We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was really good, but abit freaky !”
Review of Le Terminus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Terminus
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Reviewed July 10, 2011

The hotel was good! it was a nice area and lots of places to go to. The rooms were fine but everytime a car or lorry went past, it made a loud noise and the beds shook abit. The bathrooms were abit creepy when your on your own but it was very clean and the room was very clean. The staff were very friendly and speak english so we could understand. When we got up the breakfast was very nice, it was a buffet where you could get your own stuff. Didnt like the coridoors,had a funny smell and were abit freaky. It was a really good hotel, nice staff, in a good area and nice food:)

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mollyy6650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
There are newer reviews for Le Terminus
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 67 reviews

Reviewed May 2, 2009

I'm not sure what has happened to this place! We chose it for an overnight stop because of some good reviews on here, and because it had a bib gourmand from the Michelin guide, for the Charolais menu. To be fair, I should say that we stayed there the night before the May Day holiday.

No complaints about the hotel. We had a nice room at a reasonable price, and breakfast was OK.

But the restaurant! First of all there was no Charolais menu, in fact no beef at all that we could see. More importantly the cooking skill and the quality of the raw ingredients was a mile away from matching the pretensions of the menu or the prices! Both our meals were virtually inedible and the wine was worse. The only diners were non french overnight guests in the hotel - not a local or even a french person to be seen, which tells it's own story.

Just don't go there! There are two Michelin starred restaurants in Tournus, one a Logis with hotel prices much the same as Le Terminus, and menus not that much more expensive. How we wished we had gone there.

Don't miss Tournus though - it has a fantastic abbey church dating from saxon times, and is a lovely little town.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

On arrival the hotel doesn’t look much and the unlit restaurant looked gloomy. However, our evening in the restaurant, which by now was fully illuminated, was excellent. A complete transformation, very friendly atmosphere and I would recommend the Charolais Boeuf – excellent!

The hotel is outside Tournus Railway station, which for me having been in the railway industry for 21 years was a bonus. However, for those concerned maybe about the noise levels, there are no worries here. The room we had (No 6), was so well insulated you hardly noticed that you were near a main passenger and freight line. The room also had 2 double beds with plenty of space. The bathroom was a bit basic though but clean and everything worked.

Take some time to walk around Tournos and the church close to the hotel. Opposite the Terminus is a 4 star hotel which looked very swish with prices to match!

The Terminus is very good value, clean and an excellent restaurant which merits its 3 chimney / 3 *** status

We will certainly call again when passing thro the region

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JV80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2008

stayed here on the way from Paris to Vaujany. Booked directly with the hotel . Pulled off at gate 27 on the motor way and found the hotel no prob. We had booked a double room and a 4 bed room which we got. Had an excellent meal in the restaurant which was full of local french people. They had several fixed price menues and an a la carte menu. Lovely wine reasonably priced. Got up modestly early the next morning and got a goodish breakfast. Staff helpful but do not speak much english. Would stay again as its so handy for the motorway and is about 3 hours from Paris so it breaks the journey nicely. We walked around the town and went down by the river -- lovely

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank clorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2007

I think the website shows the hotel in an overly favourable light but the public areas were very nice. The rooms were fine but the stairs and corridors were tatty and had an unusual smell. Our bathroom had definitely seen better days. The hotel states that the rooms are soundproofed and we certainly had no problems with the noise from the trains. The road outside our room was busy and although the noise was not a problem, the whole bed shook when a lorry went past. The location is excellent. Tournus is a small and very attractive town which is easily accessible on foot from the hotel. We had booked a table for dinner which was a good job as it was full by 9pm. The food and wine selection were excellent. The "beef menu" was fair value at €18 and absolutely delicious. I would recommend this hotel because of the location and the food.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_G_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2007

We stayed here on 31 March on our way to Val Thorens with our son & nephew (17 & 20). Rooms were bright & modern though our bedroom floor was quite creaky. Our room also shook if a lorry went past on the main road but this only happened twice and not while we were asleep. Although next door to the train station we didn't hear any noise from it at all.
Staff and management were very friendly and though we tried to speak our really bad French they spoke English when we didn't understand.
The restaurant was excellent, really good food and wines from the region including duck, turbot, chicken with foie gras, steak (a huge 500g) and an amazing cheese selection.
All in all a good 3 star hotel with individual decor a world away from those hotels that all look the same no matter which country you're in.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Goldielookinghair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Hue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tournus hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#3 of 12 in Tournus
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rempart
Le Rempart
#6 of 12 in Tournus
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Le Sauvage
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Terminus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Terminus

Address: 21 avenue Gambetta, 71700, Tournus, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range: $89 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Le Terminus 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Le Terminus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Terminus Tournus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing