We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La Maison du Jardinier”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Domaine de Coat Amour
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We thoroughly recommend La Maison du Jardinier where we stayed last week. If you want a hideaway then look no further. It was like a fairy cottage hidden in a Spring parkland. Absolutely stunning beauty. It was so peaceful, yet the city of Morlaix was only a short walk away with amazing architecture. The restaurants were sublime and we picked up some great ideas for dinner parties. We made friends with a university lecturer who was a mine of information about the history and culture of Morlaix and Brittany. We almost missed our flight home because of an impromptu last minute tour. I shall probably get a ticket for speeding back along the N12. Just managed to park the rental in time. We had a fab holiday.

Room Tip: The gites are self catering so if you want to be waited on, you should probably stay at the main hou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 58 reviews

Reviewed March 21, 2013

My mother and I have been coming here for the last 3 years in the Chambre d'hote and have just booked again for 2013.
The Manoir is something special and has a real feel of staying in a 'home' rather than a commerical property. Jenny and Stafford have always made us feel both welcome and 'at home' and this makes us keep coming back. They are mine of local knowledge, be it where to sightsee or where to eat.
The rooms are wonderfully decorated and the bathrooms good too and the beds extremely comfortable.
We would recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonGDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
staffordMorlaix, Owner at Domaine de Coat Amour, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2013

Thank you for your kind words. Guests who return year after year become friends and it is this that makes running a place like Coat Amour so special for us. It is always such a pleasure to welcome you, and we treasure the times you spend with us. We look forward to celebrating a 'special' birthday here in June.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed over a rainy weekend in September. after a very soggy arrival our lovely hosts Jenny and Stafford made us very welcome and had the tea on straight away. We had a lovely evening meal on the first evening which was paired with wines and made with local produce, all home made. Breakfasts were very good with fresh bread and homemade delicious jams using ingredients from their own orchard - the best kind of food!

The accommodation is a very short walk from the town which has a lovely open air market at weekends. There are a few walks around the town and the cafes and restaurants we ate in were very good.

The little cottage(s) - not sure if there were one or two - looked great for a larger group stay or even for a longer period.

If anyone is considering a trip to Morlaix, or more broadly Brittany I would not hesitate to recommend this B&B to anyone!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumblebee85UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights in September 2012 in the larger of the two Gites that are in the grounds Manoir de Coat Amour. It was really well equipped and very cosy and homely. As we arrived on a Sunday (shops closed) our hosts gave us breakfast in the Manoir next morning. Stafford and Jenny are excellent hosts. They are friendly and very helpful without being intrusive. I'd recommend it as an excellent base for exploring Britanny but older or less fit people or guests with young kids might struggle with the walk up/down hill to town so they might be better off in a car! However, we enjoyed the exercise ourselves. We would definitely recommend it as a gite place and as chambre d'hote as well.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndyJaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at Manoir de Coat Amour for 3 days and found it to be everything we hoped for - and more. A beautiful French Manoir, lovingly restored by Jenny and stafford, in attractive grounds. Our hosts were extremely attentive - tea on the sunny terrace one day, followed by equally welcome tea in front of a blazing log fire on the next. Our breakfasts were a delight - meeting fellow guests over wonderful home grown fruits, Jenny`s wonderful jams, and delicious local breads. Our room was bright, beautifully decorated and furnished. Such as relaxing place to stay, and only a short walk into Morlaix for resturants etc. Thank you so much! Sue & Bill K

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peelwoodtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Though it's a traditional French Manoir, Coat Amour is a little piece of gracious English country living in the middle of Brittany. The house is beautifully restored, the garden is wonderful, and relaxing on the terrace in the sunshine with a cup of tea was hard to beat. Jenny and Stafford couldn't have been better hosts. Our three days there were the perfect end to a lovely holiday. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janewhughes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This is one of those places you will not forget - the style is superb, everything is total perfection, even bath salts ready for use and the water hot, bed was super comfortable and everything in its place. They were not doing supper that night and recommended a superb restaurant in Morlaix. The Breakfast was excellent I wish I could have eaten two of them. and stayed on another night. I will definitely be revisiting next year because their park and the country-side around is so interesting. What a super place.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Morlaix hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel du Port
Hotel du Port
#3 of 5 in Morlaix
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel L'Albatros
Hotel L'Albatros
#1 of 5 in Morlaix
201 reviews
13.5 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Saint-Melaine
0.7 mi away
Hotel de L'Europe
Hotel de L'Europe
#2 of 5 in Morlaix
255 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Fontaine
Hotel Fontaine
#5 of 5 in Morlaix
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Coat Amour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Coat Amour

Address: Route de Paris, 29600 Morlaix, France
Location: France > Brittany > Finistere > Morlaix
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Morlaix
Price Range: $104 - $138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are the new owner of the Domain of Coat Amour, we are leaving on the manor of the property with our three children. Come and stay at Coat Amour, we have three gites/holiday cottages in the grounds, one for a couple and two for a family of six people. All cottages are rented for a week on self catering mode only. We do not propose anymore bed and breakfasts. Two cottages are on the property of the 12 acre park and the other is a full property in a middle of 5000 m2 with you private swimming pool. Enjoy these wonderful properties, there swimming pools, park and proximity to the coast an the magnify coast between Roscoff and Locquirec, countryside and Morlaix, make Coat Amour a perfect base for a holiday in Brittany. Elisabeth and Franck look forward to welcoming you to the domain of Coat Amour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Domaine de Coat Amour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing