We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel And excellent restaurant”
Review of Le Rempart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Le Rempart
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Genoa
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel And excellent restaurant”
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Travelling from the south of France back to the Netherlands le Rempart offers a pleasant place to sleep and dine. The restaurant might be worth a star in the red guide. This mat be possible if the tempo between the courses of the menu could be a little less. In addition it is a little strange to see the waiters set the tables for the next day while several tables are not finished yet. Are they in à rush?

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hpoosterbaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    91
    36
    8
    6
See reviews for
39
127
3
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
147 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Stayed here before ,so pulled up on our way to spain , welcome on reception ok. there was not a lot of smiling going on? there was 4 of us so a suite or 2 doubles was our request anyway after looking at 2 rooms in the old part of the hotel we were then shown a revamped suite which was nice great ,nice meal in the bistro although it did take a while to get any service ,they didnt want to make eye contact (which i always find strange in a restaurant) food ok , breakfast in a very dull room and dull breakfast im sure it was 16 euro a head which is crazy , no this hotel does not leave me with happy memories .

Room Tip: get a refurb room others are not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickilovesluxury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

Tournus is a handy stopping point when driving to the south, but our usual place (De Greuze) was full, so we took a 'junior suite' at Le Rempart instead. All in all,though it was smart enough it failed to produce the feeling of luxury of the best hotels. The junior suite was quite small and would have been more comfortable with a sofa or easy chairs. The very large bed turned out to be two singles pushed together, which is quite common, but here each was made up separately. The breakfast, an extra 12 Euros per person, was one of those dispiriting buffet affairs in a rather dreary room,despite the fact that there is a very nice 'terrace' bistro downstairs that would have been much nicer. So, overall, though there was nothing wrong with it it was a bit disappointing by comparison with De Greuze.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cajwatson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Level Contributor
127 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

The hotel is good - well placed for an overnight stop on way to the south, but there are some drawbacks. There is little parking at the front of the hotel, so we paid to use the garage. Getting a small car in and out would be no problem but as we have a large car - well lets say, its a good job my husband is a good driver!! Also, when we booked by email we asked for a double room (there were some available) but back came the offer of a suite on half board, so we took it, thinking it would be a good deal. The room was good - we had a power cut for about an hour, so the air con and lights were out etc, but the main disappointment came when we went to the dining room. The deal for half board was that we ate in the main restaurant, rather than the bistro, so thinking we had no choice, we did. The menu for the half board was most strange - we eat most things but for me it was unfortunate that I was denied choices as some of my pet hates (from an ethical point of view) were on what was their basic menu. We were going to pay the ectra to eat off the other menus but frankly they didn;t really appeal as being worth it. Stayed in Tournus a couple of times and the Aux Terrasses is better - certainly for the food. Maybe the bistro would be better.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrocksWestSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2012

We ate here last year and decided to stay on our way to the South of France and were very glad we did. The whole hotel was very clean and we ate in the bistro. Very enjoyable with the retractable roof. Good food.
The room was excellent and we enjoyed a very comfortable and quiet nights sleep.
We will use again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugling_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We were there for 1 night the room was ok not so clean however the foods was delicious in this region.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanwisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

This was a fine hotel, and I would stay here again. Needing a place to overnight en route to Paris, I arrived late one night without a reservation, warmly welcomed by the receptionist and was thankful to be offered a room at a good price. The hotel room was immaculate and good-sized, and the television and wifi worked well. I heard no noise at all from the street which my window faced. I ordered some wine to the room, and it was brought up very quickly along with some delicious cheese pastry puffs that were compliments of the house.

However because it is a Chateaux Hotel, I was expecting a more beautiful room in terms of character, aesthetics and amenities- plusher linens and a more up to date decor. In that regard it wasn't up to my preconception, but it was still fine. The bed was very comfortable. I slept in and did not have breakfast, and was not charged for it. This hotel is in a perfect location to walk the beautiful streets and see the sites.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tournus hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#2 of 12 in Tournus
142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Greuze
Hotel de Greuze
#4 of 12 in Tournus
114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Le Kolibri
Hotel Le Kolibri
#1 of 12 in Tournus
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
45 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Montagne de Brancion
La Montagne de Brancion
#1 of 1 in Martailly-les-Brancion
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rempart

Property: Le Rempart
Address: Entree 2 2 avenue Gambetta, 71700, Tournus, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Rempart 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotel.de, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HRS so you can book your Le Rempart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rempart Tournus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing