We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great way to spend a day”

White Pass & Yukon Route Railway
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.25*
and up
Skagway Shore Excursion: Half-Day Tour to the Yukon Border
Ranked #1 of 59 things to do in Skagway
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1898 during the Klondike Gold Rush, this narrow gauge railroad is an International Historic Civil Engineering Landmark. Experience the breathtaking panorama of mountains, glaciers, trestles & tunnels from the comfort of vintage train cars. Rail service between Skagway, Alaska, Fraser, BC, Carcross, Yukon, and Whitehorse, Yukon.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great way to spend a day”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The ride is full of beautiful views and a great way to spend the day. If you have time, go all the way to the Yukon.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank donnafrob3663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,154
    738
    189
    63
    31
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 247 helpful votes
“You really need the weather to be on your side.”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

The weather makes or breaks this train ride.To the casual visitor or those on a day off from their cruise ship this is an exceptionally enjoyable and scenic return train ride up to White Pass Summit if the weather is kind and the visablity good. For those on the cruise ships taking this excursion it might be a bit of lottery, or when you pre-book your trip either on-line or at a White Pass and Yukon Route (WPYR) booking office. We were free agents and had pre-booked our trip at Whitehorse. We were advised to take the late afternoon (4.30pm) trip by the booking agent as most of the cruise ship passengers took the two earlier trips (8.15am & 12.45pm), and what good advice that was. Whilst the train company can add extra passenger carriages to accommodate extra numbers, access to the open areas can prove problematic when the trains are crowded and individuals are vying for that all important picture of one of the many special points of interest on the route. We drove into Skagway the day before our planned WPYR trip in heavy rain and low cloud. It had been like that ALL day. On the far side of the valley we could barely make out the outline of the eight carrage train and it is pretty certain that the poor occupants of the train could see very little of us or the scenery, certainly not the picturesque mountains. In fact it must have been a very miserable day to take such a ride if you had a pre-paid ticket! By the time we took our late afternoon train ride the next day the weather had totally changed and we enjoyed a feast of views, of wildlife and an excellent narration of the history of the track building, the train journeys and the gold seekers trail that is adjacent to the upper section of the White Pass.
The carriges take you back in time too. Whilst basic, the seats are comfortable and the carriges are heated. A simple but effective device lets you reverse the direction of the seat for the return journey so everyone faces the direction of travel both up and down the pass. Passenges change sides when you reach the summit to give everyone an equal chance of looking down into the gourges below. As I said at the begining, if the weather is good this is a first class 40 mile round trip ride. It provides a splendid panorama including glaciers and waterfalls and maybe the odd bear? But in the rain and low cloud don't waste you money, you will only be disappointed.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank thepostie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Mary, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Views”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We booked this trip via Chilkoot Charters &Tours instead of directly with Princess Cruises. The Chilkoot folks took us by van from the dock to the railroad depot to board the train. The train trip was spectacular. We had great weather and the views were tremendous. We managed to get some pictures of a black bear standing on some rocks pretty close to the train as we went by. Did not see a whole lot of other wildlife though. There was one stop at the Canadian border for a quick check of passports and we eventually stopped at Bennett Lake for a lunch and some time to walk around and take pictures. After lunch the train continued on down the lake and then ended up at Carcross. We did not have a long time (30 mins) in Carcross and then boarded a minibus for the ride back to Skagway. Our bus driver must have had a date back in Skagway, as he was driving like a maniac the whole way back. The total trip was a bit long, but well worth it. We still had time before re-boarding the ship to get some drinks at the Skagway Brewing company where we tried the Spruce Tip Ale to ward of scurvy. All things considered this was a great trip and well worth our time and $$.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
98 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“A thrilling train ride!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

We did the 'White Pass' route up to the summit from Skagway and back again during June 2014.

The commentary during the ride was entertaining and an education! The scenery was simply stunning.

Be sure to sit on the left side of the train, and if you can avoid days when lots of cruise ships are in town (obviously if you're on a cruise you can't avoid the crowds!) We went on a Sunday morning first thing when only one ship was docked and were able to ride on the 'view' side of the train on the way up and way back.

Once in your carriage you cannot move to another so be sure to sit in the same one as your family and friends! You can go out onto the ends of your carriage to take pictures and look down on the drop from the narrow bridges!

Free water bottles are provided in each carriage. If you like to snack while travelling, be sure to buy them before you board.

Keep a look out for a rather large (not real) spider on the left wall of the short tunnel on the way up and for Mickey Mouse being attacked by a rattle snake!!

We were really lucky and saw two black bears from the train, one really close to it on some rocks!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
250 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Our 2nd time.and still awesome...”
Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Love this train ride. This is 2nd time we have done this tour and I could do it over and over again. The scenery is amazing, valleys, cliffs, meadows, waterfalls just breathtaking. The train is great nothing fancy, but comfortable. This time there wasn't as much snow on the ground so saw more flowers and ponds when we got to the top and passed into Canada ..beautiful. Last time I was lucky and saw my first bear in Alaska...not so lucky this time. Skagway is one of my fav spots to stop on the cruise...this train ride will not disappoint. Enjoy!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank TexasTravelingkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed White Pass & Yukon Route Railway also viewed

 

Been to White Pass & Yukon Route Railway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing