We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Restaurant Le Sauvage
Nearby Hotels
$187
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Rempart(Tournus)
$136
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$73
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Montagne de Brancion(Martailly-les-Brancion)
$133
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$76
$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Le Kolibri(Tournus)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Terminus(Tournus)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (97)
Filter reviews
97 results
Traveler rating
11
29
28
15
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
29
28
15
14
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 97 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2011

Bad service at restaurant, waiting for more than half an hour for the menu. We were charged for 15 euro's to much next to the 3,75 they charge for half à bottle of water. No apology at all.
In the morning light I say that the electric wiring was lose in the hall.
And the orange juice was half juice, half water

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Baronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2010

We were absolutely horrified at the meal at this hotel. Half of the items on the menu were off and those that were on were very basic and no different - in fact worse - than one would prepare at home. The service was appalling - no aperitifs offered, and great surprise when we asked for one, staff obviously not enjoying their work etc. People reading this, please don't take it as an indicator of restaurants in Tournus. Even the small bars do much better with their food, ambience and friendliness.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan_shepherd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2010

The main railway line runs through the town, Sauvage is opposite the line. If your room is at the front of the hotel, overlooking the car park and line, you will not sleep, but a good night's sleep can be had if the room is at the back of the hotel. We stay there quite often as we drive up and down to/from Nice. The rooms are ok, the place is clean enough, undergoing a re-vamp. Most staff are nice nd friendly apart from the woman who acts as receptionisit in the afternoon- she must know us by now but she never smiles or acknowledges us. No problem parking as the hotel faces a car park - some places are free during the day, others you have to pay for, but all are free after 6. We have never eaten in the restaurant as we have a favourite restaurant in the old town. Very handy for overnighting, just off the motorway.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rabbitmomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2010

I stopped here one night on the way back from a skiing holiday in the alps and i really enjoyed it.Enjoy these old hotels that ooze character because in twenty years they'll all be gone, replaced by bland soulless chains.All i can say is that we had a good night's sleep here and a good meal with,of course,in Burgundy,excellent wine.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TubbyBartonYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2008

We arrived a little after noon on a Friday and were surprised to see a sign on the door saying the hotel was always closed on Fridays from 12 - 5. This was not a hastily scrawled, hand-written sign, so we have to assume this is standard practice for this hotel.
We decided to do some touring around the Burgundy countryside and it was after 8pm when we finally checked into our room. The wallpaper in the hallway was tattered and in many cases had fallen off, the hallway was dark. Our room had an off-smell, but we were tired and thought we would just keep the windows open to air it out. The smell did not go away. Further, it seems the hotel is quite close to a train line. We kept thinking there would be fewer trains after awhile, but the high-speed trains kept up a racket all night. We tried closing the windows, but each time we did, the smell would overpower us (if we had to guess, we would say the smell came from the sewer system).
The television did not have an English-language channel (most of the hotels we stayed at in France had a BBC channel in English) and no internet access at all.
We had booked for three nights, but when we checked out the next morning and told the clerk how unhappy we were with our room there was no effort made to offer us a different room or give an explanation. The clerk was completely indifferent.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank RamblingRoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews