We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Laughton Glacier Hike - Excellent Excursion!”

Packer Expeditions - Day Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Packer Expeditions offers day hikes on wilderness trails not accessible by road, a sea kayak trip on a lake in British Columbia combined with a scenic ride on the White Pass and Yukon Route Railway, and guided and catered backpacking on the world famous Chilkoot Trail.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Laughton Glacier Hike - Excellent Excursion!”
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed the hike up Laughton Glacier! Our guides were knowledgeable and accomodating, ensuring everyone had what they needed to hike the glacier (For example: crampons, which really do help, were provided). It can get a bit wet in Alaska, so factor that in. We wore layers, with a rain jacket over top. Good footwear is also an obvious must.

The scenery along the hike is great. I would consider it a moderate hike, though for some reason our cruise operator listed it as "extreme" (it's not, unless you consider the need to be careful about footing). The whole hike is a scenic endeavour, so we took lots of photos.

We socialized with the guides, who were incredibly nice and knowledgeable. It was impossible not to learn something about Alaska, the Laughton Glacier, or Tongass National Forest.

I would have to say that this excursion was probably the highlight of my Alaskan experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JEFFREY C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    395
    21
    1
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Beginning with the very informative and scenic coach ride with Ryan (driver and guide) to Fraser, B.C., then kayaking with our guides Stu (the Silver Fox) and Rob - super fun, humorous, knowledgeable on Lake Bernard, then boarding for our historic rail journey back to Skagway, this excursion was one of the highlights on our Alaskan Cruise. Thank you so much for a wonderful and lifelong memory.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank travelfun19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawai'i
Level 6 Contributor
437 reviews
139 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
“The best part of our Alaskan cruise”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

They were our tour company for our Denver Valley Wilderness Hike excursion via Celebrity Cruises.

Our tour guides Nita, Ben & Kellan picked us up at the dock. You could tell right off the bat that we were gonna have an awesome day.

The 11 or so of us boarded a motor coach for a 30 minute ride into British Columbia territory. Along the way we were lucky enough to see a mama black bear with her two cubs just walking through the terrain. Super cool! We got to the White Pass rail station and had about 35 minutes to enjoy the majestic, cool & crisp scenery. The mountains are gorgeous with their high, ice-capped peaks. The pine trees are beautiful. There are restrooms and a cool stamp for your passport.

We boarded the train for our 45-minute ride to the hike site. We got the caboose car which was awesome because of unobstructed views and the spacious deck on the back. The guides set up a sandwich making station, with fresh breads, ham, turkey, cheese, hummus, and PB&J. They had hiking packs for us filled with water, peanuts, almonds, Snickers and Kit Kat. The views along the way were so awesome and picturesque. Amazingly beautiful!

We arrived at our hike site where there was an outhouse, and a lockable box to put belongings in. The hike was about 5 miles in total and took about 4.5 hours including a 15 min lunch break with a view of the raging river. The hike I'd say was semi-strenuous. We never had to cross the river and never saw bears or moose. The Tongass forest was beautiful. The hike trail was very spongy and easy on the feet & knees. The guides explained about the parts of the forest we were in, and the history of the area, what happened in the past and what will happen for the future. We got to eat 2 varieties of berries, including a delicious blueberry. I wanted to try a mushroom but nothing in edible condition could be found. Unknowingly, my partner found the toy alligator that was hidden by the wildlife preserve guys. We re-hid it for the next group of people to find. We didn't find the gnome though. It's a game in conjunction with the tour guides. Fun stuff!

We emerged from the hike about 10 minutes before the last train of the day. The ride into town too about 15 minutes. We had a brief 10 minute stop at the border.

We were back in Skagway and had about 45 minutes to spare, so we walked into town and had some beer at the Red Onion Saloon.

OVERALL:
Drop dead gorgeous scenery, awesome tour guides and a great hike. Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MauiWorldTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow! What a great paddle”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My wife and I kayak often in southern Ontario. This whole experience, from the train ride to the pre-water advice to the actual paddle to the bus ride back to Skagway was truly one of the highlights of our trip. The guides, Todd and Shayne, we're personality-plus, but they never lost track of their obligation to maintain the highest possible standards.

Thank you!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Laughton Glacier Hike Review - very easy and leisurely”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This is a really lovely and interesting hike. I wish I had known this hike is about going slowly, savoring the experience and being part of a large group. It is not a workout type hike. The Alaska rainforest is very lush and beautiful. The water rushing down from the glacier refreshing. The rocks on the glacier toe are all interesting and pretty. It was fun to put on the crampons. The guides are accommodating. The one challenging thing is walking on loose rocks at the top. My 83 year old dad could do this hike just fine since they give you walking poles.

The guides want to keep everyone together if they can. That means walking at quite a slow pace. Also they like to go to the toe and no far which gives lots of time to do this hike before you have to catch the train back. If you are like me and like a hike with real exercise you may find it hard to walk so slow. They have a long bathroom break each direction (20 - 25 people, one porta-potty), and a long lunch break.

The train back took a very long time to get back. It seems to go slower and slower..over an hour total. You have to wait for US immigration to "process" everyone even thought you do not leave the US. We left before 8AM, arrived back just after 5:00 PM and the easy hike both ways took a total of 3-4 hours of the 9 hour trip. So just relax, enjoy the scenery, the company and do your workout another time.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank okaycoral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Packer Expeditions - Day Tours also viewed

 

Been to Packer Expeditions - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing