagway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Property: The White House
Address: Eighth & Main Sts, PO Box 41, Skagway, AK 99840-0041
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Skagway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Skagway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A comfy little inn, bringing together modern conveniences and Skagway history, for a restful night's sleep. Rooms vary in size, but they all feature cable TV, handcrafted quilts, wireless Internet, mini refrigerators, screened windows and ceiling fans. The Continental breakfast has lots of choices. Warm, welcoming, and open year round. Afternoon tea and the cookie jar are always a treat. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing