We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel de Greuze
Nearby Hotels
Le Rempart(Tournus)
$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$62
Booking.com
View Deal
La Montagne de Brancion(Martailly-les-Brancion)
$138
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Le Terminus(Tournus)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (137)
Filter reviews
137 results
Traveler rating
68
53
11
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
68
53
11
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslots of parkingthe rivernice hotelen routeprivate parkingabbeymichelinsouthbathroombreakfastmotorwayrestaurantstop
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 137 reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very nice place,but at € 180 double room per night, one would expect e.g. a water-boiler for tea or coffee and / or a bottle of water in the room. Breakfast (not included in the room rate) is also quite expensive.
Very friendly staff.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Boeykens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello, thank you for your comment. In the price of the room superior that you had chosen, as well as in all the hotel, we prefer for this level, to propose a floor service, such as it exists, to bring you quality teas which are not in bag. We favor the floor service with porcelain teapots rather than kettles. We so propose you a card of 10 differents teas selected by our care, going from 5€ to 6€, including for each an assortment of petit fours. Best regards, Mr BELLET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

Old established hotel in centre of the beautiful roman town of Tournus. Pity restaurant no longer part of hotel. Room comfortable and spotlessly clean modern bathroom. TV channels limited for non French clients although good wifi at no extra charge. Secure car parking. Excellent breakfast nicely presented. Feels like 5 star but needs a restaurant.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shardeloes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2013

Hello, thank you for having relied on us. The restaurant greuze is not a part effectively any more of the hotel. We launched a young leader full of talent and the contract was to let him fend for himself. Thing that he does very well at the moment. We recommend his establishment to have dinner, but we can propose others restaurants also. I has no obligation there. We can reserve tables according to your desire. The parking is effectively privative, closed and watched. Best regards, Mr BELLET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Having spent ages trying to find a conveniently situated hotel in lower Burgundy just when it seemed everyone else in Europe had the same idea I found the de Greuze. Just a short distance from the autoroute to Lyon it proved to be a wonderful find I shall return to. In spite of the busy main road in front it sits well back in attractive gardens. To the rear is the wonderful abbey, impressive in daylight but a stunning sight when floodlit at night. You can exit and enter the hotel from the rear which is convenient for the abbey, antique shops and nearby restaurants.
The welcome from the charming porter / front desk was warm and helpful and the room was spacious and quiet, overlooking the abbey. The bathroom was modern, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The price of the room was at the upper end of my budget but all in all I thought it good value. Breakfast at 16 Euros for continental seemed steep and we ate out. The onlt restaurant is the Greuze adjacent to the hotel with a Michelin star. A look at the menus revealed very high prices and we chose to eat instead at Aux Terrasses (also with a Michelin star) a short walk away. This was a great find with superb food at very reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear get the wonderful view of the abbey
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrToad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Hello Mister TOAD. We've got actually a good place at just 2 kilometers of the highway A6. We thank you for your opinion and we indicate you that we modified our formula of breakfast to meet the requirement people who eat less in the morning, while decreasing the prices. We passed from 16€ to 12€, by proposing supplements for the gourmands. Looking forward to having the pleasure to see you again. Mr BELLET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We stayed here in July on our way to Cannes. The hotel was recommended by a friend. It is located near the motorway and ideal for splitting the 800 mile journey from Calais to the south coast. It is quiet although situated in the town, next door to the Abbey and a short walk to the shops and the river. The windows are double-glazed and the bells do not ring at night. Our room overlooked the Abbey but we were not disturbed. The room itself was a reasonable size and spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a bit small but very well-equipped. The bed was so comfortable that when we arrived in Cannes, we immediately booked the hotel again for our return journey and were not disappointed. We stayed in a different room but it was just as nice as the first. The staff were unfailingly charming and helpful. We are planning to return for a longer stay as Tournus is a destination in itself.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrGran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChristianBELLET, Owner at Hotel de Greuze, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Mister Dr GRAN, we thank you for having taken time to express this comment. We always have pleasure to welcome you in our beautiful Burgundy. Looking forward to seeing you again.We wish all the best to you. Best regards, Mr BELLET

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed here with a tour group and loved every minute of it. The staff was helpful and courteous, the room beautiful, and the view of the church from our window was breathtaking. (We left our window open so we could look out at it with the lights on most of the night - and it was quiet enough that we could do that comfortably. The street side has a beautiful walled courtyard between the hotel and the street so I expect rooms on that side would be quiet too.) Breakfast was good. The location is a bit away from the town center so it's not very near most of the restaurants but it's a pleasant walk.

Room Tip: We loved our room on the back side overlooking the church.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WI_roam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews