We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You feel like home, provided that you can afford to get one like this !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Bignac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Certificate of Excellence
Paris France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You feel like home, provided that you can afford to get one like this !”
Reviewed June 29, 2009

Organizing a business event in the middle of nowhere is always a challenge since everybody asks “Why there?”
All the attendees we received here for an international meeting got their personal answer to the question: the place, the view, the house, the rooms (very cozy but not showy) makes you feel like at home. On top of it, the discrete but very good level of service provided helped us to make this event a success, and we wanted to thank our guests for that

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goodtripParisFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    43
    10
    8
    3
See reviews for
33
141
11
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge New Zealand
Level Contributor
50 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2009

This hotel is gorgeous.It has a beautiful country setting and is very quiet.The decor of both the rooms and public areas is very stylish.The bedrooms are huge also.
The swimming pool is in and elevated position and looks out over surrounding rolling countryside.The owners were charming with a great sense of humour.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2009

The owners must have been hurting for money, because they seem to have no concern that my wife being pregnant had to have something to eat, and the only thing they had to offer was a $60 meal per person. They finally suggested a smaller meal for the two of us for 30 euro which was very nice of them, but it did take some arguing before this happened. They suggested that it might be better if we stayed somewhere in Bordeaux to get us closer to sites of interest. The next day we took their advise and found a really nice small hotel. The cancellation was discussed and the owner said that everything would be taken care of. Upon our return to the States our Travel Agent sends us an email stating that the owner decided that he would not refund the money paid on the room which was not used. The place was desolate in the middle of nowhere. The owners were not very helpful or curteous. The home appeared to have been beautiful, before they stripped out everything that was original. All of the additions actually made the place a little drab and normal.

  • Liked — Leaving the place
  • Disliked — The lack of consideration of the owner/host.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank chadpotter_Europe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2008

We stopped off at the Chartreuse du Bignac at the end of a road trip of south-west France and found a haven of peace and tranquility, which is just what we needed. The hosts were charming, the food incredible, the rooms comfortable - each decorated in a design considered right down to the last detail. All in all the whole experience was wonderful. If you are looking for a quiet retreat, in a beautiful area of France, eating the gastronomic delights of the region - perfectly prepared, where you won't have to think about a thing or lift a finger....choose this place.

  • Liked — Everything was very considered - a lot of heart had been put into the decor
  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank HCFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2007

Looks great but you soon realise that it is overpriced.
Nice-looking room but with no phone, no TV, a radio that was obviously a free gift from a magazine and didn't work, a very small double bed and one small window! No heating on unless we asked for it.
We were looked after by a very nice girl who is a student at the local college but sadly had not had any training eg did not know what certain drinks were even though they were listed on the drinks menu. Evening meal was OK but expensive, no choice and we had to commit to the meal that morning. Inattentive service at the meal.
Breakfast OK but expensive at 15 Euro each.
The owner is slightly arrogant and gives you the impression that he is doing you a great favour by letting you pay him a lot of money for the privilege of staying at his home.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Pretentiousness
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank VladUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2007

A good base if a littlle off the beaten path.Wonderful bedrooms,we were the only guests when we stayed and got the grand tour of all the bedrooms before we made our selection for our stay.Excellent evening meal,terrific service,breakfasf was also of a high standard. A nice added touch was an online copy of a national newspaper of your country of origin on your table each morning at breakfast. Large spacious grounds where you can wander freely,an extremly friendly donkey in the paddock at the front of the house and ducks in the pond. The entrance hallway is a little gloomy and staff can be somewhat hard to find sometimes however they were most helpful and polite.

  • Liked — wonderful romantic bedrooms
  • Disliked — the entrance road and main hallway were uninviting
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank salkind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2006

This is a great place to get away from it all but still live in civilized luxury. Since the hotel only has a few rooms and is wonderfully isolated among the hills and vineyards, it's remarkably quiet. The best view is from the pool, which faces a gorgeous valley dotted with tiny villages. The owners of this chateau are extremely warm and welcoming, and they'll treat you like their personal guests. They brought us everything from history books about the region to American news reports.Everything about this place is lovely: the chestnut orchard, the rooms decorated with antiques, the fabulous breakfasts (fresh summer fruit from the local producers).
You do need a car to stay here, though. Bergerac, a moderately-sized city, is a few minutes away if you need any basics, and I recommend a visit to nearby Monbazillac, where they produce the famous sweet white wine.
In short, it was a memorable experience and I highly recommend the Chartreuse de Bignac.

  • Liked — the decor
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — enjoy the "bastides" nearby
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank waltrude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nexans
5.4 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
4.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#4 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
5.9 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#5 of 13 in Bergerac
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
13.0 mi away
La Metairie
La Metairie
#1 of 1 in Mauzac
4.5 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Bignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Bignac

Property: La Chartreuse du Bignac
Address: Lieu Dit le Bignac | Saint-Nexans, 24520 Saint-Nexans, Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Saint-Nexans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Bignac 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Chartreuse du Bignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing