We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel with attentive staff”
Review of Le Rempart

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Rempart
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Reviewed May 18, 2011

we stayed for seven days at le Rempart Hotel. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed. The staff we extremely friendly and attentive. We ate in the hotel Bistro on three out of seven nights when we normally like to try different places, but it was so good in both quality and value. The waiting staff were very good and attended to our every requirement. The quality of the wines was excellent and, a bonus, they were sensibly priced. We will certainly return if in the area.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrick12344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (233)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 233 reviews

Reviewed May 4, 2011

We stayed here on our way home in April. We had found it on the website; it is clear from the web that this is an upmarket, comfortable yet unpretentious hotel. Plain outside, inside it is quiet elegance. A warm welcome and help with our bags to a lovely modern room. The hotel offers a choice of elegant dining or a lovely Bistro with good food and a really good sensibly priced wine list. It is a lovely place; if you don't want to pay for elegance, don't stay here. Go and drink cheap beer in the town.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank WillHamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2010

We stayed in this hotel because of good location off the motorway. The rooms are nice and clean but lack character. We paid 145 euros for our room - only to find this did not include breakfast at 16 euros extra each!!! After a hard days driving my first priority was a few beers in the bar - found the prices an absolute joke, 4 euros for a 25ml glass of beer - NO
I hate people taking the p**** with prices like that so it really put me off the place. There is nothing wrong with Tournus town but it is not a tourist hotspot so I don't know why the hotel thinks people are stupid enough to pay inflated prices like they charge. We went into the town square had had a fabulous meal for 10 euros each with glasses of Macon blanc for 1.50 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JOandSI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2010

We spent two nights at this four star town centre hotel. The hotel burnt down in 2005 and has been completely rebuilt, much in the original style. The result is a very comfortable hotel with modern amenities such as air conditioning. We were fortunate to have a suite which overlooked part of the Abbey. Although centrally located the hotel was quiet. There is a free open air car park for the hotel over the road, although the road can be quite busy so access can be tricky.

We took the half board option. Both service and food were good. However as we were there for two nights we would have hoped for a different menu on the 2nd night as there were only two choices for each dish. The quality, however, was good and the restaurant ambiance pleasant.

One of the best things about the hotel was the breakfast where cooked eggs were offered, which is unusual in many French hotels. There was also an excellent buffet breakfast on offer.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Another overnight stop on a road trip through France. Perefctly nice hotel - very large bedroom, good bathroom, but everything about it says that it's trying to be a 4* luxury hotel and it's not quite getting there. Ate in the bistro on the covered terrasse - food was ok, but again trying to hard. Stir fry of calamar had no calamar but lots of sauce and veg, cheese course was mean (small) and stale (I'm fine with smelly over-ripe cheese, but dried up camembert is not OK). Glad we did not go for the restaurant Gastronomique, as I suspect we would have paid 3 times as much for similarly underwhelming food...

Interesting to note that I paid €135 for a room here, and the next night €130 for a room in the fabulous Chateau d'Etoges - Le Rempart could learn a thing of two from their peers in Etoges.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2009

While Le Rempart did not match Hotel d'Angleterre in Chalons-en-Champagne (see that review), it certainly did not disappoint.

Apart from the immediate area around the 10th century abbey, Tournus really does not have great deal to commend it. However, if you find yourself in that area, this is certainly a good place to stay, with an excellent restaurant and wine list, and at least more than adequately comfortable.

To locate this hotel, find the abbey - difficult not to! - and you'll find the hotel a couple of streets away, parrallel to and further away from the Saone. Avenue Gambetta is actually the main drag that also runs past the station, which is about 3 minutes walk away.

The rooms are more than adfequate without being luxurious, and both the a/c and double-glazing worked, which is always a good start when the hotel fronts onto a main road!

The hotel has its own garage, though with limited space - we only had bicycles to park, so that wasn't difficult - but there is a large car park immediately opposite.

Apart from the main restaurant, there is also a brasserie, with a somewhat limited menu, but it is very prettily located in a semi-covered courtyard in the back part of the hotel.

The food here was very good indeed, though certainly shaded by Hotel d'Angleterre (see above + review), and as son often if France, the wines were of high quality with a respectable mark-up.

We very much liked the fact that the main restaurant, though "serious", had no problems at all in coping with some young children who were "attached" to a couple of families - but then European parents generally bring up their children to eat in restaurants and behave at least acceptably

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2009

We stayed here for an overnight stop on the way to Northern Italy having driven from Calais. The hotel is very good. The rooms looked recently decorated and we had a very large bathroom, which also looked recently refurbished.
We paid extra to park in the garage although we found when we got there that the hotel has a huge car park opposite, so that may not have been necessary.
We ate in the Bistro in the evening rather than the formal restaurant and had a very good meal.
Tournus is a very pleasant town to wander round so this made a good start to our holiday.
This was a very good stopping off point and we would definitely use it again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tournus
0.1 mi away
Hotel de Greuze
Hotel de Greuze
#2 of 12 in Tournus
131 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Aux Terrasses
Hotel Aux Terrasses
#4 of 12 in Tournus
163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Saint Philibert
Le Saint Philibert
#10 of 12 in Tournus
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel - Restaurant de la Paix
13.9 mi away
Chateau d'Ige
Chateau d'Ige
#1 of 1 in Ige
459 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Mirandole
Hotel la Mirandole
#8 of 12 in Tournus
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Rempart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Rempart

Address: Entree 2 2 avenue Gambetta, 71700, Tournus, France
Location: France > Bourgogne-Franche-Comte > Saone-et-Loire > Tournus
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Hotels in Tournus
Price Range: $148 - $195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Rempart 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Le Rempart reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Rempart Tournus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing