We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Chartreuse du Bignac
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 3, 2014

We loved our stay because it ticked all the boxes; a quiet and comfortable room with french windows opening onto a gorgeous view - delicious room service breakfast which we took sitting in deck chairs on the lawn just outside our room. The staff is adorable and attentive without being intrusive. We got back from a long walk (lots of walking possibilities) and although they don't usually provide lunch, the chef quickly whipped up a delicious snack to tide us over until the even more delicious dinner. Drinks overlooking the lush and peaceful countryside and the two black swans swimming in the lake.. we felt cosseted and left feeling totally relaxed. Thank you!!

Room Tip: we had 'the room at the end of the corridor' which we enjoyed because it was quiet and we lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 325tessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (248)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 248 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014

Stunningly beautiful architecture, lovingly restored to its former glory by the hosts and owners, who welcome you into their home. Everything about Bignac oozes elegance and sophistication. Even down to the bed linens and blankets. Nothing but the best will do. The grounds are breathtaking, with views over 40 hectares of virgin forest and the starry night sky envelopes you int it glory. Food glorious food yes indeed! And service second to none. A stay here leaves you feeling rejuvenated relaxed and wanting to return again soon

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 554Mike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

We spent 2 nights here in October. It was wonderful in almost every respect and exceeded our expectations. Its in a fabulous location if you want to get away from it all with wonderful views.The owner was very welcoming and helpful. The house has been tastefully restored. Our room was upstairs in the roof. My only criticism would be that there was only one very small window and none in the bathroom so it was rather dark. But it was beautifully appointed. We ate dinner there on both nights as we did not want to drive. On the second night we were the only diners. Nevertheless, we were offered a full a la carte menu and they were able to cater for my husband's wheat allergy. The food was superb in every respect and the wine list likewise. During the day, we wanted to cycle. The owner very kindly suggested a route for us which was perfect. Breakfasts were good but we felt a little overpriced at €20 pp. But overall we would highly recommend this establishment and would very much like to stay there again. Whilst there, we were introduced to the wines from Les Verdots - a local vineyard. Delicious wines and a great place to visit - very friendly service.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Montyhug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

We have absolutely loved the 4 days spent at Chartreuse de Bignac! Whilst being very professionally run , the atmosphere is relaxed and wonderfully peaceful. The views are stunning and the time spent in the grounds of the hotel and at the pool very relaxing. We cycled daily and found the area beautiful and the proximity to Bergerac ( old town particularly )useful..
With the weather being perfect , dinner was outside on the terrace , and the menu catered more than adequately for our family of 4 , with restrictive dietary requirements. The food was SUPERB !
Our waiter Lorîc , enhanced our dining experience with his off beat humour , friendliness and knowledge of both the wine and food .Nothing was too much trouble !
We are already planning a return visit.
Thank you Monsieur and Madame Viargues .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Baz519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our holiday started with our having to leave the gite we had booked on our first full day (which happened to be Bastille Day) as the place and owner were intolerable. La Chartreause du Bignac was a haven - we found it on the internet by chance and were told they had rooms that would suit our needs, We were made incredibly welcome, the suite was great and the evening meals superb. I agree with other comments that 20euros a head for a fairly simple breakfast is a bit high. Our two children (10 and 16) loved the pool. We stayed in the Maison du Boulanger, this is a small bungalow with two en-suite bedrooms, a sitting room (and I believe basic kitchen facilities are hidden away - we never used them), The bungalow also has a private garden and garden furniture. We stayed two nights and ate at the restaurant both nights, the food was in the "fine dining" style and was very good. Service was attentive and charming and eating on the terrace on fine July evening as the sun set was truly memorable. I would return to this fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Maison du Boulanger - which is a small bungalow in the grounds of the hotel - two b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RayH365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I think there is one major problem with this hotel - leaving it to go sight-seeing seems near impossible. You had better hope for some cooler cloudy weather so you can drag yourself away from the fabulous pool with stunning views. Enjoy the delicious dinners outdoors. Pull yourself out of the comfortable beds to enjoy the buffet breakfast on the lawn. Explore the wonderful gardens and property. If you do manage to get away we found the owner most helpful in putting together ideas to suit ourselves and our daughter. His wife also took our daughter to feed the black swans in the pond. A real treat for her and so thoughtful.

Some rooms have a private seating area outside. Ours was under a tree. The perfect respite from the sun. We left remarkably relaxed and eager to return. Some reviewers have mentioned that the meals seemed expensive but for what we got we felt they very reasonable. We were also given excellent advice for eating out. A beautiful spot. Charming staff.

Room Tip: Some rooms have private sitting areas outside which in the right weather are like adding another roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikkiwikkiwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We stayed at the Chartreuse for a couple of nights after our wedding and, while it is in a lovely location with views across the countryside, we immediately felt the hotel did not merit 175 euros a night (we even had an early bird rate). The room we booked was a superior room and, although large and fairly nicely decorated, was nothing to write home about.

40 euros per couple for breakfast was way more than we were prepared to pay, so we had breakfast in cafes elsewhere. We did, however, have a very nice dinner (fairly priced for the quality), but staff were a bit pushy in "suggesting" bottles of wine, champagne. etc...

All in all, we felt the Chartreuse was nice enough, but we wouldn't want to visit again for those prices. We have stayed in B&Bs and Chateaux that really did take our breath away (and for a fraction of the price!)... I'm afraid the Chartreuse did not do that for us.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CheetahK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint-Nexans
5.4 mi away
Chateau les Merles
Chateau les Merles
#1 of 1 in Mouleydier
287 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de Bordeaux
Hotel de Bordeaux
#2 of 13 in Bergerac
426 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#3 of 13 in Bergerac
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.3 mi away
Le Vieux Logis
Le Vieux Logis
#1 of 1 in Tremolat
438 reviews
5.8 mi away
Hotel Spa du Commerce
Hotel Spa du Commerce
#13 of 13 in Bergerac
180 reviews
5.9 mi away
Europ'Hotel
Europ'Hotel
#6 of 13 in Bergerac
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Chartreuse du Bignac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Chartreuse du Bignac

Address: Lieu Dit le Bignac | Saint-Nexans, 24520 Saint-Nexans, Bergerac, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Dordogne > Bergerac > Saint-Nexans
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saint-Nexans
Price Range: $83 - $246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — La Chartreuse du Bignac 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your La Chartreuse du Bignac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing